Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 560 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,543 reviews
on January 12, 2017
Gabriel Garcia Marquez is always brilliant. His perspective on character is deep & developed. This was not an easy read for me. It took something to dig through such odd material, yet it did shine light on honest aspects of human sexuality and family life during the lifetime's span.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
So fabulous you will be shocked you've missed this literary gem if you haven't already read it.
Highly imaginative, beautiful, explosive, vibrates with the energy of a village told over 100 years in magical realism style.
A classic by Colombia's literary lion, Nobel laureate, and required reading for students in Colombia.

Treat yourself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
An amazing journey of one family throughout various generations.There is no story in the traditional sense of a novel.but more of a series of events related in almost journalistic style.
There are at times, to us, rather strange nonsensical events,like flying carpets, but these are perceived as guitar normal.It is this matter of factness which makes this book magical and out of the ordinary and more real than realistic.
Quite a long book with many characters but a truly unique reading experience, read and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2015
One Hundred Years of Solitude is a story impossible to summarize. This book tells the history of a family through over the course of one hundred years. The people in this story live in a world of hallucinations. Their dreams, loves, life and death are mixed up and the men and women reveal their human condition.
I grew up in the regions where this history takes place. Therefore I think everything that is told in the book is possible. I have seen similar situations happen to other families and my own. The old people used to tell stories like the ones in the book. In the magical region of "Macondo" all is possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
i love this book, and the version that i got (i wanted a hard copy to replace my overread paperback from the 80's) is very nice. It doesnt have the character coffee stains from iquitos....but will hold up longer than i will.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2010
Gabriel García Márquez who has created in "One Hundred Years of Solitude" an enchanted place that does everything but cloy. Macondo oozes, reeks and burns even when it is most tantalizing and entertaining. It is a place flooded with lies and liars and yet it spills over with reality. Lovers in this novel can idealize each other into bodiless spirits, howl with pleasure in their hammocks or, as in one case, smear themselves with peach jam and roll naked on the front porch. The hero can lead a Quixotic expedition across the jungle, but although his goal is never reached, the language describing his quest is pungent with life:

"The men on the expedition felt overwhelmed by their most ancient memories in that paradise of dampness and silence, going back to before original sin, as their boots sank into pools of steaming oil and their machetes destroyed bloody lilies and golden salamanders. For a week, almost without speaking, they went ahead like sleepwalkers through a universe of grief, lighted only by the tenuous reflection of luminous insects, and their lungs were overwhelmed by a suffocating smell of blood." This is the language of a poet who knows the earth and does not fear it as the enemy of the dreamer.

Near the end of "One Hundred Years of Solitude" a character finds a parchment manuscript in which the history of his family had been recorded "one hundred years ahead of time" by an old gypsy. The writer "had not put events in the order of man's conventional time, but had concentrated a century of daily episodes in such a way that they coexisted in one instant." The narrative is a magician's trick in which memory and prophecy, illusion and reality are mixed and often made to look the same. It is, in short, very much like Márquez's astonishing novel.

This book gives you kind of a feeling of living in a dreamland that is all too real. I highly suggest checking this book out asap
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2016
I read this book because a friend, who has similar taste, recommended it and because I had just finished a very interesting article about the author. It was a little hard to get into, but that could have been because I rarely read fiction. And until I got to "know" the characters it was a little difficult to keep everyone straight. After putting the book down I would find myself still thinking about the parts I had just read. It really gets more interesting as it goes on. I am almost finished with it and I will recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
Give yourself plenty of time to read this one...it was a very hard book to get into due to the style of writing but it is one of those books that is surprisingly full of interesting topics to discuss at any book club....just don't wait until the last two weeks to read it.....if you want to finish in time that is...(give yourself a month)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
I really love this novel. I first read it in Spanish in the early 70's. I reread it for my book club in English. This translation is excellent. Garcia Marquez creates a world where time has little meaning. Actually he creates a town where time has little meaning. However, the town, Macondo, is the main character in the book.

After reading One Hundred Years of Solitude, you will understand why Garcia Marquez won the Nobel Prize for Literature. He was a brilliant writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've read this book several times and it gets better with each reading. While I believe LOVE IN THE TIME OF CHOLERA is Marquez' best novel, ONE HUNDRED YEARS OF SOLITUDE is probably his most mesmerizing. From the very first, beautifully constructed sentence (my favorite book beginning of all time) the reader is immersed in the world of the Buendía family and their town Macondo. Meandering, episodic, and always entertaining, this is a book to be consumed with childlike wonder as the narrative drifts through time, plot, and many confusingly named characters. There is an intentional blurring of character's names that can leave the reader confused. However, this is not a novel mainly about characters. It is about the passing of time, of the intractable mysteries of life, and about the tragedy of joy, and the joy that follows tragedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse