Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 25, 2011
Academic Weekly Professional Appointment Calendar

Pros:
-100% Post-Consumer Paper
-Made in the USA
-Good price
-Daily and hourly agenda broken down into 15 minute increments
-Goes from 7:00a.m. to 9:00p.m.
-Able to look at the whole week
-Good size/dimensions
-Great for planning the academic semester or for a scheduling person/professional's life
-Overall good product

Cons:
-Sunday was a little squished but given the space allowed to the other days of the week it was a practical compromise
-Other color options might have been nice but this wasn't a big issue for me
-The addition/inclusion of a bookmark, monthly tabs, and a monthly calendar would make this already great agenda perfect!

I was looking for a daily-hourly agenda and was pleased to find one that was made of 100% post-consumer paper and that it was made in the USA. It feels and looks like a good product and I've already scheduled out my courses for the semester. If the "pros" I've listed keep being a part of this product, I will be purchasing another one next academic school year. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2014
My favorite planners. Love the week per double page and month at a glance. Sturdy and great for household/student/business planner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2013
Very functional, great shape, and offers me enough space to write specifics . Was rather surprised at the good quality. Pleased with my purchase, and will look forward to purchasing more from this vendor,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 28, 2013
This is a very professional and high-class weekly planner. Therefore, I would highly recommend the purchase of this book. DAME HILDA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2011
Nice calendar. I can log in everything from 7a-9p w/ 15min increments. Lots of space to write. And definitely cheaper price than OfficeMax/Depot/CVS/etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 13, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Likes:
. This is a green product. It means this is made of 100% post-consumer paper, printed with soy inks, and chlorine-free (PCF) paper. Whether you end up doing the tasks you note in this weekly planner or not, you will feel less guilty about the environmental impact.
. Each page has three columns, one for each day. The facing page also has three columns, but the bottom fifth of the third column is reserved for Sunday. I find this good because I can view an entire week on two facing pages.
. Each hour is separated by a bold line, while each hour itself is divided into 15 minute segments. In this day and age of iPhone and Android calendar apps, this may seem anachronistic, but for what it's worth, a paper planner still has its uses. 15 minute increments allow you the flexibility of jotting down minor tasks that you may want to do over the course of an hour, each on its separate line.
. Each day has two numbers next to it. The first number is the day number of the year. The second is the number of days remaining in the year. For example, Nov 13 2011 has the numbers 317/48. I don't know nor can I remember when I last needed to know this information, but for some reason I liked this feature.
. The left page has in bold and large print the starting day of the week, while the right page has in bold and large print the day the week ends. Therefore, as an example, the left page shows "Week beginning 29 August", while the facing page notes "Week Ending September 4".
. The double-ringed metal spiral binding is solid. Touch the metal spirals to know what I am talking about.

Not To Like:
. Nothing really, in my opinion, that really sticks out like a sore thumb.
. I would probably have preferred a checkbox or some way of marking off important tasks. Or the option of checking off completed tasks.
. Lastly, I think a bookmark attached to the planner would have been useful, for me to have an easy and quick way to getting to the current week.

What is missing is not a big deal in my opinion, and the sleekness of the planner, combined with its obvious utility, make it an excellent product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 2, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are several things I like about this planner. First of all, the way the weeks are displayed on the open flat page is great! I also like the displaying of the previous month, current month and the two coming months on the same page as the weeks. Very convenient as you don't have to search for a calendar to see where you are going in a couple of months or where you have been a month or so ago. The calendar also starts on the beginning of the fiscal year which is a nice. Sometimes you need something that reflects your work schedule instead of a personal yearly schedule and you don't have to have two planners to do one job. Very nice feature!

The planner is lightweight, slim which is easy to put in a briefcase or portfolio. And best of all it is printed on recycled paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
House of Doolittle academic planners are the ones that my administration distributes to the staff before school begins in the fall. They are a "green" company that uses 100% recycled paper, soy ink, and is made in the USA. Which are all great attributes, right off the bat.

This particular planner is great because it is broken down into 15-minutes increments. Perfect if you teach different subjects, break down your lessons into segments, or are a counselor, psychologist, etc. who schedules or keeps appointments. I am a secondary teacher and I use the calender to helps with my university classes as well as lesson planning.

This is a high-quality planner that has a nice protective cover for the 2011-2012 school year (calendar begins August 2011 - July 2012). Highly recommended!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 25, 2011
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very nice academic weekly appointment planner. It runs from August to August which is obviously an academic year. Even though it's printed on recycled paper, you wouldn't know it by first glance. The cover is very sturdy and the spiral metal binding is the type that it appears it won't come unraveled. It's just big enough to fit on a desktop or in a bookbag, but not small enough to really carry around in a handbag. The weekdays are in a time frame from 7am to 8pm and the weekend days are from 7am to 5pm. Each hour is broken into 15 minute increments. A few added features are: A picture of the American time zones in the back, important dates for the years 2012-2014 such as holidays, and blank tablet sheets in the back for notes. Overall a very nice planner and I would recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My wife is a homeschooling mom and is always looking for ways to streamline her school day. One tasks she undertakes to ensure she is covers everything in a school week is planning out her appointments and important events, so when I presented this weekly planner to her she immediately saw great potential in it to aid her planning.

This planner is geared around a typical academic calendar though it is not limited in scope to that specific use. It starts in August 2011 and it ends in July 2012 which lines up fairly well to most academic school calendars, with possibly a month open in advance of the actual start (I have seen schools start in August but it's more typical to start around Labor Day). For some uses this is an inconvenient time frame, particularly if used for planning around fiscal calendars, but that's not the intended use and should be kept in mind.

Each day is broken up into 15 minute increments and runs from 7:00am to 8:00pm, except for the weekend days which are broken up differently. This is more than adequate for almost any school schedule. Unless scheduled items run closer together than 15 minutes - which seems plausible but for the most part uncommon - this is plenty of granularity to account for a fairly packed day.

That level of time compartmentalization comes at the expense of having to write small. A very detailed and verbose person may have some struggles with the small space available for each individual quarter hour. My wife likes to write big, so she is probably going to use half-hour increments which is still easy to see on the pages without confusion.

It is important to note that this is not a lesson planner. The lesson planners I have seen have larger boxes with room to write some detail for subjects and are not bound by time. While this organizer will certainly work as a lesson planner it will require some rethinking on the part of the planner to use it that way.

Overall, this is a very nice school day organizer and will serve most teachers and students well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here