Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 371 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 391 reviews
on April 19, 2016
Calling all chicken people! This is what you want to buy for your wet and dry bulb temps if you are incubating chicks. I checked and it came perfectly calibrated. It was the 5th one I bought. All the others were a little cheaper pricewise, but a lot cheaper in quality. Had I believed any of the other 4 I would have killed my $200 worth of rare breed chicken eggs. Glad I got this one at last! Included a picture of the nice LARGE dial and handy calibration tool being used to check calibration. The tool has a slot at one end to slide the probe through so that you don't have to touch it with your hands which can throw off the temp and also get you burned if you aren't careful. It also has the built in wrench tool so that you can turn the adjustment nut should you find that you need to. Just look up your altitude adjusted boiling temp (mine is 210) and then fill a big pot with distilled water and put it on to boil. Then fill a tall glass with ice and distilled water. After 3 minutes, with the thermometer in the slot of the tool you carefully set the probe down into the water without touching it to the actual glass. It should read 32 degrees F. Make a note of what it DOES read. Take it out and let it come to room temp. Then do the same to the pot of water once it has reached a true boil. Avoid placing it directly into the path of bubbles as the steam can alter the test some. When the temp stops climbing and holds steady write that temp down. My temps were 34 and 208. So it was 2 degrees high at freeze and 2 degrees low at boil. That is OK. All that matters is that it is centered. It is set to the middle of the spectrum between freeze and boil. If it is off more one way or the other you will adjust it to get it centered.
review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2016
For those that see the word OVEN and think you can _leave this in the food IN an oven_, you are mistaken! The lens is polycarbonate, not pyrex so it WILL melt. This is not that kind of probe. Open the door, insert, wait 20 or so seconds to see if the meat is at the right temp, then remove. If you need an oven proof probe, look for and Oven Proof Thermometer or similar.

Insta-Read also seems to vex users, this is a bimetallic thermometer, it is quick, but it is not instant, NO bimetallic is instant. It is however far far FAR faster than a traditional alcohol or mercury capillary tube thermometer! If you really, genuinely need 'Instant', get a digital probe, and then keep button cell batteries on hand for when you discover the batteries have gone dead on Thanksgiving day.

Anyway, this probe works pretty well. It is stoutly made, but not in China, instead, it's Vietnam. The dial is easy to read meaning I don't have to find my glasses to see what it's reading. The crystal/lens is polycarbonate so it's shatter resistant if you drop it on a hard floor. It comes from the factory reasonably well calibrated, mine was one degree cool. Calibration is very simple and the plastic protector sheath has the hex drive to adjust it.

If you need an exactly calibrated probe, you will need to get a 'Certified' one, and you won't find one in the less than $10 range.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2009
This instant read thermometer is accurate, period. In addition, the large numerals on its dial are easily and quickly read. I tested it out of the box on a glass of ice water and a pot of boiling water. The readings were right on at 32 and 212 degress plus or minus a smidgen of a degree. That is good enough for me. Please note as another reviewer mentioned, that the sensing portion of the thermometer is between the tip and the dimple in the shaft.
0Comment| 137 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2011
I bought a Wal-Mart (believe Better Homes) private label instant read thermometer before this one. I use it for boiling goat milk (highly temperature sensitive). The Wal-Mart brand accidentally fell into the milk and when I pulled it out, there was milk inside the thermometer. Fast forward to this thermometer...same accident and no milk at all...Both are accurate and it takes a few seconds to get the actual readout.

The big dial is a plus for the CDN, although I was OK with the Wal-Mart dial as well. The Wal-Mart thermometer won the looks battle as it was all steel (including the dial) but in my opinion it was more style than substance.

Finally this appears to be a well built thermometer and I really enjoy the cover which subs as an extension handle to hold the thermometer on top of the hot liquids with out the steam getting on your knuckles.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2014
© 2008, CDN IRXL220 ProAccurate Insta-Read Large Dial Cooking Thermometer, by Component Design.
This dial food thermometer at 1 5/8" wide, is much larger than the last thermometer I bought from Amazon that turned out to be only 1 ¼" wide. The 3/8" difference in width may not seem like much, but it makes this thermometer much easier to read than the 1 1/4" wide "Farberware BBQ Instant Read Thermometer with Large Digital Face, by Farberware". On both, the temperature measured can be between 0 degrees and 220 degrees. There seems to be a difference of three degrees between the large one and the two small ones, so I have to believe the small ones. They each have a lock nut on the back for calibration, provided that you have a reliable reference thermometer. The metal probe on each of them is about five inches long. Not for use in an oven. Use for stovetop cooking, grill, or push at least 2 ¼ " into food (to the dimple on stem) after removing the food from an oven, microwave oven, smoke oven or rotisserie. Let food rest for 10 to 15 minutes after cooking, to allow internal temperature to stabilize, and the juices to redistribute. This will make the meat juicier and easier to carve. Five stars.

Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.

Manufactured by: Component Design Northwest, Inc., P.O. Box 10947, Portland, OR 97296-2364; Tel: 1.800.338.5594; Fax: 1.800.879.2364; web: cdn-timeandtemp.com. Recalibration instructions are available at the web site. Five year warranty. Send prepaid to CDN, P.O. Box 10947, Portland OR 97296-0947. Made in China.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2013
This is what I look for when I make a purchase, items that are solidly made and do not require batteries, things that will last. My money is not disposable, and I don't like buying things that are (if they don't have to be).

I went to calibrate it to make sure it was reading correctly, and it was spot-on out of the box. Still working great after 7 months.

As others have said, the area on the spike you need to get to is rather far in, so if you need to get the temperature of something shallow, you may want to get a different one. But for anything you can poke this 3-4" into, it works like a charm. Steaks and burgers for example, you will have to poke in the side.
Of course it isn't as fast as a digital one (as some people seem to expect) but you will never have to buy a battery for it. And it is not a candy thermometer.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2012
Product arrive on time and work as promise. But I was highly disappointed with the quality. My wife use it to make yogurt and sour milk. She is careful how she use her tools. She read everything that come with the product and never abuse them. Approximate 30 day she notice the arm indicator was not moving. Regardless the price of a product it should not be broken in such a short time. We contact Amazon, they immediately reply and send us another one. Hopefully this one will last longer.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
I no longer warm food using a Micro-wave. I use the stove top and a double boiler. It is tough to tell how warm the food is for there isn't any temperature gage on a stove unlike the convent yet destructive MicroWave. I had difficult finding a thermostat that didn't always fall out and crash to the floor. I keep the base blue pin in and the large dial seems to stay in the pot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
I make yogurt and temperature is key. this works perfectly for my needs and is very accurate. I like the fact of the large readout display, yet its small enough to stick in a drawer. Nice product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
This thermometer has an easy to read dial, comes with a sheath to protect it, but the sheath also serves as a "wrench", a tool to recalibrate the thermometer, if necessary. All you need to do is place it in a glass with ice and some water, and wait for the temperature to normalize at 32 degrees F, and twist the adjustor "wrench" to move the indicator needle to 32. I use it to obtain when my green tea water is @175 degrees.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse