Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$23.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on October 2, 2012
I just finished Mattimore's new book. After 33 years of corporate life working with many management teams in different industries, I was impressed with how universal the concepts are and how simply they are described. I've also worked with many consultants and have, at times, found myself wondering how those who have never been in my specific situation can be expected to help me solve my problems. Mattimore doesn't solve your problem. In fact, he admits that is not his role. What he gives the reader/business manager are the framework and tools to help each leader find creative answers, ideas and approaches within his/her team or work group. Two thumbs up for this well-written, must-read for those interested in bringing creativity and imagination out of their workforce. There's something in here for every leader, manager and motivated employee who wants to add value in their organization.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
This book is for consultants, teachers, or anyone who designs meetings, workshops, or classroom activities specifically for the purpose of getting people thinking, engaged, and active. An assumption: "The challenge is to tap into and channel the power of the collective mind" (p. 4).

Mattimore posits there are 7 creative mind sets: curiosity, openness, embracing ambiguity, finding and transferring principles, searching for integrity, knowingness, and world creating. Mattimore also noted that you can train yourself to foster these creative mind sets by "asking more and different kinds of questions" (p. 17). He then proceeds to list several questions.

Brainstorming, brainwalking, and ideation are discussed with four classes of focused ideation techniques described further in the book:
1) Questioning
2) Metaphorical and Linguistic
3) Visual
4) Wishing, Role Play, Fantasy

Each ideation technique is then illustrated. It's a practical discussion with examples, tips, and lessons learned from his experiences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2012
Bryan Mattimore believes the best solutions and ideas are often the ones that come up after everyone is ready to quit. So do I. This is an important book for those who facilitate sessions to develop actionable ideas to solve problems and generate new strategies. The techniques it describes are powerful. Many of them are unique. As importantly for some less experienced facilitators almost the techniques and group exercises are easy to employ and foolproof.

If that were all the book offered it would be an important read for facilitation professionals. In addition the book provides valuable information on how to plan and structure session to get the last (and frequently best) the group has to offer.

Ten years from now facilitators will still be reading and using this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2014
I read Idea Stormers and loved it.
I've read multiple books on creativity and innovation and Bryan Mattimore's is by far and away the best.

He provided everything necessary to understand the creativity process ;complete with detailed examples to illustrate his recommended techniques.

Since I consult with Wisconsin companies (through my corporation Steininger & Associates; and I will use it as my Bible!

It is truly a great guide for Facilitators.

Dan Steininger, President of BizStarts Milwaukee; Steininger & Associates LLC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
It has become quite popular lately to declare that brainstorming doesn't work. As someone who has been in hundreds of successful brainstorms and ideation sessions I can tell you this is sheer nonsense. Sure, bad brainstorms don't work but good ones, run properly and using the right approach, can work wonders. Next time you are trying to solve a particularly challenging problem in a group setting try any of the techniques that Bryan describes here and I guarantee that you will be very pleased with the results — and will show the naysayers just how wrong they are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
Bryan delivers numerous practical examples of how to inspire creative thinking and importantly, how to translate those ideas into commercial success. "Idea Stormers" is a must read for business leaders who are committed to creating a culture of innovation within their organizations. (He is also a pretty talented songwriter...don't forget to listen the idea stormers soundtrack. Proof that his methods work for any form of creative endeavor).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
The process of unleashing creativity and coming up with great new ideas has always seemed like the kind of thing that, by necessity, must be random and unstructured. I love the way that author Bryan Mattimore shares a wide variety of approaches to facilitating this process, in a way that encourages creativity without putting limits on it. I've already begun using these techniques, and I'm enjoying the results. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
Very practical, I can use it immediately. Fits in very well with the work I am doing in the innovation and design thinking space.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
Wow - what a really amazing piece of work! Who knew there were so many different idea generation tools, tips and techniques out there? We're all familiar with the concept of "brainstorming"...but Bryan Mattimore takes it to the next level by introducing us to numerous other ideation methodologies in his well-written, well-structured, and well-presented book. Unlike so many of the academics out there who write theoretically on the topic of innovation, Mattimore is an experienced real-world practitioner in the art and science of innovation with a long and impressive track record of success working with some of the world's top companies. I was lucky to experience Bryan in action when he facilitated an innovation workshop at the Silver Bay Leadership Forum this summer, so I got to see first-hand that he definitely practices what he preaches. And so I was pleased to find, while reading this book, that his voice, personality, humor, and experience shines through in his writing. Idea Stormers serves as both an informative collection of real-life innovation success stories, and, even more importantly, as a practical and inspirational handbook for going out there and doing it ourselves.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2016
Simple, yet very easy to follow. It worked for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse