Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 311 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 568 reviews
on August 9, 2016
Having taken a few business/finance classes in college, I was looking for more info on stock attributes (P/E, Vol., Dividends, etc.). This book was not it. The author takes a deep dive into reading stock charts & predicting ideal moments on when to buy stocks. This simply wasn't the book for me and I think the author will lose most readers. I also disliked the approx. 50pgs the author devoted to his "Investor's Business Daily" paid program. It seemed a bit sleazy to plug his other product after I already bought his book (IMO).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2014
I wish I'd known about this system in the late 90s when I first tried to invest in individual stocks. This volume does a good job of explaining O'Neil's CAN SLIM investing system. There are a lot of plugs for Investors Business Daily (IBD), which is O'Neil's newspaper, so be prepared for that. I must say that an IBD and investors.com subscription is a minimum requirement for efficiently using CAN SLIM since nearly all of the information you need to use the system is contained in those resources. There are alternate buy points and advanced topics that are not covered in this book. He isn't going to give everything away in one book so he can sell his workshops and self study packages, but the basics covered in this book can get you started outperforming the market with some practice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2011
The CANSLIM system described in this book really works. However, there are limitations as others have pointed out. Be prepared for the following, or you may not be happy with this book:

- It takes time to learn the system, and you must be constantly watching to market for this to work (or make sure you have limit orders in to protect yourself if you do not watch things daily). This is not a system that you can spend an hour a month on. It will require a few hours a week, at a bare minimum.
- To truly learn and improve on this system, you will likely need to subscribe to Investor's Business Daily (IBD), and spend time reading it. While it is possible to do a lot of this research without IBD, it would take a lot of time.
- The system applies to bull markets. While you can apply it in bear markets, there are a lot of warnings about it.

If you are committed to spending the time (and money to subscribe to IBD), this is a good system. If you are a passive investor, or cannot commit the time, this is not for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2017
The best stock trading advice you'll find. It can seem counterintuitive at times but if you stick to the CAN SLIM methods you'll do well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2017
This book does an excellent job of describing stock investment methods with easy to understand analogies that anyone could apply. I've yet to implement these methods, but it's my intent to do so now. The historical precedence covered in this book makes it difficult to argue the CANSLIM method this book revolves around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
There is some good stuff in this book, BUT it is buried among many long winded examples and ad's baked right into the text. Somewhat like watching an infomercial... By the time you finish this book you might be convinced that whatever stock is recommend on their website (IBD) is a guaranteed success.

His method is mostly based on technical analysis, with strong earnings growth as a supporting foundation. The basic idea is buy the leaders in the leading groups with the best earnings as they advance in price. That is the whole book summed up in one line. You can mail your checks to me instead "pay to the order of" Cash. Seriously, you might earn some cash reading this book, just be prepared for some ad's and fluff mixed in with the good.

The raw material might be worth four stars to new traders/investors, but I have removed one star for all the shameless advertising of their website, and it is long winded in several places without any added value.

If you can wade through all the extra stuff, you will certainly find some useful information here. I most appreciated the selling rules, which account for 2 of my 3 stars, and that is only one chapter.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
Best book on buying stocks I ever saw. Gives examples, reasons, charts (over a hundred). Following this stock investing method is fairly easy. NOT a get rich quick scheme, but a way to invest with some great returns and reduced risks of loss. The author has been investing and advising for many years. Much research and thought when into this stock investing methodology. For the novice, highly recommend purchasing this book along with the companion "How to Make Money in Stocks -- Getting Started." This latter book is an extremely simple step-by-step that carefully follows this methodology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
Very detailed, and full of great and useful information. I had no background in stocks, but was very interested in learning more about the process and what I needed to do to be successful. The book is very organized and helpful. Be careful as a lot of the lingo can be hard to keep up with; I reccomend taking notes along with your readings because it is a very thorough book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
I don't regret spending my money to buy this book..it has made me view the stock market like a lost brother found. The CAN SLIM rules have made me informed, upbeat and more confident on the stocks I can Invest in my home country at the Nairobi Stock Exchange. Though the technicalities and fundamentals history of the securities are not the same they put me in a better position to make the right decisions.. I am gonna read it one more time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
Long-time CANSLIM follower, one of the best books for beginner, intermediate, and advanced traders. The simplest systems are usually the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse