Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 45 reviews
on January 25, 2013
Carr works in open source intelligence. That means no security clearance but 'merely' reads the available stuff on the Internet and draws conclusions. Given the nature of the Internet this is a valuable way to operate. The growing commercialization of cybercrime and the interaction with national governments, especially the Russian is well discussed. Have selected this for an undergraduate course in Information Warfare. It will provide bounteous references for further study and the research that I require.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Pretty good read. I bought this after my info. security class to read up on some of the things I learned. It's very informative, but some more suggestions about the things we could do to help combat security issues would be nice....but I guess that's what the info. security class is for.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
Before reading this book I had very little knowledge of each of the attacks mentioned in the book, and even less knowledge regarding what long way we still have to go in establishing those laws for cyberspace war liek we have done for conventional warfare. A real eye opener since I am more on the technical side of things in the security realm. Real world issues are presented in an easy to read manner and pave the way for you to have a better behind-the-scenes understanding when, for instance, you see in the news that the pentagon has allowed us to respond to a cyber attack with traditional force. An ah-hah moment indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2012
In this updated edition of Inside Cyber Warfare, Jeffrey Carr does an excellent job of outlining the current landscape of illicit activity in cyberspace. The complex relationships between cyber crime, cyber espionage, and aggressive cyber attacks are defined and delineated. The book is rife with well documented case studies for the concepts described and is an extremely useful reference book for anyone who is skeptical of the gravity of the current state of cyber space or anyone who needs a quick refresher on the historical case studies presented.

The book does an excellent job of laying out the complicated legal environment involved with the potential commission, identification, and active response to nefarious activity in the cyber domain. It also does an excellent job describing how attribution and identification of the source of attacks is a virtual impossibility in this environment and calls out specific public officials for attributing attacks to nation states on what is publicly known to be shaky evidence. The book also does an excellent job describing the murky difference between a state sponsored and non-state sponsored actors.

Through his involvement with project Grey Goose, the author is uniquely qualified to write this book, but the coverage on Grey Goose in particular was disappointing as those sections are a little disjointed and the hoped for compelling and engaging narrative on that topic never emerged. Overall the entire effort reads a little choppy, and while experts within this domain will have no issues fighting through it, people new to the subject might find it a little hard to follow in spots. While that is enough for me to knock my rating down from 5 stars to 4, I still enthusiastically recommend the text to anyone working in the information security field.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
This is the most authoritative book on this subject that I have found.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2015
Great overview but not as technical as Analyzing Computer Security by Pfleeger
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
Required reading for a class, some areas were a bit outdated, but overall great resource on Cyber Warfare
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
This is a very informative and easy-to-read book. It clearly shows the new "battle front" as being cyberspace and highlights the urgency, and importance of why effective cyber security should be at the forefront of today's security industry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Item as described! This was a very easy purchase and all of the books were in very good condition. Thanks!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2012
I'm not a security professional, and I bought this book to do research for a cyber security term paper. Of all the sources I read for the paper, I found this one to be the most engaging and useful. I have read other reviews that complain about the anecdotal nature of the book, and they're right to point out that it's almost like an anthology of short stories about cyber warfare. However, as an outsider to the field, I found this format to be much easier to read for long stretches than the average book that speaks in generalities and hypotheticals.

Bottom Line: If you're like me, and are intrigued by but inexperienced with cyber security, you will likely enjoy and benefit from reading this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse