BCA Month Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 12, 2017
Gabriel Garcia Marquez is always brilliant. His perspective on character is deep & developed. This was not an easy read for me. It took something to dig through such odd material, yet it did shine light on honest aspects of human sexuality and family life during the lifetime's span.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
So fabulous you will be shocked you've missed this literary gem if you haven't already read it.
Highly imaginative, beautiful, explosive, vibrates with the energy of a village told over 100 years in magical realism style.
A classic by Colombia's literary lion, Nobel laureate, and required reading for students in Colombia.

Treat yourself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
An amazing journey of one family throughout various generations.There is no story in the traditional sense of a novel.but more of a series of events related in almost journalistic style.
There are at times, to us, rather strange nonsensical events,like flying carpets, but these are perceived as guitar normal.It is this matter of factness which makes this book magical and out of the ordinary and more real than realistic.
Quite a long book with many characters but a truly unique reading experience, read and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
i love this book, and the version that i got (i wanted a hard copy to replace my overread paperback from the 80's) is very nice. It doesnt have the character coffee stains from iquitos....but will hold up longer than i will.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2016
I read this book because a friend, who has similar taste, recommended it and because I had just finished a very interesting article about the author. It was a little hard to get into, but that could have been because I rarely read fiction. And until I got to "know" the characters it was a little difficult to keep everyone straight. After putting the book down I would find myself still thinking about the parts I had just read. It really gets more interesting as it goes on. I am almost finished with it and I will recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2015
A rare read that infuriates, delights, surprises, and baffles....not for the faint hearted. The images are acid clear and brilliant, the mysticism and bizarre stories are confusing and blessed.....the book provides a chance to laugh, cry, shake one's head in puzzlement..........it never disappoints. May become exhausting (!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2015
This is my first book read of Gabriel Garcia Marquez. And while I found it quite complex in the beginning, with all the names and family ties mixing among each other, the further I read, the more I loved the story, its characters and the way in which the story was told. A true masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2014
I ordered the the as an homage to Marquez who I believe is 9ne of the greatest writer's of of time. I was most sadened to learn of his death. I have read this wonderful book in Spanish. It is best in that language because only that language can capture the true esence of the Buendia family of Mocado and the culture it represents.It is, nevertheless, a treasure in English. Don't fil to read it at some point in your journey as a reader.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
Great book with fantastic writing. Great insight to Latin American history and culture. Definitely would recommend this book - just don't get too hung up on a lot of the names being the same.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2008
A few writers in each generation are gifted with such writing talent that they create books that make you catch your breath. Gabriel Garcia Marquez is one of those writers. His gift with prose, the way he uses language, his storytelling ability is staggering. This is an engrossing read from the very first sentence. You will be captivated by the magical world that has been created and the all too human characters that populate the story.

For reading pleasure, I would recommend the Harper Perennial Modern Classics edition of this book, which has those very convenient flaps on the front and back covers that make perfect bookmarks to save your page when you do manage to put the book down!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here