Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 30 reviews
on September 30, 2015
Interesting as far as his childhood and high school years...then gets bogged down, tedious, and doesn't clearly identify the years as far as what is happening when. Not written in a clear, chronological order once Jim is past The Stooges. Some good photos of a young Jim.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
Great insight into Iggy and the Stooges, Iggy and Lou Reed around the Max KC times and of course Iggy and Bowie. A lot of insight also into Jim Osterberg, the "regular guy" from Michigan who became Iggy Pop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
The first half of the book dealing with Iggy's early days and the formation of the Stooges up until their eventual demise was very captivating. The second half ,dealing more with Iggy's association with David Bowie and his solo recordings, is not quite as interesting (to me at least) but overall its a great book for fans of Iggy and The Stooges. Includes some great photos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2007
Rob Trynka has done a great job gathering the details of Iggy's life, including a few "lost" eras when Iggy dropped out of the public eye. The author presents a very readable account that rings true in a way that many rock biographies don't. Even though he interviewed Iggy extensively, he also interviewed seemingly every living musician who's worked with Iggy (with the notable exception of David Bowie, who would not participate). He also interviewed many of Iggy's childhood friends and acquaintances and other musicians from the late-60s Michigan scene. And in recounting a lot of Iggy's self-mythologizing, and a lot of the classic Stooges tales, Trynka will often conclude that the recollections of another witness are more plausible than Iggy's version. That's something you usually won't get in a rock biography whose writer has the access that Trynka had. There are behind-the-scenes recollections from the participants of just about all of Iggy's albums, Stooges and solo. And the author even makes a strong case for the origin of the term "punk" in describing music--citing Lenny Kaye's original review of the first Stooges album, which he called the music of punks cruising for burgers. I'd always wondered where the first reference to "punk rock" appeared.

Beyond the 320-page biography, there's an appendix that lists Iggy's albums in chronological order, with original release and label information and info on the musicians. And as hard as it is to get excited about footnotes, they really stand out in this book. Each chapter's notes are like an add-on chapter, where the author provides supporting quotes, and often gives a longer version of a short quote from the narrative.

Maybe best of all are the two sections of photos. You can flip through the photos and captions and get a good preview of the full narrative, with great photos from the Stooge and solo eras. But if you read in public (as I did, on the subway) you might want to watch out for the full-nude shot.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
A must for any fan of Iggy Pop.

Very informative and indepth review of Iggy Pops' career and life to this point.

On the whole, I think it is a pretty balanced portrait. He doesn't gloss over the negative aspects of Iggy Pop's life nor over emphasise the positive.

I wanted to read more.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
OK Im Listening to a hard show in Barcelona 1981(years that Iggy gets trashed (physically/critically)in this book.WOW IGGY influencened me from a young age-I 1st scene him live at the Palladium in 1977 I was an impressionable 10 year old who the prior year my parents took my to my 1st rock concert (KISS)lol-My young mind remembers for all the"show"kiss" had -Iggy&THAT BAND did SO MUCH MORE W?/TALENT,& THAT Devil/Zues of a man-even though I seen him a # of x's met him a couple -esp. when we both lived near each other on the lower east side-ahhh the mudd,save the robots,pyramid,the World.Sorry-This book took a slightly cynic reader I though this was going to be so much that I thought I knew-BUT LIFE IS WONDERFUL when you are suprised and humbled by exceptional work.Mr.Trynka-spent over 10 years carefully reasearching &as hard as he could objectfully wrote Iggy/Jims carrer so Far!!1st I actually am so gratefull that Iggy and the Stooges are still here(most of) to entertain,enlighted,educate,and remind us that its ok not to follow to get ordinary &its ok to suufer for something better.Iam still rereading this book for the 24th time it is that Great,That entertaining,More messages I reveal from it -Well needless to say Even if you do not like Iggy or Rock or proto industrial,or are mental stable -It Behooves you to read this book.I humbly thank Mr.Trynka for writing &doing the dillingence it took to properly write this...PS.Since I also Love selvedge Denim-Paul Trynka has written a seemingly definitive book on Denim that I look foward to getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
Fabulous book and had to put down. I cried at the end, it was written to beautifully.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
Thank you for this book.Read it and then bleed out.its a page burner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
Great book to know everything about iggy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
Generally a good read. Slowed down a little at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse