Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: In Honored Glory: Arlington National Cemetery: The Final Post
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
5 star
83%
4 star
17%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 25, 2014
This book is excellent background material for anyone needing to know more about Arlington Cemetery. It provides a wonderful history about the cemetery and its long standing traditions and operations. I recommend this book for tour guides.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
This book is a must read today. These men are the best this grand country has produced. As a counterpoint to the pervasive media obsession with the strange and violent, this book presents another story of great people who are doing great things every day without recognition or desire for reward, other than the honor of serving. A great book!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
This book is one of the best publications that I have read. It should be required reading for all school grades. Provides detailed accounts of the service provided by our millitary to protect the honor of the United States of America, by American's. There is no
other forms of gratificaton as great as this book portray's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2012
i give this book to my husband for christmas and when it opened it up his eyes lit up like fourth of july ,then when he started to read the book he would not put it down he said it was so informative about arington cemetery ,he said this book is a must have for everybody
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2010
Growing up in Washington, DC, I visited Arlington National Cemetery on numerous occassions. I can remember looking from aunt's 8th floor apartment near Union Station and looking toward Arlington. On clear days and evening I could see the Custis-Lee Mansion. I was always impressed with the changing of guard at the Tomb of the Unknowns and remember attending serveral Easter Sunrise services at the amphitheater. Yet through out my youth I was never interested in the history of this sacred place.

In Honored Glory, Philip Bigler has through 4 editions and 17 printings, with latest being June 2007, captured the essence as why Arlington National Cemetery is hallowed ground to so many Americans. Bigler takes one back to the earliest days of history in colonial Virgina to tell a very interesting story of how Arlington as a colonial plantation came into existence and its tie to America's First Family, George and Martha Washington. It was a pleasant surprise to this Washington native to learn how Arlington was so linked not to just colonial history but to development and history of the Washington, DC area.

The Custis-Lee Mansion along with the surrounding land was the home of General Robert E. Lee prior to the Civil War. It was from Arlington, that Lee left and offered his services to the South. In the early days of the war, the mansion along with surrounding property were seized by the Union for both military as well as psychological purposes. Mrs. Lee and family were expelled from the property which was converted to a gun placement, with mansion being used by Union officers.

It is from this historic perspective that Bigler takes one through 146 years of Arlington National Cemetary history that officially recorded its first internments in 1864. In concise terms, Bigler weaves American military history through the thousand of interments, not ignoring any military conflict nor having one part of military history dominate the story. In this narrative we also learn of heroes of so many stripes, some who are tied to the exploration of Earth and the cosmos. Today Arlington contains the remains of those who fought in the Revoluntionary War, former slaves from the Civil War, Presidents (Taft and Kennedy)polar explorers,foreign POWs, astronauts and men along with women who fought the Global War on Terror.

The appendices if just read alone will provide the reader a treasure trove of American history and so many interesting facts about the final resting place of those who gave the best in service to our nation.

After so many years away from Washington, Arlington became an important part of my life with the passing of a man who became my hero, my father in law, MSgt Henry Patrick, USA, Retired. This retired Air Force officer laid him to rest in March 2003, a wonderful man who continues to this day to influence my life. Sarge died on 25 Feb 2003 during the worst blizzard that hit the Arlington area in many years. It was not until a week later that our family got to say goodbye. Sarge was laid to rest with the same respect as any General.

How did Bigler's work come into my hands, it was on 24 Mar 2010 that fate brought me back to Washington, where I took the drive from my hotel near George Washington University to Arlington to Section 53, Site 1318 to pay my respects and express my love to MSgt Patrick. My hero rests in honored glory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2007
Philip Bigler's IN HONORED GLORY: ARLINGTON NATIONAL CEMETERY: THE FINAL POST (0918339677, $16.95) comes from a historian and educator who covers the history and future of the Arlington National Cemetery in a new updated fourth edition survey. What is contained here is expanded coverage of ceremonial units, and the impact of modern war outcomes - including the war on terrorism - on the cemetery's institution. IN HONORED GLORY, as an insider's view and survey, makes for an important historical guide to internment and honor alike.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2015
very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2015
book is great, filled with lots of facts and very engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
great book, cheaper than at the cemetery by far!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2015
True history about the biggest cemetery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse