Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Garnet Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on January 11, 2018
This is a very interesting book. At first I thought it was a bit dry, but the more I read the more I wanted to learn about what life was like for this American family at the beginning of Hitler's reign. If you're interested in history, I would really recommend this. It's well written and historically factual.

If you found this review helpful, please click yes to let me know :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2017
Fascinating look at the lives of Ambassador William Dodd and his daughter Martha, both late in understanding the magnitude of Hitler's plans for Europe.
Though flawed, Dodd was a good man, who tried to do the right thing.
The book effectively captures the daily life in Berlin as the Nazis rose to power. A great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2017
The fascinating and troubling story of Germany in the 1930s seen through the eyes of American Ambassador Dodd and his family.The book reads like a novel as Mr. Larson breaths life into the characters from one of the darkest times in modern European history there is much to be learned from this book, I can't recommend it enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2015
A very interesting story of the rise of Nazi Germany as told through the experiences of the U. S. ambassador and his daughter. Dodd was an unlikely choice although he was a professor at the University of Chicago and certainly had the intelligence for the job he was not interested in the social requirements and bristled at the high style of living of the diplomatic corps in 1930's Berlin. He even had his old Chevrolet shipped there. His daughter, Martha, on the other hand, loved the social life and was even attracted, for a time, to several men in the Nazi hierarchy. She was quite the flirt. It still amazes me that a lot of people of that time either didn't see or chose to ignore what was going on. This family that was right in the middle of it took some time realizing the horror that they were living in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 12, 2017
Great personal, first hand account based on diaries and the personal papers of William Dodd who was appointed by Roosevelt to the ambassadorship of Berlin during the rise of Hitler and his Nazi party. This book served to motivate me to pursue more history related to the rise and fall of the third reich. This is a great read, but will leave you wanting for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2017
I was in Berlin when the wall was built in August of '61 and traveled to Berlin in December '89 when it was safe and the watch the wall come down and checkpoint Charlie removed ,I have walked all the streets in Berlin many many times which were referred to by the author so I had a firm grip of the avenues but the slow step by step of evil and dictatorship had never quite enter my psyche until I read the thorough deveopent apparent in Berlin but not reported to the world . How Nazi's grew and flojidhed but their hate and plans were totally denied by the press. The result was WWII and the seeds were sldeady plant in bright sunshine o
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 13, 2017
It is always impressive to read Larson's writing for he writes exquisitely researched historical novels. The rise of Nazi Germany is a fascinating subject and this book particularly interesting as he was able to give the viewpoint of an American family along with a host of viewpoints within the American State Department to this rise. The inevitable conclusion as Europe and America hurtled to war is sad but from this viewpoint unsurprising.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2016
It was interesting but not compelling. It felt very much like a documentary and other than feeling disgust about the daughter's behavior I didn't feel for any of the characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2016
Really liked the book since it brought out so much I never knew went on in early Nazi Germany and how the US maintained an isolationist posture during the early 1930's as we did prior to WWI and how it bit us on the butt each time. Also confirms that FR DR was 1st and foremost a politician who let survey's and public opinion steer all of his actions or inactions and how he ignored/dismissed players like Churchill, MacArthur and his ambassador to Germany in the 30's each who had a clearer view of what was going on than FDR.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2016
Larson's build the story expertly from you might think is just ignorance on the part of American diplomats, Pres Roosevelt, etc until you come to the ugly realization the Yanks know quite well what is happening in Nazi Germany, but prefer to ignore it and let the cards fall where they may. It is one wave lapping over the next wave and when they hit the shore it is catastrophe for the entire world. What many don't realize about WWII, as said by late dear friend, Simon Wiesenthal, though the Jewish people were the thrust of the Hitler's insanity many more Christians perished under Nazi genocide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here