Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 13 reviews
on May 12, 2013
This compendium of ideas is valuable for anyone interested in the ideas that shaped the recent past in the world. Some of the ideas have their origins in ancient history, like Judaism and Daoism, and others, like neuroscience, the study of the brain, is a product of only a few decades ago. The author, Dr. Grayling, says that he selected these ideas because of their intrinsic significance. He hopes that this selection, which includes important ideas in science and the natural world as well as ideas in the humanities and cultural studies, will help close the gap between those specialties. Much in science today is incomprehensible to the layman; people need to know how to close the gaps between science and the humanities. Dr. Grayling's Ideas should be on the desk of anyone engaged in such an endeavor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2011
This book is a handy reference tool for anyone who likes to think. It's an alphabetical list of the issues and ideas that are important to the American culture now and in the near future. The author is a specialist in philosophy, but he covers a good many scientific and medical issues. He writes in an easy-to-understand style without "dumbing down" or insulting the reader's intelligence. I'm looking forward to the Kindle version...
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
This comprehensive book on ideas is a must read for anyone interested in the world of ideas and concepts. With his near perfect command of the English language and clear prose style it's a joy to read and be educated. The section on vegitarianism is hilarious and worth the price of admission by itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2013
An absolutely necessary book for anyone who thinks. One may disagree with some conclusions, but the ideas are presented clearly, logically, and rarely show bias. This is probably one of the most engaging and useful books I have read this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
A bit more basic and encyclopedic than I expected. More Wikipedia less Grayling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2016
It was a good read for my class
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
It's a good book. It shapes everything that the 21st century revolves around and how society is viewed by certain people. My grandson enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2011
Great for reviewing and testing your knowledge, or for a high school or freshman history class. Book is a collection of short articles that are articulate and unbiased.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2011
The ideas of the human thinking are rxplained with clear words. An intelligent guide to understand our world in a period of big changements
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
I purchased this book for a class I was taking. Was a very helpful study guide and easy to read and understand.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse