Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 161-170 of 339 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 500 reviews
on January 27, 2016
Very good book, came timely and was as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2016
great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I'm a psychology instructor, and I really enjoyed this book. A great read for both those into psychology, or the layperson.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Totally enjoyed it! I was not expecting to, but it did. Read it with an open mind, the points are well laid out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
A very good book to look over and to see the works of the author. A good way to expand and think about
iother approaches. It is very helpoful
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
I read this book for a school project, and unlike any other book I have ever read for school, kinda liked.

Not too shabby David Eagleman, not too shabby.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
One of the best books I have read on the brain. Written so it is easy to understand. Outlined well and fascinating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
Item as described. Good Quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 2, 2011
"I think - therefor I am" said Descartes. Each one of us is much more than what we can ever think - shows David Eagleman in this fascinating book - Incognito. Not only that, but it is amazing that we are aware only of a very small part of our brain. All of us strongly believe that we are in control of ourselves (at least most of the time) and so responsible for our actions. However our conscious self is more like the CEO of a large company that coordinates and supposedly directs the various divisions. The CEO may set the goals for the company, but he gets only a summary view of the situation and is seldom aware of the details. Similarly different sections of the brain work more or less independently - some through hard wired circuits that evolved over millions of years and others through culture and habits. We believe we are in charge but we are actually driven by what our brain (or more importantly different parts of our brain) perceives and tells us - surprisingly including what we see!

The ancients always exhorted us to understand ourselves - whether it is the Greek Delphi saying `Know Thyself' or the Indian upanishads with the cryptic `Thathwamasi' which can roughly translated to `That is you'. But they would have never expected the complexity that is in our brains. Fully understanding how the brain works is the holy grail for neuroscientists - however Mr.Eagleman explains how far away we are from this goal.

Our actions are driven by our brain and at the end of the day, the brain is only a set of neurons interacting through electrical and chemical signals. This is easily proven by the effects of various drugs on the brain and how it immediately affects what we think or do. Nature (genetics), Nurture (upbringing and environment) and life experiences creates the individual and Mr.Eagleman explains in a very simple manner how these three combine to create the complexity and beauty of humanity. Based on this understanding it makes it more easy to understand how and why various heinous and criminal acts are committed by humans. More importantly, Mr.Eagleman explains how this knowledge should be used to change our legal systems - do read the book to find out! It might even change the way you think about yourself!!

'
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
Neuroscientist David Eagleman runs a perception laboratory at the Baylor College of Medicine and is well known from his “Ted” talks and other publications. In his book Incognito: The Secret Lives of the Brain, he explores how extraordinarily complex the brain is. He tackles the idea of the unconscious, and how it governs much more than we are aware. He systematically goes through different brain functions and how each is affected by our unconscious activity. For each example he gives, he proposes a hypothesis about how it works, but very little of his theories are based on factual evidence. Despite this fact, I found that the book was very well written, and kept me interested throughout.
People go through the day consciously thinking about what they are experiencing. It has been assumed that we control our daily functioning knowingly. However, as Eagleman shows throughout his book, this is far from the truth. In reality, there are countless processes that are going on in our brain that we are unaware of. Instead of picking one unconscious action and focusing on it in depth, Eagleman walks the reader through multiple of amazing operations in the brain that we didn’t even know existed.
He explores our sense of attraction as humans, for example, and how we have much less control over it than we think. Participants unknowingly rank pictures of people with their pupils dilated higher than people with constricted pupils. In other words, there is a part of the brain that finds this feature attractive, but the conscious mind is not aware of it. Another topic he discusses is the art of decision making, and how there are always competing ideas in the head. The act you carry out is the one that “wins.” Then he switches gears to the questions of whether alcohol really reveals a true person, how men are more visual than women, visual illusions, and others. Time and time again Eagleman hints at the idea that our conscious thought is miniscule to all the other processes going on in the brain. All our choices we think to be our own are actually heavily influenced by our deeper animal instincts. In Eagleman’s book, he looks past all the small pathways and systems in the brain, and instead to the integration of all these parts; how they work harmoniously to execute whatever it is our brain wants to do. An example would be when Eagleman says “When the brain finds a task it needs to solve, it rewires its own circuitry until it can accomplish the task with maximum efficiency” (Eagleman 71). In my opinion this is a very declarative sentence that lacks support. How does he know the brain can actually rewire itself just to complete a simple task? If he included in later sentences how he knew this, I would be more likely to believe it, but instead he makes this broad statement then moves on to the next topic.
Incognito provides a fun read about the many mysteries of the mind. Many people don’t even realize the countless computations going on behind the scenes. Eagleman is a huge proponent of Freud’s Iceberg Theory, which assumes there is only a small portion of the mind open to perception-the consciousness, while there is a vast unconscious below the surface that controls our every action. His entire book is based on this idea; exploring all these processes not readily observable. This serves for an interesting read, but one that is seldom backed by scientific evidence. I would give the book 3 out of 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse