Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $7.00 (39%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
I'm Here by [Peter H. Reynolds]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


I'm Here Kindle Edition

4.8 out of 5 stars 68 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

BitsBox Coding Subscription Box for Kids BitsBox Coding Subscription Box for Kids

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

I'm Here
Peter H. Reynolds. S&S/Atheneum, $15.99 (32p) ISBN 978-1-4169-9649-1

In the vein of The Dot and Ish, Reynolds offers another characteristically gentle and empathetic small-format book, written from the perspective of a boy who watches, from a distance, as other children play: "They are there. I am here." Their voices are "Splashes upon splashes of sound" that he hears "like one big noise. A big drum. Boom. Boom." When a sheet of paper floats down from the sky ("White rectangle. How did you find me?"), the boy folds it into an airplane. His imagination sends him soaring in a paper airplane ride before the narrative returns to reality, and the plane is retrieved by a girl who returns it to him: " ‘I'm here,' says the girl's smile." Though back matter explains that the book was written "to help us all reach out, embrace, and appreciate children in the autism spectrum," the pared-down prose and artwork, painted in Reynolds's typical loose style, are open to multiple interpretations and may facilitate conversations about reaching out to others who are different--and alone--for many reasons.
--Publishers Weekly, June 13, 2011

I'M HERE
Peter H. Reynolds. S&S/Atheneum, $15.99 (32p) ISBN 978-1-4169-9649-1

Eloquent, fanciful text and illustrations that sparkle with clarity combine to perfectly portray a solitary boy’s flight of imagination.

Alone in the schoolyard, the young protagonist sits apart from the others, but he is quite present. “I am here,” he says. Happy to examine the details of the world around him, he is fine—until a piece of paper falls right into his lap, ready to be transformed. He folds the paper into an airplane, which then flies higher and higher, bringing him on a journey above the playground, clouds and sky, then back down to be caught by his schoolmates. The repeated refrain, “I am here,” reinforces the boy’s sense of himself in the world, even though he is alone, and his unique point of view is both distinct and easy to understand. Clean, appealing illustrations are distilled to their essential elements, focusing purely on the boy and allowing viewers to add their own details. In the end, the airplane sails to someone else—perhaps a new friend—who kindly returns it to the boy. This was written with autistic children in mind but encompasses a wider subject; any child who is isolated, introverted or simply self-contained will find something of him- or herself to recognize and appreciate here.
Overall, an excellent selection, replete with warmth, originality and the promise of good things to come.
--Kirkus Reviews, July 15, 2011, *STAR


Peter H. Reynolds quietly explores the feelings of a little boy who is on the outside of the social group in I’m Here. The explanatory information on the jacket explains that he wrote the book “to help us all reach out, embrace, and appreciate children in the autism spectrum, as well as anyone who is different from ourselves.” Young children will be drawn into the world of the playground, where the little boy hears the chatter as one big noise. “They are there. I am here.” All alone, with just the breeze, a piece of paper and eventually one new friend, the little boy narrates his story with few words and an unspoken, overwhelming desire for friendship. Teachers and parents who want to help their children understand the perspective of a child with autism will find this book both moving and useful. The slow pace and blessed lack of bullies and mocking that often are included in books about social adjustment will help all children—and their parents—think of ways to embrace those children who might be on the outside looking in. They are here and they want to be friends.
BookPage, August 2011

"Eloquent, fanciful text and illustrations that sparkle with clarity ... any child who is isolated, introverted or simply self-contained will find something of him- or herself to recognize and appreciate here ... an excellent selection, replete with warmth, originality and the promise of good things to come."

--Kirkus Reviews, July 15, 2001, *STAR


I'm Here.

Reynolds, Peter (Author) , Reynolds, Peter (Illustrator)

Aug 2011. 32 p. Atheneum, hardcover, $15.99. (9781416996491).

A young boy watches as a group of multiethnic children play in the schoolyard, but to him, the activity
sounds like one big crash of noise. They are there, and he is “here” in his own world, where a sailing piece of paper becomes a paper airplane that can be shot into the clouds with him riding it. In the sky, alone, the boy feels what he doesn’t on earth—that he is a part of things. But then, he lands and his paper airplane is brought to him by a girl. She acknowledges him, and her smile says, “I’m here,” as well. Written and illustrated by Reynolds to help children understand those on the autism spectrum, or others who may seem different to their peers, this book, with its seemingly small story, captures a slew of feelings, emotions, and reactions: isolation, harmony, friendship, and hope. Watercolors outlined in ink are set against expanses of white pages and seem alternately fragile and brimming with strength. Parents and teachers will find many ways to use this book. Let the conversations soar.

--BOOKLIST, September 15, 2011

REYNOLDS, Peter. I’m Here.
Created as a companion to a film of the same name, this quiet wisp of a story poignantly portrays the loneliness and social challenges experienced by a boy on the autistic spectrum. The pen-and-ink and watercolor cartoon illustrations, combined with ample white space and varied font sizes, render a warm, light touch to what could be a heavy subject. Pictured sitting alone on a busy, noisy playground, the boy describes how the cacophony created by the other children drives him to sit apart: “They are there. I am here.” When a gentle breeze wafts a rectangle of paper into his lap, he painstakingly folds it into a paper airplane. In his imagination, the plane flies him off blissfully into the sky, then swoops down nearly to the ground only to be launched into space again by the playground kids. In reality, a girl finds the paper airplane when it floats to the ground and returns it to the boy, her smile and selfless action bridging the gap between them. The utility of this book for young children, whether or not they are on the autistic spectrum, will be greatly enhanced with adult facilitation. Best for collections needing very simple materials to start conversations about human differences.
SLJ, October 2011

About the Author

Peter H. Reynolds is the bestselling author and illustrator of I’m Here, The Dot, and Ish; and illustrator for the #1 New York Times bestseller Someday by Alison McGhee. He is also the illustrator of Going Places, Little Boy, Charlie and Kiwi, and the Judy Moody series. He lives in Dedham, Massachusetts, where he is co-owner of the Blue Bunny bookstore. Visit Peter at PeterHReynolds.com.

Product details

  • Publication date : August 14, 2012
  • File size : 1012 KB
  • Print length : 32 pages
  • Publisher : Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Illustrated edition (August 14, 2012)
  • Word Wise : Not Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • ASIN : B00850L2FO
  • X-Ray : Not Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Not Enabled
  • Text-to-Speech : Not enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 68 ratings

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
68 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 23, 2015
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 26, 2011
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 19, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on June 27, 2014
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 4, 2015
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 9, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on August 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on February 3, 2016
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

MRS. G. Hugman
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Peter Reynolds book...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars good resource for growth mindset
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 20, 2016
Verified Purchase
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Creative Thinking
Reviewed in Canada on November 13, 2016
Verified Purchase