List Price: $26.99 Details

The List Price is the suggested retail price of a new product as provided by a manufacturer, supplier, or seller. Except for books, Amazon will display a List Price if the product was purchased by customers on Amazon or offered by other retailers at or above the List Price in at least the past 90 days. List prices may not necessarily reflect the product's prevailing market price.
Learn more
Save: $15.01 (56%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery December 20 - 21 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery December 14 - 20

As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is included with a Kindle Unlimited membership. Learn more. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$11.98","priceAmount":11.98,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"11","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"98","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"ZP%2BkrykunaMNU8bNflyFQX1Ewl%2FkTZqb%2FN66p4agI575TVdAm804F3Kt3OD9zDSzsnWu9RpTh9CT0uxr%2BmufWqLZIP5qM5T5rAM4sOoG663quu1D9bdp%2F%2Fld%2BkAd5YiVDvU2%2FRbpqn%2BLwzVsA4VT168p6o9hwvQkCPl9wuGOAGFgs99IAG6jJV1RTdIIt9MU","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"$8.56","priceAmount":8.56,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"8","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"56","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"warG9JQPpLkuC79PLaJEC%2FLxOb6sYX9tZqC6U1Qh4vDbjSOiVxizSoAOTKwenJ8zXVKo7asx%2BTgy%2FW6wdcwN0bv5r%2BamE13w256sa9w%2BVXd0tfK%2B0xqoy%2BvGWlhLmm0Fl%2FuDMD7X5Y1rn8ObBi3jfBYiEIg0yzS%2B2Qqz52Xg0eYDVhqvW%2BEnGEbSkzPowU8M","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
$$11.98 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$11.98
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon
Sold by
Ships from
Amazon
Sold by
Return policy: Returnable until Jan 31, 2023
For the 2022 holiday season, returnable items purchased between October 11 and December 25, 2022 can be returned until January 31, 2023.
How to Walk Away: A Novel has been added to your Cart
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery Wednesday, December 14 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by -OnTimeBooks-
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Shipped fast and reliably through the Amazon Prime program! Book may contain some writing, highlighting, and or cover damage.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$6.96
+ $4.83 shipping
Sold by: whitelily
Sold by: whitelily
(263 ratings)
96% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$6.99
+ $4.92 shipping
Sold by: betterlife24
Sold by: betterlife24
(696 ratings)
90% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$26.99
& FREE Shipping. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Sold by: Amazon.com
In Stock.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

How to Walk Away: A Novel Hardcover – May 15, 2018

4.5 out of 5 stars 3,622 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$11.98
$5.89 $1.46

Enhance your purchase


Books with Buzz
Discover the latest buzz-worthy books, from mysteries and romance to humor and nonfiction. Explore more

Frequently bought together

  • How to Walk Away: A Novel
  • +
  • Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel
  • +
  • What You Wish For: A Novel
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.
Popular Highlights in this book

From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for How to Walk Away:

An instant
New York Times bestseller (May 2018)!

"A marvelous example of
acceptance and healing and a celebration of family."USA Today

"Center
explores the limits of hope and love...[she] transforms the story of a family tragedy into a heartfelt guide to living the fullest life possible." ―Publisher's Weekly

"With its
appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit." ―Booklist (starred review)

Inspiring and romantic… A touching and truthful novel that shows how people can find comfort in the most unexpected places.” ―Library Journal

"A story about survival that is
heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg." ―Kirkus

"A heartbreak of a novel that
celebrates resilience and strength." ―Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

"If you just read one book this year, read How to Walk Away." ―Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

"Warm, witty, and wonderfully observed." ―Emily Giffin, New York Times bestselling author of First Comes Love

"Sympathetic and
refreshing!" ―Elinor Lipman, bestselling author of The Family Man

"I can't think of a blurb good enough for this novel...
poignant, funny, heartbreaking." ―Jenny Lawson, bestselling author of Furiously Happy

About the Author

Katherine Center is the author of the upcoming novel, How to Walk Away. She writes bittersweet comic stories about how we fall down--and how we get back up. Her inspiring novels are always about how we struggle to find our way through life's hardships and learn to savor its joys at the same time.

#1 NYT Bestselling Author Emily Giffin describes Katherine's writing as "warm, witty, and wonderfully observed . . . reads like an intimate conversation with your best friend."

The Dallas Morning news says, "Reading a book by Katherine Center is like having a long lunch conversation with an old friend you haven't seen for a while -- familiar, cozy and satisfying in the most soul-nourishing way."

#1 NYT Bestselling Author Brené Brown says: "Katherine Center writes about falling down, growing up, and finding love like nobody else."

Katherine's other novels include: The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone Is Beautiful, Get Lucky, The Lost Husband, and Happiness for Beginners.

Her books and essays have appeared in InStyle, Redbook, People, USA Today, Vanity Fair, The Atlantic, Real Simple, and others, as well as several anthologies.

Instant Pictures recently optioned movie rights for The Lost Husband, which People calls "A sweet tale about creating the family you need."  

Katherine's books have been featured at Target and Costco, BookPage named her a new writer to watch, the Houston Press named her a Top Ten writer in the city. Her novels have been published all around the world. She's won a number of awards for her work, including the Girls, Inc. Strong, Smart & Bold Award, the Rose State President's Distinguished Author Award, and the Vassar College Fiction Prize. 

Katherine is also a speaker on the power of stories.  

She lives in her hometown of Houston, Texas, with her husband, two kids, and their fluffy-but-fierce dog.
Limited-Time Offer
Join Audible Premium Plus for 60% off. Get this deal

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ St. Martin's Press; Advance Readers' Edition (May 15, 2018)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1250149061
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1250149060
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.1 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6.41 x 1.15 x 9.57 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,622 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Katherine Center's new novel is WHAT YOU WISH FOR. She's the author of How to Walk Away and Things You Save in a Fire—both instant New York Times bestsellers—as well as The Lost Husband (now a movie starring Josh Duhamel), and five other bittersweet comic novels. She writes laugh-and-cry books about how life knocks us down—and how we get back up. Katherine has been compared to both Nora Ephron and Jane Austen, and the Dallas Morning News calls her stories, “satisfying in the most soul-nourishing way.” Her books have made countless Best-Of lists, including Amazon's Top 100 Books of 2019, Goodreads' Best Books of the Year 2019, BookBub's Best-Loved Books of 2019, the Indie Next Great Reads List, SheReads' Best Women's Fiction 2019, BookList's Top Ten Women's Fiction, and many, many more. Katherine lives in her hometown of Houston, Texas, with her husband, two kids, and their fluffy-but-fierce dog.

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
3,622 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 24, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on December 1, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 17, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on October 18, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 6, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 2, 2022
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 9, 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 30, 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Chocolate'n'Waffles
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely writing, fabulous story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on April 10, 2019
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
read-along-with-sue
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on March 8, 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Giorgia
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 17, 2020
Andi
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 17, 2022
Kerry-Lou
3.0 out of 5 stars for fans of me before you
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on May 24, 2020