Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning Moonlight Moonlight Moonlight  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 67 reviews
on July 12, 2014
This book is actually inaccurately titled, as it is the men who convince their partners to explore multiple sexual partners, with the provision that the men watch or experience vicariously (through photographs, film, or partner's description) the details of these extra-primary-relationship couplings. Thus, the book should be titled Insatiable Husbands rather than Insatiable Wives. In any event, this is a fascinating introduction to an important sexual phenomenon, which is qualitatively different from conventional understanding of what is derisively referred to as "wife swapping," which is informatively explored in Gould's "The Lifestyle."

The book's content is informative, provocative, and even penchant. However, the organization of this material is somewhat disjointed. The chapters could be sequenced in a more logical manner so that understanding builds systematically from one major idea to the next. The chapters on history and literature, for instance, might be presented earlier in the text so that the reader achieves a cultural and historical grounding in the phenomenon before considering its current manifestations and pragmatics.

I am also a bit disappointed that the references are spotty. Most of the key references are documented in the bibliography, but not all. I depend on bibliographies to locate additional pertinent information, and it is a bit of a nuisance to do so on only skeletal in-text references.

However, at the very least this is an interesting, much needed contribution to the sexuality literature and is certainly accessible to the general reader as well as an important reference for specialists.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
This book was recommended to me by friends. It has a lot of great research, but the structure is confusing. There is repetition in different paragraphs (so that I thought I'd already read them) and I was left with the sense that the cultures are not as homogenous or as easily separated as he implies. I feel that his background as a psychologist has poorly equipped him for what is essentially an anthropological work.

That said. It covers an extensive range of topics and information and is probably worth struggling through for that reason.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2010
For those interested in a global perspective on open relating, this is the book to read. Author Deborah Taj Anapol is one of the founders of polyamory as a lovestyle and as a movement. Polyamory, the practice of sharing love and intimacy with multiple partners in open, respectful, and authentic ways, is a style of love that came into being in the United States in the second half of the 20th century. One of its seminal texts is Polyamory: The New Love Without Limits, also by Anapol.
With this new book, the author comes back to assess the progress of the lovestyle and movement. A world traveler who has given seminars and coaching sessions in several continents and regions, Anapol also shares the wisdom acquired from these multiple experiences to assess the reality and possibilities of polyamory on a global scale and in the future. An accomplished scholar and researcher trained in psychotherapy, Anapol offers numerous examples and models about what polyamory can and cannot do for people today.
A well versed interdisciplinary scholar, Anapol also outlines the history, the mythology, and the geography of polyamory here. Knowledgeable yet simple, subtle yet readable, ironic yet truthful, this book is a highly recommended read, with the added pleasure of an authorial voice that integrates charm, style, intelligence, and authenticity.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2016
Maybe its because I've been involved in this lifestyle for many years that I found the material repetitive and basic and nothing not found in other, more interesting books. And I'm confused about the purpose of the book. Was it about cuckolding, which is not about straying women? Was it about swinging? Again, not straying women. It's not about polyamory, it's more about open marriages, which is fine but doesn't really fit with its title. The historical backround in the first chapter was good but I quickly lost interest from there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2013
This book is a marvelous and brave look at human love styles and social structuring ~ past, present and, potentially, future. Thoughtful, informative, and, for me, personally transformative, I just read it and I will definitely read it again! You don't have to be "poly" inclined to find this latest contribution by a true pioneer to be both fascinating and enlightening. Love is central to all of our lives, yet rarely so comprehensively explored. As we unfold into the 21st Century, the ancient Greek aphorism "Know thyself" rings ever more true.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
One of the best books on cuckoldry, open marriage, and infidelity out there. A great intro to understanding alternative relationships.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
I loved this book. Provocative and informative. I enjoyed the historical insight provided regarding female sexuality and cuckoldry.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2015
Good read, for anyone who wants to understand what it is like to be poly. Well written.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
Dr. Ley is a real smart guy. He looks at things very objectively and has a great open minded curiosity about sexuality. It's refreshing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
Lots of good information data wise and a good historical background.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse