Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 579 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 679 reviews
on April 14, 2015
This book was absolutely, positively, amazing and I would recommend it to anybody that enjoys and good book filled with detail and sentiment. I have yet to read another book that had me on edge as much as this book did. I loved every single part of the book between the graphic details, the riveting war scenes, and the thoughtful remarks made by George Wilson. I am sad that I have finished this book but have gained some valuable insight through Wilson's account of World War II and this a book I will never forget. Thank you, Mr. Wilson for sharing your experiences with us and thank you for you service.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
Interesting perspective from Normandy to Germany. A very good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2014
Normandy, the Breakout, the Huertgen Forest and the Battle of the Bulge were four of the most epic battles in Europe. George Wilson vividly describes his experiences as a young Infantry Platoon Leader and Company Commander. Casualties were high (over 200%) after some battles. As a young leader with what we'd now describe as meager training, he applied the lessons he learned through experience toward accomplishing often impossible missions. Some of the young soldiers put into his charge died so quickly that he never even had a chance to know their names. At one point, his unit was so decimated that he didn't have a single sergeant alive to lead the small teams into yet another seemingly impossible situation.

This story is a reminder of the bravery of the nameless and faceless young men who fought in Europe who endured horrors, privations and indescribable events yet persevered to defeat evil.

If I were to recommend only one book about World War II as seen by a typical soldier, this would be it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2017
If you want to try to experience what it was like on the battlefields of WWII, read this book. It evokes feelings in you that make you never wanting to experience being a soldier. I understand my dad better. Thank God for the USA soldier and their unselfish commitment to that which is good and right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
This is an excellent, easy-to-read book of the author's experiences after Normandy. It's a relatively fast read and won't tell much new information about the war in general, but you will get plenty of detail about how the GI's felt about various German weapons, how they fought, and in general how they coped with unimaginably difficult combat conditions - all by a guy who spent way longer at the front lines than most, or even than he was supposed to have spent.

The author isn't arrogant or boastful - this is a collection of his experiences, which he tells in a straight-forward and engaging way. He's also incredibly thoughtful of the men under his command. I've read other books by officers, but never one that got into the human factors or leadership techniques like George Wilson has done here.

Highly recommended - in fact, I'll probably re-read it myself sometime soon, and I don't do that too often.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
This as well as others were giving as gifts to my husband....by his wife. :)
they are what he wanted. Having started reading this one, he gives it the 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2016
Wonderful read by an intelligent hero of the War who managed to survive. Clear depictions without trumped up exaggerations or fluff brought a really good sense of what these soldiers endured. And of the lack of recognition given by arbitrary officers to those beneath them. After all the war time a promotion to Captain could not be given to this great soldier.
I meant to use this as a second book to go back to but found I couldn't put it down.

Walter
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
Word by word, this is a man's story of survival, death and instinct to live another minute, live another day. How our brave solders walked right into the killing zone. If you want to know what it is like to relive the past moments that our brave solders went through, you have got to read this book and the many others. There are many other stories that never got written because of just one wrong step through a German laid mine field. Are you lucky to live through hell? Guts and bravery and somehow it was not your time to die. What helped these men conquer an enemy so hated in the world, their determination to end barbarism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2017
I got as a gift to my dad, he said it was an awesome read and enjoyed it very much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2014
I appreciate reading stories about the war from the people who were actually there, and this book was completely about that. It was told in a narrative that a bit slow, but since it was from someone who was there, it really didn't matter. This book should be required reading for history classes - just like other narrative books of actual soldiers from the war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse