Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $13.01 (50%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Immortalists by [Benjamin, Chloe]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Immortalists Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 105 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.47 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

New Year New You Save and Read on Kindle
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of January 2018: The Immortalists doesn’t seem like a second novel: it has all the unexpected brilliance of a debut hit, combined with the assured style and long-sighted wisdom you’d expect from an older, more experienced writer. But author Chloe Benjamin is – astonishingly -- only 28 years old, and her ambitious and deeply moving novel sets a high standard for realistic fiction in 2018 – and it’s only January. Benjamin tells the story of four teenage siblings who, on a lark, ask a fortuneteller to reveal the dates of their deaths. Whether that fortuneteller is a con artist or is genuinely gifted with second sight doesn’t interest Benjamin so much as how one piece of possibly spurious information conspires with character and circumstance to warp the siblings’ choices as they grow into adulthood. Along the way, Benjamin poses intriguing questions about the value of longevity and whether we are victims, or perpetrators, of our own fates. Though Benjamin is wary of magical thinking, her omniscient writing casts a masterful spell that will leave you eager to see what her third novel will bring. --Sarah Harrison Smith, Amazon Book Review

Review

#1 Indie Next Pick
#1 LibraryReads Pick
Amazon's January Spotlight Pick

One of...

Entertainment Weekly’s “Must-read Books for 2018”
Elle’s “19 of the Best Books to Read This Winter”
Harper's Bazaar’s “10 New Books to Add to Your Reading List in 2018”
Southern Living's "Books Coming Out This Winter That We Can’t Wait to Read"
Martha Stewart Living, "On Our Bookshelf"
Huffington Post's "60 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018"
Popsugar’s “25 Must-Read Books for Fall”
B&N Reads' "Best Books of January"
Bustle's "35 Most-Anticipated Fiction Books of 2018"
Nylon's "50 Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2018"
Goop's "12 Books for Winter Break"
BookPage's "Most Anticipated Ficttion of 201"
Book Riot's "101 Books Coming Out in 2018 That You Should Mark Down Now"
Elite Daily's "2018 Book Releases That'll Make Reading More Your New Year's Resolution"
HelloGiggles' "Most Anticipated Books of 2018"
PureWow's "20 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018"


Well-crafted...This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People (Book of the Week)

“Search no further for your inaugural 2018 book club pick.”—Elle
 
“Thrilling.”—Marie Claire

“Compelling.”—InStyle 

“A moving novel about the deep bonds of family.”—Southern Living

“Beautifully written and intricately detailed, it's impossible to put down and sure to be one of those books you've got to re-read again and again.”—Popsugar 

"Intriguing premise...Beautifully written story.”—AARP

"“If you’ve ever had an existential thought in your life, you’ll see yourself in every sibling—in their gut-wrenchingly human existence—and be reminded that life is by turns complicated, fun, disastrous, painful, and out of our control.”—Goop

“An imaginative and satisfying family saga...A cleverly structured novel steeped in Jewish lore and the history of four decades of American life. The four Gold siblings are wonderful creations, and in Benjamin’s expert hands their story becomes a moving meditation on fate, faith, and the family ties that alternately hurt and heal.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Bewitching and provocative...Benjamin has created mesmerizing characters and richly suspenseful predicaments in this profound and glimmering novel of death’s ever-shocking inevitability and life’s wondrously persistent whirl of chance and destiny.”—Booklist (starred review)

“The narratives [Benjamin] offers are intriguingly intertwined and beautifully rendered....Thought-provoking and entertaining.”—Library Journal (starred review)

"The book world has been abuzz about Chloe Benjamin's The Immortalists for months, and with good reason."—Bookish

"Readers are in for a surprise with this lush, sprawling novel."—Brava Magazine

“Chloe Benjamin’s The Immortalists is the very best kind of literary thriller, its suspense deriving from characters we care about deeply and surprises that feel embedded in our shared humanity. As profound a meditation on destiny as readers are likely to encounter.”—Richard Russo

“For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is.‎”—Karen Joy Fowler

“A beautiful, compassionate, and even joyful novel. Chloe Benjamin has written an inspiring book that makes you think hard about what you want to do with the time you’re given. This is not really a book about dyingit's a book about how to live.”—Nathan Hill, author of The Nix

“A literary tour de force...Benjamin subtly but trenchantly examines issues of mortality and immortality, destiny and self-determination, magic and science, the past and the future, and the trials and joys of our fleeting but precious existences. A beautifully written page-turner, unpredictable and unforgettable, The Immortalists is ultimately a thoughtful and tender look at how we live our lives in our fraught and perilous times.”—Judith Claire Mitchell, author of A Reunion of Ghosts

Product details

  • File Size: 1891 KB
  • Print Length: 352 pages
  • Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (January 9, 2018)
  • Publication Date: January 9, 2018
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B071D3D2ZX
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #164 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

September 2, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 123 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
August 31, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 24, 2017
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Immortalists
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Immortalists