Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 88 reviews
on July 27, 2016
An author I followed back when I was in grade school. His books were entertaining, informative, and real. Raw to the bone real. I enjoyed watching the film because I was always curious to see what Iceberg Slim looked like and how he came off as a person. I got the impression that he was as genuine as a ex-pimp, ex drug dealer and user could be, and I know from personal experience what drugs and living the fast life can do to a person. Iceberg Slim wrote in a stark and highly descriptive way of the pitfalls and pain that self destruction brings to black folks who choose to go down this pathway of life. He will always be a hero to me and most black people in America. It warmed my heart to see the beautiful and intelligent children that he and his wife brought up. It was plain that he did a good job of being a parent to his daughters. Rest in peace Ice, you did a lot to educate us from your personal experiences.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
One of the best books I have ever read... a life changer for me. I now understand where the pimp/prostitute relationship came from; each playing a role and frequently the role of the prostitute comes out on top, at least in revenge for the horrible treatment she has
received. It is extremely well written and a must read to understand rap culture and life as it was (and still is, I might say) in the earlier 1900's. It is one of those books and people that opened my eyes and I will n
ever forget.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2016
Great to see how iceberg's a life of crime was published, which steered him on a positive corse only to be pimped by the new game he thought of as an honest living.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
I found this just fascinating and definitely a unique American story that needed to be told, and that we needed to hear. Slim's eloquent speech and writing style brings depth and meaning to his personal history and his books. Not the type of content you hear every day of the week, however it is indeed incredibly thought provoking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
It was interesting to see the story of an underground Ernest Hemingway who exuded his life through his writing. This man graduated from high school at 15 years of age with 98 average. Within him lied genius that remained dormant while living a street life. On the flip side it was this life that granted him fodder for very compelling literary works. I loved this. Consequently I am now reading his books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
Who Better than ICE T ? Loved it !!...Ice T is (Glasstop) now that you've done the Docu..You Quincy Jones (Henry), Chris Rock (young Bobby Beck),
Bill Duke ( Director and Sweet Jones) Bishop (Poison), Halle Berry is Pepper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
Very good documentary and very enlightening! I enjoyed watching every minute of the documentary and was even surprised by some of the things I found out in the world of "pimping".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2014
This work is particularly well done and is very interesting to read. It is sincere, but not graphic like some of the other films on pimping. There is no nudity or graphic language that is distasteful...try it if you are interested in this legend...//Chuck
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
A must have DVD!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Excellent. More personal info than I expected. Great story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here