Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Luke Bryan STEM Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
House, M.D.: The Official Guide to the Hit Medical Drama
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on August 18, 2010
This is an amazing book, with detailed inside description of the process behind making House.

There is inside information on how the show started, how David Shore came up with the character and Katie Jacobs / Paul Attanasio's involvement in that. There is casting info, talks with all behind the scenes working crews, major talks with writers and how House is written and the process behind it, details on the process of filming the show and how things are done and shot, talks with directors, key talks with Greg Yaitanes - House's amazing Director-Producer, the flow of a typical day on House, talks with ADs and, major talks and interviews with the actors. On chapter dedicated to each character - with actors, directors and producers discussing each one.

And, then, there is the awesome Foreword by Hugh Laurie - who's cleaver and funny, the man has wit to spare.

Do not hesitate to buy this book, you won't regret it if you like House and/or the process of "making of" as much as I do.

Must have!!!! Buy it now!!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2014
I purchased this book during an obsessive daily dose of three House episodes on Netflix absent commercials. The writing for this show was obviously above par, as was the acting. I wanted to know more about the reality of daily schedules and the inner life of the actors as well as the back stories and foundations for the show concept. For these needs, the book delivered well. There were some real insights included like how the show's primary actor at one point felt locked in a vortex having to arrive daily early morning and be on set into early evening with few breaks. He felt trapped and thought that if he got into a car accident he would get a badly needed respite. I didn't like the way the book was organized and there was a lot of filler with descriptions of the filing difficulties. It was a mishmash compendium without good integration to really get at the soul of the whole organization. That being said, House as a show was a phenomenon in that it conveyed some excellent strategies in diagnosing difficult cases and toyed with issues faced by most physicians such as whether patient contact is really helpful when trying to decipher complex and arcane disorders. So to that end the book did background the conceptors and their purposes and the doctors in real life who were the basis of the idea. Not much was said about why the show ended, except that ratings went down. Perhaps it was just a lifespan issue but I would have wanted more here and I also wanted to know more about what the key actors thought of their experience in retrospect. I have now drafted my to nieces into watching the show. They are ages 7 and 12 and they are hooked. I believe it could draw them towards medicine, which would be a good thing. They are now fluent in the lexicon of House which uses the terms plasmaferesis and sarcoidosis in almost every episode. I test them on new words we hear and what they mean in the context of the show using Siri on my I-Phone. This has now become a contest. House is a good teacher to start them off, although they will need to develop a different bedside manner. Jeff Newman
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2012
I was prepared for disappointment as I usually am let down by this sort of book. I was pleasantly surprised. I of course thoroughly enjoyed Hugh Laurie's introduction in and of itself, but there was more. The book starts from the concept to pilot and runs through the sixth season. I was walked through the step by step process of producing each episode, treated to interviews with cast and crew, and re-introduced to each character and how they ticked. Both creator and cast give insights into the latter. A must read for a House fan. Also interesting for someone interested in what goes into putting together a TV episode.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 29, 2016
I bought mine used for some reason and it's really a good read. It's a lot bigger than I expected, which is actually a good thing for me. I love House!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 28, 2010
Hugh Laurie's "Foreward" was the best part about this book. That and the section on Robert Sean Leonard.

The rest ... ehh ... too much information on stuff I'm not interested in. I found the comments by David Shore and Katie Jacobs to be thought-provoking, however. These two stumbled onto a pile of serendipity a mile high.

This book is filled with grammatical errors and printing glitches that are distracting to anyone who is not necessarily an expert in grammar and spelling, but who understands what "sloppy" is.

Ian Jackman, the author, seems to have done his homework; no complaints there.
But the printer made him look bad. (Although there is a glaring misquote ... something attributed to Dr. Foreman which should have been attributed to Dr. House. If you are a "HOUSE" fan, you will know it when you see it.)
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 28, 2010
This book is a great way to find out more about the characters and actors on House. It gives a great deal of insight into what it takes to put a one hour drama on the air. The attention to minor details that might not even be on the show is amazing.

The forward is hilariously wirtten by Hugh Laurie. He is also interviewed numerous times about his character and about the show itself.

It seems to me that Ian Jackman had direct access to the cast and crew.

I find the book very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 18, 2010
I loved this book!! As an avid House fan, this book is a must read for all you House fans out there!! It goes in depth of the making of an episode, telling about not just Hugh and the cast,but the background guys who make the show possible!! You have a great respect for ALL the workers of a tv series,not just the main actors! It tells about what the actors think of their characters, and the foreword by hugh laurie is just AWESOME!!! If you are an avid House fan,this book is for you!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 25, 2015
If you like "House", you'll love this book ~ the "official" guide to the show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2010
I am a big fan of the House MD TV show, and was very thrilled to see this book had been published. It is full of interviews with the stars and creators of the show, plus a few pictures. I've really enjoyed reading it. I do wish there were more photos, though. And an episode guide would have been nice, too. But its still a good book for all House fans!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2014
It is the book that gives you the inside look. Interview, comments, secrets, all the good stuff plus a great read. Does not get any better that this. Makes me miss House MD much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse