Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
19
5 star
95%
4 star
5%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$37.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(5 star, Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on January 23, 2015
Beautiful book about a most amazing calligraphy project, the rewriting of the Bible by hand and with pictures.

I recently saw the display at the Masonic Museum in New Haven of this book. It is breath taking. The artistry and devotion were inspiring. This took years of painstaking work by scores of calligraphers and artist under the guidance of Christopher Calderhead.

It is an ode to faith, art, discipline and dedication to the Holy. Inspiring!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
This book presents a wonderful overview of the creative processes involved in bringing the "St. John's Bible" into being. This enormous undertaking was even more complex than I imagined. The book explains how some of the illuminations were imagined, and then painted. Also, how varying calligraphic writing styles were chosen. Much collaboration went into the decision-making.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
Illuminating the Word is beyond description for its beauty and transcendent text and illustrations. The
images are of the highest quality, and anyone who has actually seen the traveling exhibit of these illustrations
will find the book fabulous. Anyone who has not seen the traveling exhibit will find the book breathtaking, as
well. A must for anyone who is interested in the Bible, either historically, artistically, or for spiritual
inspiration. Bess Kuzma
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Much better than I ever expected. Lowest price, fastest delivery. Great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2016
Wonderfully packaged, absolutely beautiful...a real work of art and history. A beautiful family keepsake! Wishing you blessings of joy and peace!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2010
I finally bought my own copy of this book after keeping a friend's copy for a shamelessly long time. Everytime I would pull it out to return it, something new would catch my eye and I would get sucked back in to sit down and read and I'd think, "I'll just keep it for a few more days and read this other part." A fascinating book with all the back story on a wonderful and fascinating project.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
I have shared this book with a number of people and they have all been fascinated by the images from the Bible and the background information. I keep going back to it over and over as it is rich in content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2007
I bought this book expecting to find at least general interesting facts and maybe an inside look at the illustrations in case that I never get to see the real thing and was surprised by the well told and interesting story behind the project, the author creates an atmosphere of closeness and inside access to something very important and treasured.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
Enjoyed the book, a good find.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
Very beautiful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse