Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$21.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 99 reviews
I won't write a tune-by-tune review of these works, because by the time you get to this set you probably already know what you're getting, and if you are unfamiliar with the Hot Fives and Sevens, well, there's Ken Burns or Youtube. But what about the remasterings? These were among the earliest of jazz recordings, a few of them before electric recording was invented. They--especially those early acoustic ones--weren't captured with the greatest fidelity, and have been worn out over the years on top of that. Some labels have compensated by boosting some frequencies, at the expense of others. For example, they're largely bass-deficient, but just pumping up the bass won't make them sound better. They just become boomy and hollow. What makes these transfers work so well is that they are very natural and even--no artificial emphasizing of any sonic zone--and this is the quickest way to make your ear forget the sonic limitations and hear the music naturally. (Music & Arts' release of Cortot's Chopin Ballades and Preludes, http://www.amazon.com/Cortot-Chopin-Legendary-1925-1929-Recordings/dp/B000001OGS/ref=sr_1_1?s=music&ie=UTF8&qid=1463164986&sr=1-1&keywords=cortot+chopin+music+and+arts, is an excellent example on the classical side.) So this is the set to own if you want to hear all the Hot Fives and Sevens, likely in as good sound quality as you're ever likely to hear them until someone invents a time machine and we can travel back to the actual record dates. The notes are extensive and interesting, too. Four CDs in "standard" plastic cases housed in one slipcase or "cardboard sleeve." I'd have preferred a thin box with the CDs in paper envelopes to save space, but that's my only complaint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2002
This special priced set has all the recordings of Louis Armstrong with his Hot Fives and Sevens. I had them all on LP and considered them the pinnacle of my music collection, and the pinnacle of 20th century music in general.
These recordings feature Armstrong in a period when his trumpet playing received more attention than his singing. He did sing beautifully - as heard on "I am not Rough", "Gully Low Blues" etc. But the trumpet does lead the way. The trumpet on "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potatoe head Blues" - what a musical genius it took to produce such music !!! I feel that these recordings have the power to change people's whole view of life - it certainly changed mine.
There are guest appearances by the great blues guitarist Lonnie Johnson, great clarinet from Johnny Dodds, great piano work by Earl Hines, great ensamble playing. I use the word "great" here without fear of misuse - everything here is truly great.
People who are used to Armstrong's later work - Hello Dolly, Blueberry Hill - might need some time to get used to these 1920's recordings. I strongly advise them to make the effort - because the rewards are fantastic.
All tracks are great. I do feel like singling out "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potato head blues", "Muggles"
"Mahagoney Hall Stomp", "Cornet Chop Suey", "Hotter Than That"...
I play them to my 4 years old child and she loves it !
The historic importance of these recordings has been correctly mentioned by others. But what it really comes down to is that here is a gift to humanity that we should all share and enjoy.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2012
What can one say ? In my most humble opinion when the adjective "Traditional New Orleans Jazz" is used in a conservation, it should be remembered that Louis Armstrong is the one who created it and brought it to us at it's best. The interchange between instruments and melody in a progression that leads up to a "Grand Finalie", began a genra that has been emulated by many others.
This collection represents his early years and the some of the most sensitive, foot tappin' - foot stompin' music that was the beginning of a music style that remains as one of THE most uniquely American styles of music recoginized around the world.
Preservation Hall, The Dukes of Dixieland, Pete Foutain, and so many others followed Louis Armstrong's style of arrangement in their own styles to the great benifit of us all.
Wish I could get all of the 78's records that make up this collection.
Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
My dad had an old vinyl E.P. of Louis' Hot Five, and those wonderful 4 songs are on this set.

I'm very happy with the sound (considering the primitive state of recording in the mid/late 1920s) and very happy with the information in the booklet (although most of the songs' composers aren't mentioned).

Such an education, to see the beginnings of Jump & Swing and even scat vocals. I think Louis was just as good a singer as he was a cornet & trumpet player.

Amazing to hear how the rhythm went up a big notch with the arrival of Lonnie Johnson and Earl Hines.

Yeah, if you wanna hear the beginnings of Jazz (and how cool it was even back then), then this a great education and musical delight.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
Even though the reproduction is not up to current standards, it allows us to hear probably the greatest jazz musician of the past 80 years, at his absolute peak. Also the re-mastering was well done, when one considers what recordings made in the 1920s usually sound like. I was born in 1930, and have been a Louis Armstrong fan since about 1950. I never realized that the musician of my youth was already well beyond his prime, both vocally and instrumentally. These CDs show how really great he was back in the mid twenties! J. Nelson
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
These are truly superb transfers by John R.T. Davies .

Compared to the Columbia's on a high resolution system, - revolving around Pass / Class A amplification & ribbon speakers & excellent D/A conversion) they are somewhat more midrange rich ..which nicely fleshes out timbers & serves piano work extemely well! The Columbia's are tipped up some, but serve attacks & transients perhaps more incisively...but are somewhat more strident & wearing.

In talking to the informative Phil Shapp about his thoughts on this matter, & he worked on the Columbia's ), he said, " they were very close " as well. Both serve the music beautifully & show different aspects. R.T Davies worked from 78s , Phil mostly from metal & other. Phil also added that "Both recent sets have been further filtered". He also said "he had recently compared King Of The Zulus & thought the Columbia( now SONY just edged out the JSP". I feel that some of these JSPs are better & ....six of one....overall. These tranfers are just excellent by any measure!!!

Here ......It's the music that counts most, ...& it's transcendent, & one of the greatest achievments of American Art or any Art for that matter,...... period!!!

Liner notes could be much more generous - but this set has the goods, & at a bargin price.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2001
This special priced set has all the recordings of Louis Armstrong with his Hot Fives and Sevens. I had them all on LP and considered them the pinnacle of my music collection, and the pinnacle of 20th century music in general.
These recordings feature Armstrong in a period when his trumpet playing received more attention than his singing. He did sing beautifully - as heard on "I am not Rough", "Gully Low Blues" etc. But the trumpet does lead the way. The trumpet on "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potatoe head Blues" - what a musical genius it took to produce such music !!! I feel that these recordings have the power to change people's whole view of life - it certainly changed mine.
There are guest appearances by the great blues guitarist Lonnie Johnson, great clarinet from Johnny Dodds, great piano work by Earl Hines, great ensamble playing. I use the word "great" here without fear of misuse - everything here is truly great.
People who are used to Armstrong's later work - Hello Dolly, Blueberry Hill - might need some time to get used to these 1920's recordings. I strongly advise them to make the effort - because the rewards are fantastic.
All tracks are great. I do feel like singling out "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potato head blues", "Muggles"
"Mahagoney Hall Stomp", "Cornet Chop Suey", "Hotter Than That"...
I play them to my 3 years old child and she digs !
The historic importance of these recordings has been correctly mentioned by others. But what it really comes down to is that here is a gift to humanity that we should all share and enjoy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2010
This collection of 1925-29 Chicago and NY recordings beats any of the Columbia or MCA collections (including Ken Burns Jazz) hands down. The remastering achieves an amazing balance between eliminating the pops and hisses while retaining the sounds of the music, which provides an opportunity to really hear this music for the first time. Good remastering has become an art, rather than a science, and this is art at its finest.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I had never been an especially enthusiastic fan of Armstrong's work, although knowing of his importance, and previously had just one of the Hot Fives and Sevens CDs from Columbia.
Well, this changed all that. This is a SUPERB SOUNDING collection of Armstrong's most important and most groundbreaking work, from the early Hot Fives through some big band works of the thirties. Let's mention again the superb sound quality (for the period) attained by the JSV crew (as usual). All the early hits are there, e.g., "West End Blues," "Muggles," etc., but the real joy is finding the gems on your own.
Good liner notes come with each CD; while there's no lavish book as with many other box sets --look at the price!!! I wish more producers would come out with such excellent recordings of outstanding works at a reasonable price. These are pieces you can listen to over and over again, enjoying Armstrong's amazingly inventive solos (!) and incredible power. He revolutionized the music of the giants before him, and provided the syntax, vocabulary, and inspiration for those who came later. Treat yourself to this outstanding set!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2015
If you are into roots jazz, do not miss this essential collection. It is must-have stuff. And the sound is exceptional. What a fine piece of work. You will not be able to put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse