Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning powers4premiere powers4premiere powers4premiere  Doppler $139.99 All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis dm3 Shop Now toystl17_gno_dm3



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 43 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 146 reviews
on December 24, 2013
I love this movie because it shows what it is like for a Man to be in love with a woman who is simply not ready to be in love because she is too young and too inexperienced to be ready for a mature relationship with one man for the rest of her life. It is about a young fellow being put in charge of men twice his age at a company and realizing that he is not as knowledgeable and ready to lead as the men he leads who are twice his age. It is about falling in love when you are very young but not ready for it and about leading men in their careers during a time of crisis in their corporate lives and how they have to deal with it. It is a really wonderful film about life and maturity and how you deal with crises in your love life and your professional life. It is one of my favorite films ever. I like it so much that when I making sure I had this copy on DVD, I actually BOUGHT it Twice! It is FUNNY and VERY Touching and Moving All at the same time. I Love, Love, Love it! One of my favorite movies of ALL Time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
This is a little gem here, with big star names, but it feels more like a quiet underrated indie film to me than a big box cinema film. What surprised me about this film was how it went a bit deeper than I'd thought it would into issues that, given its content, might have been glossed over in another. It's the kind of movie that reminds you to be who you are, not what people expect you to be. Give this one a try, it's worth spending an evening with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
A good show, but not very realistic in today's world. Today the young and inexperienced replace the older experienced worker and run the company into the ground! Then they move on to do the same thing again to another company, while the older experienced worker gets nothing, not even a decent retirement, if they even get a retirement at all! The trend is that companies fire old timers with years experience just so they won't have to pay them a retirement at all, this is your A typical CEO thinking today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2005
This is a wonderful and heart warming film that defies all modern conventions. It is not a complex film. It is not cynical. It is not maudlin. It has a well crafted story which is complimented by expert film making and some truly great acting. Once in a while the scenes in the office environment ring a bit hollow, especially the forced young versus old plot thread that permeates those moments. But outside of the office this film truely shines. Don't get me wrong, the office scenes are fine but they really do pale when compared to the scenes that show Topher Grace's character to be so alone even though he has everything a young professional could ask for. Dennis Quaid turns in a bravura performance as the older of the two colleagues a man concerned that his family is growing up and away too quickly and that the work world he once controlled so adeptly has been snatched away from him by a corporate takeover that brings in a squad of shallow cold blooded young turks. I believe that this film will be remembered as the launching board for Grace's career and a shot of adreniline for Quaid's. In that sense it mirrors the plot of the film and the fact that a rising young star does not always outshine the steady glow of the mature and experienced professional. But quite often it helps to illuminate the qualities of the previous generation that time has conspired to overlook. This is a highly recommended American film, one which will stand up to repeated viewings as the years go by.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Never could get sound and lip-syncing to match and too distracting to watch. Could not find any way to contact Amazon. Will go back to Red Box or Direct for movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
Good movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2011
This is a pretty good movie about a middle aged (50+) man, Dan Carter who is facing many life transitions at this time in his life... who never chnages how he does things or, totally loses control of his family life and rolls with the changes. Until his company is bought out and he has to deak with an ego driven younger manager that is still trying to find his way. There sre many interesting facets of this movie that make it a gem and one that you have to watch more than once. Personally, this was not that bad of a movie and many people should watch it as soon as its available to them. I highly recommend it to all. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
What I really got from this movie was that one need only believe in oneself and the work one does as Dan did in the movie and all would go well in the the end. It felt good to think in this 'old fashioned' way in a world seemingly shaken everyday by mergers, corporate takeovers and company downsizings where no one knows his place anymore. Faith in oneself and what one stands for is probably the only rock one can stand on in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dennis Quaid plays a 51-year-old father of two daughters and head of a sales division for a sporting magazine. After a buyout, he is demoted and has a new boss, a 26-year-old coffee-drinking yuppie full of corporate speak and blind ambition who falls in love with Quaid's gorgeous daughter. The father's self-worth is tested savagely in this comic film which, exploring the absurdity and brutality of the corporate world, actually has a moral message about integrity and being true to yourself. It's rare that a comedy is both funny and packed with moral meaning as it attempts to find redemption for the father and his new boss. For a darker look at corporate life with no redemption for the characters, check out the bleak and nihilistic In the Company of Men by Neil LeBute.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2016
Unbelievable plot. A few characters were cliche and over the top but the big named actors were great with what they had to work with.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse