Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on May 2, 2013
Very satisfied, rugged after install, and satisfied with how well the picture quality is underwater. Depending on how deep u are and how bright the sun is at that depth, for me the best results came from between no less than 20'-60' these results are for all red filters. Less than 20' and the picture shows more red and below 20ish ft,the colors really start to pay off. I would have liked to have spent a little more and gotten the detachable clip on for my endeavors.
Others might think this is the perfect one because it won't fall off during high impact situations. Such as catching that 16 ft tiger shark on film while he's thrashing your bait. Or giant tuna. There is a slight bit of difficulty during installation,as u must remove the ten screws on the face of your camera and place the filter just so in a low dust and no fingerprint environment then cross your fingers that any warranty that u might have is null and void and that it wont leak at 100ft after.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Requires undoing all the little screws/breaking the seal of your case. Very flimsey, only worth 2-3$ like a screen color.

I thought Id be smart and superglue it to a cut out I made in the dive case screen cover. Superglue at away at it and left a white film on my lens. $12, I should get a pack of these, Ive paid about $1 for an ipod screen cover which at least will adhere to the screen. Nobody seems to have the allen keys to install this thing. Backscatter.com and order their hero2 red cover. It flips up so you can shoot real life color shots from 15' or so as well as at deeper depths by flipping it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2012
Up-date, Feb 2013: Back from watching mantas in Indonesia and can confirm that this filter makes a significant difference (a good one) to picture colour, to the extend of being an amazing difference. Worth the money!

A word of fitting-related warning. To remove/replace the GoPro screws require a T5 (Torx) screwdriver NOT a T6. The challenge is to find one of those that lasts more than one change of screws (my "hardened CR-V tipped" one just lasted one untighten-retighten cycle!!).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2013
The filter is good. The material is very thin and kind of cheap. But it delivers the job well done. The colours are great underwater. It is easy to put on, but bear in mind that once you put it on, It will stay on! so if you're planning on taking some pictures and videos on the boat, you won't be able to do so due to the filter. Everything on surface will be red.
I guess I'll get the one that is like a cap and can go on and off fast and on site (that's in the water).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2012
This is exactly what this camera needed for scuba diving. I dont know how it works but my videos were noticably
more colorful. They were a lot less blue than usual. You definitely do not want to use this above water, but below water
it works wonders! Instructional video on the company's website is very helpful too. You do have to unscrew the housing to take the filter out/and put it in which takes about 3 mintues, but it is well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
All this product is a clip of a gel filter, cut for the go-pro cameras. You could make your own cheaper by buying a large gel. The problem is that it is easy to scratch. Also the filter needs to be placed in the housing. A flip filter is a better option so that you can shoot above and below water without having to open the housing. That said, the product is fine for what it is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
A real hassle to install on housing as you must remove all the screws on the lens cover in order to install the filter. The same procedure must be done to remove it. I would not recommend this item.

Mike Davis
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2014
This filter was a pain in the neck to put in, and then it didn't work as advertised. It turned everything red, and cut down on light so much that in dim light situations it basically rendered the GoPro useless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
Great item, but now they have a pop on lens that would be better.this one I have to unscrew the lens to install it and the screws are miniature and I stripped a few putting it on, but it didn't leak at 80ft so that was good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2012
At this price it does the job but a flip concept or any easy removable system would be welcome.
Switching from surface to deep water is not giving any good result because of the solid mounting of the filter.
Good filter by the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse