Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18_gno



on February 12, 2014
I was excited about this game when I saw it...RPG, 2 players offline! That's a perfect start for me. I was dissapointed with the lack of color but also with the lack of character development as well. The only way to really upgrade your character is with whatefer weapon and armor they have. I like mods intrinsic to the character as well...I'm a glutton for upgrades! what can I say (it worked for Neo).
It was kind a of drudge of repetition after a few hours. And it seemed imppossible to get through some of the stages without drinking the slag which leads to the BAD ending. So I was kind of dissapointed there too. I could probably have spent some time researching strategies online to avoid the slag, but it just didn't seem worth the effort for this game. Even worse...I bought this one near release so paid a lot more than I should have. It's probably great as a $15 game.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 26, 2014
This game would have been a lot better if it had a longer game play. I feel like I beat it really quickly. I know not every game can last forever like Kingdoms of Amular or Skyrim, but still if I buy a game I don't want to completely play through it in 2 to 3 days. Its really disappointing too, because the game was actually enjoyable, but I wouldn't buy it new again or gift it simply due to the very short amount of time it takes to complete. If you want to check it out try to find it used, or just rent it, its really one of those that you're only going to play through once as there is not any sort of variation based off of choices you make as a character. Once you have played it, you have played it and there isn't really any way to change it up the second time though.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2013
On paper, this game sounded like an INCREDIBLE idea: Take the stop-and-pop, cover-based shooting gameplay that has become popularized this console generation with games like Gears of War and Uncharted, and apply it to a fantasy-based RPG. What should have resulted was one fantastic game.

The actual result, unfortunately, was nothing remotely similar to what I just described. The frame rate of Hunted is a juderring, shuddering mess that seems as if it never saw the light of the Quality Control cubicles at whatever developer made this embarrassment. What makes it worse is a horrid color palette that makes everything blend together... characters, environments, items, it doesn't matter what it is, it's all going to get mixed into the pot. Quite literally, I had no idea what I was looking at on screen for most of the time (I lasted two hours, before my eye pain and frustration made me give up on this thing).

I don't know if these technical abominations affected the XBOX 360 version, but the PS3 game is completely unplayable, in my humble opinion. This should really be a one star game, but I'm awarding it two for having a unique, promising idea. Better luck next time... I would enjoy playing a functional version of Hunted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2011
Going into Hunted, I had no idea what to expect. I took the leap because it was on sale for $13 (well worth it) and, almost in a panic of preemptive buyer's remorse, I started combing through reviews after the fact. I was initially scared by reviews talking about glitches and unsatisfying gameplay, and how the levels are too linear. Then I read a review at GameCritics.com that compared the game to the old Capcom Dungeons & Dragons arcade beat-em-ups.

What an apt comparison! If you're looking for an RPG, Hunted is not for you. If you're looking for Gears of War with arrows, Hunted is not for you. However, if you can keep an open mind and are willing to try a unique mix of, let's say, Demon's Souls art design and cover-shooter gameplay, Hunted might scratch an itch you never knew you had.

It's actually a very hard game to describe because while it seems to borrow conventions from other games, it doesn't fall neatly into any one genre. But much like Capcom's Dungeons & Dragons, you are essentially on a linear path in a dark, Lord of the Rings-esque fantasy world and killing everything in your way. There is no "leveling-up," no items to purchase. There is loot and gold, but the former has only minor variances (high-end weapons are reserved for the end of the game's elaborate optional puzzles) and the latter is used only to unlock features in the game's largely extraneous map-building mode. That's right, if you're so inclined, you can create and download new maps (some of which have been designed by the game's developers) ala LittleBigPlanet, although by no means as cohesive or extensive in its sharing capabilities. It's also extremely hard to unlock content for said map builds (by the end of the game, I had only 50% of content unlocked). Unless you just REALLY like amorphous dungeons, you'll probably avoid the creation mode altogether.

There are also plenty of secrets, and collectible items in the form of gold, gemstones (used for upgrades), souls (which are quite well voice-acted and used in the same way modern FPS's use voice recordings to tell backstory), and prisoners, with trophies/achievements associated with each.

Let's get the bad out of the way, because as you might have discerned from umpteen other reviews, Hunted is by no means perfect. The lack of polish in the game is discernible, from ugly/pop-in textures to broken scripted moments (that may require a re-load, although that only occurred once for me in an optional dungeon) and dubious collision detection for environments and your A.I. partner. A.I. pathfinding is also a problem at times, although it never once caused me to get irreparably stuck (the A.I. partner teleports in to meet you at checkpoints) and this won't be a problem if you choose to go co-op.

However, the biggest possible detraction--and one that very well may be a deal breaker for you--is that playing as Caddoc, the sword-based character, is not a whole lot of fun. That is, both characters wield swords and shields and both characters can shoot arrows, but each of the two characters is geared toward one particular style of combat. Caddoc is the aforementioned, requisite "melee guy." Now, to be clear, this game isn't trying to be Conan (which was a similarly uneven beat-em-up, but more in the God of War vein and not particularly fun), but when one of your two gameplay options is not really that satisfying to control, it may turn off fantasy lovers who are eager to hack some Lord of the Rings-style monsters. You don't HAVE to play as Caddoc (although if you're playing co-op, one of you will obviously have to), but if you do, get prepared to be disappointed by some lame/unwieldy spells, unresponsive blocking, and floaty hit detection.

