Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 20 reviews
on February 2, 2011
Perhaps you could find much of the information online, but this book offers a nicely arranged instruction of how to bake. Granted, the equipment section probably won't interest most people, but the rest of the book is very helpful. I especially like the detailed description of ingredients and their purpose. If you've ever wondered why things rise (or why your cake isn't), what makes a cookie chewy, or how salt can affect more than just taste, then get this book. The recipes look great too - I've only tried one so far but wasn't disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
I bought the book as a gift. I looked through the book and it is very thorough in the information that it provides. It is a great book for someone who wants to learn about baking and the terminology. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
Surprisingly, this quasi-manual describing the important traits of ingredients used in pastries and desserts as well as the significant features of the required tools is actually an interesting read. I had multiple "ah-hah" moments--for example, realizing that my choice of pans may be why my banana bread comes out a little crustier than I would prefer. You do not need to be an avid baker to find this book insightful and useful. I have yet to try any of the recipes, but think that the very specific instructions provided will likely make these successful, go-to recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2015
I have the hardbound from the initial publication; it is the best comprehensive and informative baking book out there. Daley's mother's chocolate cake is a hit with everyone who has sampled it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2011
In reading over the book, I find that it would be a great one for beginning bakers to own as well as more experienced ones. It explains in detail every step along the way and gives all kinds of hints. The recipes themselves are wonderful. Would be a great gift for a new bride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2014
No problems at all with this transaction as everything went smoothly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
This book is absolutely indispensable for the home baker. Every page reveals wonderful tips and incredible recipes. Ms Daley really hit the mark dead on with this wonderful resource. Her recipes are very do-able, and will make each of her followers come back again and again for successful sweet treats! The compliments for each shared treat will flow over and over. No crumbs will be left by anyone! It's just what the sweet tooth needs!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
I own this cookbook myself and have given it as a gift many times. The first part of the cookbook discusses the science of baking. Every recipe I have tried has turned out great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
This is book is my undisputed lecture note. The recipes are superb and stellar. Tried the sweet potatoe layer cake, it is so flavourful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse