Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on August 17, 2013
I actually purchased three (3) titles by Gregg E. Brickman as part of the book selections for my Mother for Christmas 2012 as each of us gives each other new 'picks'/selections as part of our annual holiday gift traditions. I discovered via reading on the Internet that the author was a retired nurse turned mystery author. As my Mother and I are both voracious readers, and my Mother is also a retired nurse, the titles seemed a 'perfect discovery'. Mother read the titles first and now it was my turn. We both enjoyed the book and would recommend the title to others. One must remember that this is a fairly 'new' author and there is 'evidence'. For example, as a former editor, it is always a bit discouraging to me and more importantly distracting to find copy editing errors throughout the book. Another set of eyes should have read the proof before publication but otherwise I think it was a good kickoff. I'm off to read the author's next title, "The Imperfect Contract" which begins Series #1: A Sophia Burgess and Ray Stone Mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
I admit, I am a lawyer, though I do not do medical malpractice. (One of my favorite professors in law school did, though.) As a personal complaint about the book, I had a rough time relating the unethical lawyers (and they are horrible) to the professor I took for Professional Responsibility. But that is not the basis for my low review.

There were too many characters. The primary characters were easy to keep track of, but so many doctors appeared in the book that I felt like I needed a score card.

The killer was obvious from the start. Even before the author started dropping clear hints, I knew who it would be, and why.

The reason the police gave to focus on one doctor did not make a lot of sense. Yes, he had motive, but so did a lot of others. As for opportunity, it seemed like the officers were really stretching it to make it seem justified. Instead, it just made them seem lazy, that they did not want to do their jobs and actually investigate the murders.

On the good side, the story was entertaining and the writing style very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2011
A fascinating medical mystery set in a growing South Florida community which is experiencing an epidemic of sudden death among its lawyers. Their one common characteristic is their ability to exact multi-million dollar judgements against Sawgrass Medical Center for medical malpractice. Protagonist Tony Conte, ex-Army Ranger medic and nurse manager of the Center's emergency department, has to deal with these cases as they are rolled in as cyanide poisoning, heart attacks, food poisoning and cocaine overdose. But he also has to deal with Det. Howard Epstein, who is very much in need of medical education, and Epstein's partner, Alfonzo, who has all the wrong instincts and follows leads that seem to implicate Tony. The motive is that Tony, himself, is about to be sued for malpractice by a law firm that has experienced two sudden deaths. Written by a nurse-educator, this story is rich in authentic medical detail. While detective Alfonzo is slipping the noose around his neck, Tony starts his own quiet investigation of which doctors at Sawgrass Medical Center were sued by which law firms, and how they felt about it. Action builds to an amazing crescendo, making the book hard to put down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2010
Doctors being sued for malpractice and lawyers being killed in the courthouse makes this a fun read. Plenty of murders, but different methods keep the detectives guessing. Tony Conte is a likable protagonist with a nicely mysterious past that provides him with skills that prove helpful to resolving the crimes. Tony is also a refreshing character that runs contrary to stereotypes of the nursing profession and male nurses in particular. The details of hospital life are well done yet nothing here will drive away the squeamish reader. A nice puzzler.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2012
Tony Conte is a strong character who carries a heavy load - a sick wife, a busy Emergency room and now the threat of murder hanging over a person whom he respects. A friendship with the homicide detective does not help his friend, so he sets out to do some self investigation to try and discover who the real culprit is.

Although this is yet another murder story where the police seem to be half a step behind the main character, this is a well written story, especially on the medical side. Medical aspects are explained in such a way that even if you have no medical knowledge at all you can follow along.

There were a couple of missteps in grammar/spelling - it is aisle, not isle, and there are a couple of 'a' instead of 'an' but overall this is an excellent book. I would like to see a return of Tony Conte and his family - hopefully there will be a sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2010
A compelling mystery with a sympathetic protagonist and believable settings - just what this reader seeks. I found it in this tale. Between malpractice suits, suspiciously-deceased attorneys, and concern about his wife and her illness, Tony Conte has his hands full. He barely has time or concentration for his nursing career. Yet, he's able to assist the police, who are in real need of his help. Gregg Brickman enhances the reader's enjoyment with realistic scenes in the hospital. All in all, a gripping, enjoyable, and satisfying read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2011
This is a book with heart and excitement. I loved the combination of the law and medicine. The protaganist is very much what I expect from a male nurse having worked with many during my 40 year nursing career. This book is hard to put down. The author well researched the medical information. A great read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2010
A trip to the hospital may not be number one on your list, but this trip is leads into the middle of a mystery. Malpractice lawyers are dying, murder the M.E. says. The police are baffled, but, fortunately, have Tony Conte to assist them. Tony juggles his nursing duties at the hospital and the serious illness of his wife while tracking down the necessary clues to uncover the villain. The mystery will keep you guessing, but you'll find the solution totally logical. Stories like this with prices this low are what make the Kindle such a great investment. A story worth reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
It was hard to get into this book. I rarely don't finish books, but this one just failed to grab my attention.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
This story has twists and turns to keep you interested til the end. While still leaving you with a sense of "who did it?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse