Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon harrypotter harrypotter harrypotter  Three new members of the Echo family Today only: Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on February 22, 2009
I am an industry professional and I have used 3ds Max software for almost ten years now. I have read and reviewed several 3ds Max books. This isn't the greatest 3ds Max book I've ever used, nor is it the greatest 'Cheat' book I've ever used, but it is a useful book. Because I have experience with this software I find the hints and cheats easy to use; an inexperienced user would find this book difficult and maybe even unusable. The author writes as if he and the reader are having a one-on-one discussion, and assumes the reader is fully aware of what he is talking about. It is not a, "click here, then click here" type of book, which is the usual format for a volume of tutorials. Instead this book reads like a guide book.

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to learn a few new tricks or improve their lighting, texturing or modeling skills with quick and easy mini-projects. I would not recommend this book to anyone looking for straight forward tutorials, or anyone who is not very familiar with the 3ds Max environment.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 4, 2008
This book isn't for the newbie - but it can help the newbie. It's exactly what it says - a way to achieve various effects and modeling quickly and efficiently. It doesn't have exercises to make the next full length animated feature but it can help you save time, money and energy for smaller projects. It's written in an-easy-to-understand fashion but it does glaze over basic processes and tools. If you have a basic understanding of 3D modeling, it's a great book. If you are completely new to 3D, learn a little and then buy this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2009
As other reviewers have mentioned, this book is directed to users who already have some comfort with 3ds max. There is not a lot of hand-holding here. The book is ideal for someone getting back up to speed after some time away from the program or who is trying to fill in some gaps in existing knowledge.

The biggest plus of this book: NO EXTRA FLUFF. Most computer/software manuals, in my experience, at tons of garbage, pointless chummy chatter from "authors" -- all to justify the obscene prices.

This book is nice and concise. Very refreshing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2010
Great book, lousy CD. The CD is missing essential texture files (some are misnamed) - and they are not available at the book's useless web site, or the Focal Press web site either. Maybe they have fixed the CD for the 2010 version. The tutorials are actually great, but forget about doing some of them without the textures. Very sloppy! And irritating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2016
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2011
This is a good guide for doing things fast and good in Max. Good for people who is instrested in learn a bit of every field of Max
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2009
Good for the 3ds Max user who already has some skill with the software. Good for the 3ds Max user who already has some skill with the software.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2008
I have been using 3D Max from Dos days. Thats right, it did one day run on DOS. I did buy 3D Studio when it was version 2.5. I then put this down to rest for many years. Keen to jump back in again I had lost all the skills I learn with my lack of not keep up with the game.
This books is the ticket for someone that want to re-fresh the brain cells and get into the game again fast.
I loved it and have given it 3 stars.
But... I would not say it is for everyone. If you are new to 3D Studio Max, this would not be top on your list and you would want to be looking for a bigger more in depth book on the topic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 9, 2009
This is the worst book I ever read.
If you are one trying to learn 3ds max, you'll never get nothing from the book, if you want to know more about 3ds max you'll never get it from this ridiculous and superficial book.
The topics of the book are very good and should deserve much more explanations than just few very nontechnical words as the writer does.
Example: "if you need to add brightness to your scene add a light in the correct place." What?
Nice thing of the book are the letters, very big and spaced, probably to fit the empty spaces.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2009
Beautiful book to be sure, however, NOT the book for beginners... at all!!! This is NOT a tutorial book for those who are looking for that. It's better suited for those who already have a pretty extensive knowledge of 3ds max.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here