Kindle Price: $6.99

Save $9.01 (56%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Hungry Rats by [Coyne, Connor]

Hungry Rats Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 8 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 258 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

The reader grows more slack-jawed at the sheer magnitude of horror lying just beneath the surface of this ordinary (if crumbling) city, this ordinary (if dysfunctional) family. --Christine Borne, the Cleveland Review

From the Author

Hungry Rats is a contemporary noir in the tradition of Cornell Woolrich, Patricia Highsmith, Derek Raymond, Thomas Harris, and more.  I wrote it in 2003 as a one-off foray into 2nd person writing and serial killer stories.  The draft was done in about three weeks, and not only did it document teenager Meredith Malady's attack on the notorious "Rat Man" in Flint, Michigan, but eventually channeled a good bit of Michigan's history in the lumber and automotive industries.  
The story wouldn't let me let it go. 
 My submission helped me get into my MFA Program at the New School, where I studied under Jeffery Allen, Shelley Jackson, David Gates, Darcey Steinke, Helen Schulman, and Mark Bibbins.  Two years later, Hungry Rats was my MFA thesis.  In 2010 I incorporated the Gothic Funk Press to publish this and other work, and Hungry Rats was released on schedule in September 2010 with praise from Jeffery Renard Allen, Arlene Malinowski, and Leila Sales.
While the publication eerily coincided with the hunt for Elias Abuelazam, the Flint Serial Stabber (a coincidence covered by the Flint Journal) the two events are completely unrelated.  I am proud to have written this experimental noir novel, and am very grateful for all of the help I received along the way.

Product details

  • File Size: 672 KB
  • Print Length: 258 pages
  • Publisher: Gothic Funk Press; 1st edition (September 1, 2010)
  • Publication Date: September 1, 2010
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004GB15VC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,945,194 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 8 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

February 12, 2011
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
November 27, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 29, 2011
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 18, 2011
Format: Paperback
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Hungry Rats
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Hungry Rats