<Embed>
List Price: $25.00
Save: $8.52 (34%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Thursday, Oct 1
Fastest delivery: Friday, Sep 25 Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: The cover has visible markings and wear. The dust jacket shows normal wear and tear. The pages show normal wear and tear. Codes or product keys that accompany this product may not be valid. Fast Shipping in a Standard Poly Mailer!

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$22.50
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
Add to Cart
$24.04
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Book Depository US
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


I'm Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness Hardcover – May 15, 2018

4.8 out of 5 stars 2,969 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$16.48
$13.48 $11.66
Great on Kindle
Great Experience. Great Value.
iphone with kindle app
Putting our best book forward
Each Great on Kindle book offers a great reading experience, at a better value than print to keep your wallet happy.

Explore your book, then jump right back to where you left off with Page Flip.

View high quality images that let you zoom in to take a closer look.

Enjoy features only possible in digital – start reading right away, carry your library with you, adjust the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

Discover additional details about the events, people, and places in your book, with Wikipedia integration.

Ask Alexa to read your book with Audible integration or text-to-speech.

Get the free Kindle app: Link to the kindle app page Link to the kindle app page
Enjoy a great reading experience when you buy the Kindle edition of this book. Learn more about Great on Kindle, available in select categories.

Amazon First Reads | Editors' picks at exclusive prices
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • I'm Still Here: Black Dignity in a World Made for Whiteness
  • +
  • White Fragility: Why It's So Hard for White People to Talk About Racism
  • +
  • How to Be an Antiracist
Total price: $42.28
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions


From the Publisher

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

This incisive memoir takes a penetrating look at race and the Christian faith while providing tools on how to cope with microaggressions and blatant racism. Brown perfectly and succinctly describes the corrosive weight of white supremacy embedded within American institutions, which African Americans and other people of color endure on a daily basis in schools, professional spaces, and places of worship. Brown's experiences and lifelong exploration of racial understanding and reconciliation offer a modern take on the double consciousness first written about by W.E.B. DuBois. From her days in elementary school, often as the only person of color in the room, to speaking on the national stage, Brown's lessons not only give allies the tools to do better but also provide advice for peers and up-and-comings on navigating hostile workplaces, lecture halls, and hearts and minds. This book is laced with gems that make it necessary reading for everyone, regardless of belief or identity. VERDICT Fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Reni Eddo-Lodge's Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race will find this candid debut edifying and essential.—Christina Vortia, Hype Lit, Land O'Lakes, FL

Review

“Powerful . . . Brown calls on readers to live their professed ideals rather than simply state them.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Takes readers on a journey through the racial divide in a way we've truly never seen before. Powerful, haunting, and absolutely impossible to put down, [Brown's] account of what it's like to grow up black, middle-class, and female in modern America is not to be missed.”PopSugar

“A deeply personal celebration of blackness that simultaneously sheds new light on racial injustice and inequality while offering hope for a better future.”Shondaland

“Moves the race conversation forward . . . Brown offers a powerful perspective on race with her first-hand account.”—WNYC

“I read Austin Channing Brown’s incredible book in one sitting. This is one that every black woman needs to read to be validated and every white person needs to read to receive some perspective . . . Brown has concisely articulated the burdens, questions, and frustrations that I find myself experiencing daily as a black woman.”Sojourners

“What a stunning debut from a seasoned racial justice leader. Austin does double duty by fiercely affirming blackness while simultaneously unveiling and demystifying the subtle effects of white supremacy among Christians. I trust Austin, I listen to Austin and I learn from Austin. I hope you will too.”—Christena Cleveland, professor at Duke University and author of Disunity in Christ
 
“Austin Channing Brown introduces herself as a master memoirist, delivering a manifesto on racism in America that will live on shelves besides Ta-Nehisi Coates and Michelle Alexander. This book will break open hearts and minds. It’s an example of how one woman can change the world by telling the truth about her life with unflinching, relentless courage.”—Glennon Doyle, bestselling author of Love Warrior and Carry On, Warrior, and president of Together Rising 
 
“I have laughed, I have held back tears, I have reflected with joy, hope, and hurt while reading. Austin captures perfectly the sentiment of many black people in America. She’s not only telling her story, she’s telling our story. Austin is a gift to the body and the culture.”—Lecrae, Grammy award-winning artist and bestselling author of Unashamed
 
“Austin is one of my most important teachers. I’m Still Here is devastating, beautiful, and haunting and it leaves no room for a tepid reaction. Her crystal clear voice will move you, push you, and break your heart. Prophetic and tender, I plan to put this book in every pair of hands I know and join her in the dismantling of white supremacy. She’s still here and I’m with her.”—Jen Hatmaker, New York Times bestselling author of Of Mess and Moxie and For the Love

“The movement toward diversity and forgiveness, [Brown] points out, too often involves white people seeking credit for recognizing the crimes of the past even as they do nothing to fix things today, and black people being required to provide endless absolution and information while calmly enduring dignity-eroding and rage-inducing injustices.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Brown passionately rejects facile reliance on ‘hope,’ stating that ‘in order for me to stay in this work, hope must die’ and ‘the death of hope gives way to a sadness that heals, to anger that inspires, to a wisdom that empowers me.’ An eloquent argument for meaningful reconciliation focused on racial injustice rather than white feelings.”Booklist

Product details

  • Item Weight : 9.9 ounces
  • Hardcover : 192 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1524760854
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1524760854
  • Product Dimensions : 5.26 x 0.8 x 7.77 inches
  • Publisher : Convergent Books; 1st Edition (May 15, 2018)
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 2,969 ratings
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: first reconciliation gifts