However, if you choose to play as Elara (and you can actually switch between both characters at several points within levels, although I never opted to switch after the prologue), the game can be an absolute blast. The skill trees are very limited (this isn't a real RPG), but once you get the powerful frost and fire arrow spells, you'll be afforded some of the most accessible and satisfying archery combat ever put into a video game. Nothing says "badass" like freezing a group of orcs ("wargars," whatever), having your partner float their frozen bodies in the air, and then blasting them all apart into a million pieces with one well-placed fire-arrow spell. Unlike Caddoc, Elara actually controls pretty well. There are cover aspects of the fights, which are sometimes necessary to utilize, and because of this you'll accidentally jump into cover when trying to run forward (much like Gears of War), but for the most part, she is nimble enough to take down giant minotaurs with her arrows while evading their charges. It's not quite a shooter, not quite Elder Scrolls archery, but somehow it just works really well. Plus, while auto-aiming is enabled by default (and works very smoothly), distance aiming takes actual skill.

While we're on the subject of gameplay and controls, I should note that there are "finishing" moves mixed into the combat that seem to pop up randomly. They're not particularly elegant in their execution, but thankfully you can just ignore them.

The last problem worth mentioning here is the game's ending, both in terms of final boss (which is awful) and ending. There are multiple endings (I won't spoil what factor alters the ending), but the "bad" endings are short throw-aways and the "good" ending is predictable and trite.

Here's the (very) good, aside from the aforementioned archery gameplay:

The art and enemy design is excellent. Each of the six chapters features rather varied terrain (not all of them take place in dungeons, although the second and sixth are decidedly dungeon-filled) and while the texture work is not particularly solid, the design of the levels themselves is excellent. Similarly, the enemies and bosses LOOK ferocious, and while there isn't great variety in enemy types, encounters and puzzles are mixed up enough to keep the game's pace brisk and the battles fun. Similarly, the music is fitting and well orchestrated. Voice acting is serviceable although by no means remarkable (on the level of, say, Heavenly Sword or Enslaved), but with the exception of stranded NPCs who are likely to repeat their woeful lines ad-nauseum, the voices never really grate.

Difficulty balance. On the medium difficulty setting, the game hits that perfect balance of tense without ever being frustrating. You probably won't die often because, as with Gears of War, your A.I. teammate can "revitalize" you (and at a distance, too--something Gears could learn from). At the same time, there will be moments when you'll be scrambling for health and magic potions in order to defeat a particularly nimble foe, and enemy damage is quite significant, especially against Elara.

The characters. The story is hit-and-miss, although there are parts that are particularly well scripted, especially in a moment two-thirds into the game when Caddoc and Elara must come to terms with their misinterpreted status as "heroes" and choose to do something unselfish. The villains are, again, trite and predictable, and you never really care about their motives for evil. However, the world itself is beautifully fleshed out by the aforementioned "souls" scattered about the levels. The protagonists are fitting stars, not because they do a notable job of defying fantasy stereotypes (they LOOK the part of a dark fantasy aimed at teenagers, and Caddoc even comments about Elara's "slutty" outfit at one point), but because their banter is interesting, diverse, and fun to listen to. Furthermore, I should note how refreshing it is that, while dressed in skimpy attire, neither protagonist is particularly sexualized. Their relationship is completely platonic without seeming cold, and while a love story wouldn't necessarily ruin a fantasy game, it's nice to see a male/female pairing based on amiability and respect rather than hormones. You get the sense that these are two old friends who have come to terms with the shallow lifestyle they've chosen, and they often support each other, albeit begrudgingly. They're not particularly three-dimensional characters but they're FUN without being obnoxious.

My favorite part of the game is the handful of puzzle dungeons spread throughout the chapters. They're a welcome departure from the otherwise linear levels and while the puzzles therein aren't any more devious than, say, those found in a Tomb Raider game, they're satisfying to solve. More than anything, each puzzle is elaborate without being time-consuming. It's as if someone plucked some of the best dungeons from Oblivion and stuck them in a linear beat-em-up. You don't HAVE to complete them (if you can find them, although I didn't find any of them particularly difficult to access), but they're so interesting that you'll want to, almost like the optional dungeons in Assassin's Creed 2 and Brotherhood.

Even if you don't choose to play through the elaborate side-dungeons, the linear parts still feature plenty of secrets. Some are painfully obvious (particularly when pointed out by the voices of departed souls) while others are pretty well hidden. It's not Return to Castle Wolfenstein or Quake-level devious, but they're fun to seek out.

Still with me? If you are, I know this is a lot to take in, but just know this: Hunted: The Demon's Forge may not be for everyone, but I'd be remiss if I didn't at least recommend that you TRY it. I had zero expectations going in and had a blast. If you're not expecting the next Elder Scrolls, or Dark Souls, or even Gears of War, you just might agree with me that Hunted is a pick for Diamond in the Rough, 2011.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2017
Great product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2012
I only picked this game up because I got a deal on it.. Well turns out it's not so bad it's got an rpg feel to it. I play thousands of games and I'm really big on RPG's .. I Also tend to get bored fast if games don't meet my demands. I would love to see them ship some better RPG's and jrpg's the quality over the years has just went down hill with story and depth I miss a good old rpg :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 8, 2013
Its a fun game however the multiplayer is a little choppy and i have tested two of these games to be sure, you cannot hear the other person on your headset other games play well and you can hear your partner just not this game even fixed the settings. If this was not the issue I would have given it a 5* other than that the single player is fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon December 18, 2012
Developed by inXile Entertainment and published in May of 2011 by Bethesda Softworks, "Hunted: The Demon's Forge" is a third person single player or co-op action game. Set in a gritty and brutal fantasy world, the story follows two mercenaries (Caddoc, a human male warrior and E'lara, a female elven archer) as they investigate the disappearances of townsfolk after sinister creatures begin to emerge from the underground. Armed with a magic artifact called the Deathstone which allows the wielder insight into the lives of the deceased, Caddoc and E'lara set out to the nearby town of Dyfed in search of its missing inhabitants. Here are my thoughts on Hunted: The Demon's Forge;

Pros

+ Grim, dark and adult fantasy setting.

+ Hidden areas are fun to discover and explore.

+ Excellently detailed character and creature models.

+ Humorous and witty banter between Caddoc, E'lara and the NPCs.

+ Spell and action particle effects are clean and look impressive.

+ Rez vials are a convenient way to revive companions. Much easier than kneeling over them for a set amount of time while getting beat on by enemies.

+ Dungeons have dark and eerie feel to them.

+ Blood splatter from combat is a nice touch on characters. Shields are also destructible.

+ Very non-stereotypical main characters. E'lara is shoot first ask questions later elf who is always more than happy to rush into battle. Caddoc is a calculating and strategic mercenary warrior.

+ Solid voice acting talent includes Lucy Lawless, Laura Bailey and Robin Atkin Downes.

+ Outstanding soundtrack by Kevin Reipl (Gears of War, Unreal Tournament, Resistance - Burning Skies).

+ Weapons and armor have excellent detailing and design. Many weapons also have magical effects accompanied with simple particle effects.

+ Can see many items you're carrying such as weapons, potions and rez vials.

+ Gruesome looking creatures.

+ A few good scares in dungeons.

Cons <Contains SPOILERS>

- Impossible to tell which items you can break and which ones you can't.

- Caddoc's crossbow is slow and quite lackluster.

- Lots of invisible barriers and places where items can fall behind which you can't reach.

- Careful fighting next to "sleg" pots, it's extremely easy to drink them altering the ending of the game.

- Checkpoint save system which can be really poorly spaced in some areas.

- Melee combat against enemies is often extremely dangerous even for Caddoc.

- Cut-scenes can often cause you to lose loot that you didn't pick up in battle.

- Many areas are one-way only with no option of returning. If you missed something, too bad!

- Some really ugly and dated environmental textures.

- Health and Mana potions can disappear even though they still show on the ground.

- Some musical glitches where it gets caught in a loop so you can't tell when combat is over.

- Finishing maneuvers while neat, lock you into the animation but not your partner which ends up looking odd.

- Riddle heads tend to get a bit repetitive.

- Some graphics clipping issues.

- Limited number of enemy types.

- Local co-op is split screen view.

- No jump or crouch.

- Clumsy cover system.

- Linear gameplay.

- No inventory option.

- Some jerky character movement.

"Hunted: The Demon's Forge" is exactly the type of fantasy action game that I look for. Its dark story, grim setting, brutal creatures and unique characters intrigued me from the very beginning. The teasers hinted at Gears of War style gameplay but in a fantasy setting after which I was sold. Unfortunately, "Hunted: The Demon's Forge" just doesn't live up to such lofty expectations. The game felt unfinished and largely subpar in so many areas. The game's faults really show with its broken cover system, linear gameplay, dated graphics, clumsy character/enemy combat, invisible barriers and overall bugs. Despite these issues there are some bright spots in the game as well. The character and enemy models look great, the combat is generally fun, the voice acting and soundtrack are quite well done and the overall setting of the game has a very dark and gritty feel to it. That being said it's still not enough to push this game beyond the average or cause you to overlook its many flaws. I played co-op with a friend (I played Caddoc, he played E'lara and it took roughly 10-12 hours to complete) and while we enjoyed it, we both agreed to be glad when it was finished.
55 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2013
I initially wanted hunted because it seemed like a role playing version of Gears of war. Atleast that's what the videos made it seem like. The storyline wasn't that great and a little hard to understand. Also the game was so dark that it was hard to see things in the stages. But the gameplay made up for it! There was always enough enemies to keep you entertained throughout the game which is awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 23, 2013
has some cool effects,good visuals and good things to discover and find.search for things,clues everywhere.not like god of war though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here