Industrial Deals HPC Design the future with O'Reilly Media Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on April 24, 2017
best revenge move I've ever seen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 3, 2015
graphic but ok movie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 2017
I'm glad I own one of my favorite movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2017
Awesome love it thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2017
This movie is scary....Must See
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2016
Dark dark and great thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2017
Pay back were great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 9, 2017
Verygood, but extremely violent and strange. Not appropriate for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 28, 2011
Critic V.A. Musetto reviewed I Spit best: "If you can handle it, see it." A viewer enjoys the catharsis and truthfulness of I Spit on Your Grave. But, whether viewing the 1978 or 2010 version, a viewer more appreciates this story than enjoys it. I Spit on Your Grave (2010) is an admirable work. It updates Day of the Woman for current audiences and culture. Day of the Woman needs to be occasionally retold. I compliment a film willing to do that well. I compliment Sarah Butler and the other actors for taking on such brave roles.

Director Steven R. Munroe has obviously much respect for Meir Zarchi's work. And, mutual admirers will appreciate Munroe enhancements. For example, in this version, Jennifer has a good reason not to call the police. About the 1978 version, audiences have asked constantly "Why the hell doesn't she just call the police?!" Also, this version emphasizes Jennifer's revenge more than her humiliation. Both versions should exist. Keaton's Jennifer Hills becomes someone with whom an audience sympathizes/empathizes more. Butler's Hills provides more of a tale of warning. And, Munroe's remake expands upon the rapists' personal lives to make the audience more sympathetic to them. These criminals are not Others from the backwoods; they are potentially a person's neighbors. Finally, the DVD's scene titles pay homage to this controversial classic. The Rape of Jennifer Hills is an alternate title for this film, and it is the chapter title for the rape scene. Appropriately, Day of the Woman is the chapter title for Jennifer's revenge, when this wronged woman has her vengeful day.

EXTRAS: I am pleased with the extras. A brief making-of documentary provides good information, not just fluff. The disk has trailers for other films--including, of course, the original I Spit. Plus, viewers get deleted scenes. Standard stuff, but well-done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2002
After watching "Last House on the Left","Zombie",and "The Beyond," it's good to finally see a horror film that's taken seriously and done extrememly well. Wes Cravens LHOTL just seems to hold back a lot on the extreme, not to mention being in dire need of a good script, and the Fulci films seem to have good story ideas and a good effort, but in the end, it's executed a little poorly.
I Spit on Your Grave is the cure.
To keep it short, the story takes us to a summer house rented out by a quient, very kind and really attractive Jennifer (Camille Keaton). She is kidnapped by a few hillbillies, raped, beaten and left for dead. She then plots revenge and goes on to kill each attacker one by one. This film will upset a lot of people. The scenes where Keaton is raped and beaten are pretty intense, mostly because she acts through them with such brilliance, her screams sound so real you'll almost feel like she really was being raped. What also adds to your sympathy for her is her figure. I think it was a concious effort to try to get a very thin and weak looking women to play the part, b/c let's face it, as pretty as Keaton is, curves she has not. It's surprising her character didn't die during this ordeal. What I also liked in this film and as stated by other reviewers is how her wardrobe changes after she is almost killed. She stops wearing skimpy clothing and opts for a more conservative look. I also love the lack of a soundtrack, which may sound like it'll ruin the film but actually adds to its realism and makes it so much better.
Even though the revenge plot is what makes the film and is the film it is not without its share of uncredibility. This is the reason I took off one star. For example, unless her main attacker is a real idiot, why would he trust this woman who he has just raped and almost killed to fall for him and want to get naked in the tub with him?? Also, in real life if a woman was in the same situation and was raped, do you think she'd still stay in that summer house for the remainder of the summer instead of going back home knowing full well her attackers are still somewhere nearby? I know in reality some people would be too ashamed to admit what happened to them which is understandable but what exactly kept Keaton's character in that house? Did she not want her money to go to waste or something? Com'on!
Besides these flaws which will have you rolling your eyes at the screen, the film is incredible and although may not scare you with dark murky lighting or monsters and such, it's not that type of horror film. What's frightening about it is how easily the attackers were able to get their hands on this woman. It's scary because it shows you just how vulnerable you really are. I'd definitely recommend this film to any true horror fan, you won't regret it. I love this movie!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse