Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: How to Get Out of Debt: Get an a Credit Rating for Free Using the System I've Used Successfully With Thousands of Clients
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The ramifications of bad credit and overwhelming delinquent accounts affect every aspect of your life. The constant phone calls, the never-ending stream of letters and the bank account that is always short should be a wake up call to most. Maybe it is. But the humiliation and embarrassment of failed finances hinders many from obtaining help.

In How to Get Out of Debt, Author Harrine Freeman opens up her life, laying her poor decisions out for the world to learn how she stumbled down the slippery slope into the never-ending abyss of debt. Her sincerity and honesty is a refreshing opening to this life guide of accomplishing good credit and healthy financial living.

Relying on sound and logical principles of finances, Ms. Freeman explains how we dig ourselves into debt and the small steps vital to tip toeing our way back to financial freedom. She has packed a tremendous amount of information into this 240 pg guide, complete with sample letters to creditors, an invaluable list of consumer protection agencies, and other resources and guides.

When I first opened it, I sighed, wondering how it could be any different from the advertisements that come on after hours, promising all the information in the world for just $19.99, and offering you no more than what you already knew and never implemented. As you can tell from the review, I have struggled from undergraduate debt; I know this merry go round well. Three hours later, I had devoured Ms. Freeman's guide, tucking it on my shelf of "very necessary day-to-day living" reading. No doubt, folks, this one is a keeper.

About The Author:

Harrine Freeman holds a B.S. degree in Computer Science and is currently pursuing a Master's degree in Information Technology. She has written articles for various financial and self-help magazines. She has been a speaker at local churches, schools and radio shows. She is a member of the American Association of Daily Money Managers.

Key Positives:

A clear read. Simple and to the point, this guide touches on each and every aspect of debt and bad credit, leaving nothing to chance.

The resources listed in the appendices are impossible to collect on your own, well, maybe not entirely impossible, but why would you want to if you didn't have to? Also, there is a listing of terms and definitions, clarifying and correcting what we think we already know.

Key Negatives:

At times a bit pitchy however keep on reading, the wealth of information to be gained is rewarding.

Rating: 4 out of 5 mice for sincerity, clarity, ease of read, wealth of information and willingness to share personal experiences.

Reviewed by: a.Kai of Read Zone Book Reviewers
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2016
I will admit, I am a little biased. I've worked int the credit field majority of my life. I think this is a good introduction and a very easy read for someone who's not familiar. At times I felt some subjects there could be more depth to, I think majority of people will get this book and it will help them.

I've read this book in less than 24 hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2008
Ms. Freeman is the Credit guru/savior. I have seen significant improvements over time in my credit scores using the suggestions and tips in Ms. Freeman's insightful book. Debt can seem insurmountable when you are in it and I am now on the other side and plan to stay that way. I want to testify to EVERYONE. The strategies are written in understable language and are very doable. It has really opened up my eyes into my negative spending and credit usage behaviors. I now always shop with a purpose to get a specific item in mind rather than overspending without purpose, just being drawn to a sale for the sake of the sale. I have also bought this book as a gift for recent college grads so that they may avoid some of the credit pitfalls. I highly recommend it to everyone!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
It is a very helpful book. The author goes through her story about this. She then gives you her Knowledge and Wisdom on how to overcome these roadblocks. I am not finished the book yet, however it is interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Debt is one of those things that can easily consume all areas of our lives, but it doesn't have to be that way. Even if you already find yourself in a bind, there is help---and Harrine Freeman shares it with you in her book HOW TO GET OUT OF DEBT.

I first read this book years ago, but I am excited to say that even today what Harrine shares is practical and timely for all of those looking to change their current financial situation. Harrine shares her own personal story of getting out of debt and allows you to see that if you are willing to make the hard decisions and do the work you can also loosen the grip of debt in your life.

One of the great things that Harrine does is provides support for those that need it. She does it by sharing valuable resources in the book and even offering consulting offline to help those who might need additional help. The book also helps you in taking steps to protect yourself from fraud and identity theft, and lets you know things you can do to not just improve your credit rating but your own happiness as well.

We are all better off when we don't feel as though the weight of the world is on our shoulders. Harrine Freeman helps us lighten the load through her book that is guaranteed to get you on the right track and help you stay there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2007
Credit repair counselor Harrine Freeman applies her expertise to the written page in How to Get Out of Debt, a no-nonsense self-help guide to becoming debt free and repairing one's credit. From getting back on track after declaring bankruptcy, to protecting oneself against identity theft (which can cause terrible financial and credit rating damage!), to creating a reasonable spending plan, to simple step-by-step actions to improve one's credit rating and keep good credit, How to Get Out of Debt is a solid resource filled cover to cover with practical, "must-know" advice. A supplementary list of consumer protection agencies, sample monthly budget worksheets, and a list of credit report fees state by state round out this invaluable guide, enhanced by the personal testimony of the author's own experience of foolishly sinking into debt when he was younger, and learning the hard way how to dig himself out of debt and structure his financial life with solid discipline. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2007
"How to Get Out of Debt: Get an "A" Credit Rating for Free Using the System I've Used Successfully with Thousands of Clients is an insightful read that provides great information that all people should know."

"This book uses terms that are easy to comprehend and provides essential steps to learning about your credit history and how to reestablish your credit."

"This is a must read. A book that will empower readers to reevaluate their spending habits and become focused on securing their financial future."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 2, 2007
Will that be cash, check or charge? We have all heard those words as we step to the cashier. But how many of us pay cash for everything? Not many seeing that over 30 million Americans are in debt. Freeman has written an easy to follow guide to becoming debt-free and getting an "A+" credit score.

The chapters discuss everything you need to turn your credit situation around. How to recognize the warning signs of bad credit, getting on track after bankruptcy, repairing your credit, improving your credit rating and surviving identity theft are all fully explained with suggestions on how to go about turning things around. Freeman includes examples of letters to send to creditors explaining late payments, reducing your interest, and how to stop junk mail. There are also samples of budgets, how to calculate your spending levels and ideas on cutting back in order to pay off your total debt.

HOW TO GET OUT OF DEBT is an outstanding tool that can be used to restore your credit. Every person needs to read and understand this information before graduating from high school. Parents have to stand tall on discussions concerning finances so that our children don't perpetrate the current financial travesty going on in America. So buy this book for yourself, friends, church, youth group and community organization, your financial independence depends on lessons taught in its pages.

Deltareviewer
Reviewing for Real Page Turners
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2007
This is a fantastic guideline on how to get out of debt...it tells you the reasons why you allowed yourself to create your bad debt and explains the necessary steps to take to get out of debt, starting with calling your creditors and working out a payment plan, to creating and sticking to your budget.

Thanks Harrine for this informative read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2007
Harrine has written a wonderful book that will help you get out of the credit trap. Her down-to-earth writing style and common sense strategies are useful and effective for anyone who needs help in re-building their credit. A great book, a great resource, and a lifeboat for many people. Two big thumbs up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here