Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno

Houseboat
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$18.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 6, 2017
Sophia Loren is fun to watch, and the child actors are really very good, but the story doesn't hang together well. Where there should be tension, there isn't, and it's jarring that Cary Grant's character resists Sophia Loren's charm for 9/10 of the movie, and then he suddenly switches to deciding to marry her. The plot has the kids switch from feeling betrayed to supporting their wedding with no apparent reason to change their mind. Not a lot of story line support for what happens, but it gets a bonus for being a period movie with classic actors and all the fun of vintage sets and mores.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2017
Cary Grant is a favorite. Very happy to have this in my Cary Grant Collection. I hope Dream Wife will be available on DVD or Blu-ray soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2007
This is an old one that is still quite enjoyable.

Cary Grant is a divorced man whose wife has been raising their children. He loves the kids but doesn't have a clue or a manual. When the ex wife dies, he is left in a position to take care of them. He does the best he can which is none too well.

Grant realizes that he will need to take some time away from his job in DC. He plans to move to the country closer to his ex inlaws. This is done with the idea that they will help with the kids and also because there is a suspicion that he will eventually marry the younger sister of his former wife. (Apparently there is a history.) The aunt gets along well with the kids who are not thrilled with their father.

Meanwhile, Sofia Loren is the daughter of a famous Italian musician on tour. She is chaffing under her father's stern rule and just wants to have some fun. She makes an escape and meets up with one of the kids who helps her to escape from her father's minions. She returns the boy home and is coaxed into serving as a nanny for the kids.

Grant's plans for moving do not work out as expected and the whole family temporarily ends up living on a houseboat. The comedy takes off from there as Loren and Grant find that they have feelings for each other and the kids stir things up.

For me, this one was on the cusp between 3 and 4 stars but I am in a good mood. I did enjoy it and it is worth seeing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2017
Love this one Grant and Loren are wonderful together and not to mention the exceptional child acting performances in this film. A fantastic romantic comedy. Definitely classic Cary Grant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2017
Cary and Sophia make this movie work even if the script is weak and obvious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Like this movie very much. Thanks for offering it on streaming...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2017
What can I say I'm a sucker for the older romance movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 12, 2017
Cary Grant and Sophia Loren, what more can you ask for?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 20, 2017
Good Product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2016
Was cute it was better when I was younger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here