<Embed>
List Price: $26.99
Save: $9.92 (37%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Saturday, Aug 22
Fastest delivery: Thursday, Aug 20 Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Used: Good | Details
Sold by WRB Corp.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: 100% Satisfaction guaranteed - Ships direct from Amazon. Please contact us with any issues. Customer satisfaction is our highest priority.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$10.70
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: IsLife warehouse
Add to Cart
$10.70
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Becker Inc.
Add to Cart
$10.92
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: LongDriveBooks
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


How to Walk Away: A Novel Hardcover – May 15, 2018

4.5 out of 5 stars 1,033 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$17.07
$10.70 $2.03

Black lives matter. Books to read right now.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • How to Walk Away: A Novel
  • +
  • Things You Save in a Fire: A Novel
  • +
  • The Lost Husband: A Novel
Total price: $48.31
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for How to Walk Away:

An instant New York Times bestseller (May 2018)!

"A marvelous example of acceptance and healing and a celebration of family."USA Today

"Center explores the limits of hope and love...[she] transforms the story of a family tragedy into a heartfelt guide to living the fullest life possible." ―Publisher's Weekly

"With its appealing characters and wisdom about grappling with life’s challenges, Center’s sixth novel has all the makings of a breakout hit." ―Booklist (starred review)

Inspiring and romantic… A touching and truthful novel that shows how people can find comfort in the most unexpected places.” ―Library Journal

"A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg." ―Kirkus

"A heartbreak of a novel that celebrates resilience and strength." ―Jill Santopolo, bestselling author of The Light We Lost

"If you just read one book this year, read How to Walk Away." ―Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

"Warm, witty, and wonderfully observed." ―Emily Giffin, New York Times bestselling author of First Comes Love

"Sympathetic and refreshing!" ―Elinor Lipman, bestselling author of The Family Man

"I can't think of a blurb good enough for this novel...poignant, funny, heartbreaking." ―Jenny Lawson, bestselling author of Furiously Happy

About the Author

Katherine Center is the author of the upcoming novel, How to Walk Away. She writes bittersweet comic stories about how we fall down--and how we get back up. Her inspiring novels are always about how we struggle to find our way through life's hardships and learn to savor its joys at the same time.

#1 NYT Bestselling Author Emily Giffin describes Katherine's writing as "warm, witty, and wonderfully observed . . . reads like an intimate conversation with your best friend."

The Dallas Morning news says, "Reading a book by Katherine Center is like having a long lunch conversation with an old friend you haven't seen for a while -- familiar, cozy and satisfying in the most soul-nourishing way."

#1 NYT Bestselling Author Brené Brown says: "Katherine Center writes about falling down, growing up, and finding love like nobody else."

Katherine's other novels include: The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone Is Beautiful, Get Lucky, The Lost Husband, and Happiness for Beginners.

Her books and essays have appeared in InStyle, Redbook, People, USA Today, Vanity Fair, The Atlantic, Real Simple, and others, as well as several anthologies.

Instant Pictures recently optioned movie rights for The Lost Husband, which People calls "A sweet tale about creating the family you need."  

Katherine's books have been featured at Target and Costco, BookPage named her a new writer to watch, the Houston Press named her a Top Ten writer in the city. Her novels have been published all around the world. She's won a number of awards for her work, including the Girls, Inc. Strong, Smart & Bold Award, the Rose State President's Distinguished Author Award, and the Vassar College Fiction Prize. 

Katherine is also a speaker on the power of stories.  

She lives in her hometown of Houston, Texas, with her husband, two kids, and their fluffy-but-fierce dog.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
1,033 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2019
Verified Purchase
56 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 10, 2018
Verified Purchase
59 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
36 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 27, 2018
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 27, 2018
Verified Purchase
27 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
26 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 23, 2018
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Chocolate'n'Waffles
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely writing, fabulous story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
read-along-with-sue
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 8, 2020
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
lynneeb
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising, funny, uplifting
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 22, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Euphemia Black
3.0 out of 5 stars Too sweet
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 22, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
CLAIR LEWIS
4.0 out of 5 stars How to walk away
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 15, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Emily Book
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent new book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 17, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
shoestopper
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 26, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 18, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Anne Duff
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
KB
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful..
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 5, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Lillysouth
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Katherine Center book.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 10, 2019
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kate Hurley
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly heart warming and inspiration al
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Vivien Eales
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 21, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Halina
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 3, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Elizabeth Eaton
5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 9, 2018
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: Best happiness for beginners