Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on September 7, 2014
I'd never read anything by this author before, but this will most certainly not be the last of Connie Willis' books that I read. What an absolutely charming story. It's a short, fluffy read with some provocative history thrown in for good measure. It's the reading equivalent of treating yourself to a hot fudge sundae.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
Ms. Willis has a style that I enjoy. I know that someone will not realize they are in love with someone else, but it is still so much fun to watch it evolve. When you throw in the epic battle against ignorance of science and the avalanche of hucksterism that permeates our society, it was a good read. I like her time travel books better as they are deeper and have more twists and turns. But Inside Job takes intrigue and human interaction to a nice place. It is a sexually interesting book without having to whack you over the head with sex, as are all of Willis' books. That is another aspect of her writing that I find wonderful. I look forward to further adventures into human's being human in a slightly science fictional universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2015
Connie Willis is a genius. Every book she writes is witty, clever, fun, and enjoyable, and this homage to HL Mencken is no different.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
Connie Willis wrote this book, so of course it is a hoot.

So I am convinced that Ms. Willis is a combination librarian, researcher and scientist. Either that or she has an amazingly eclectic mind. She is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2017
A fun, fast read with a little history lesson on the side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read this in tandem with Nicholas Sparks's TRUE BELIEVER, as both are about investigative reporters, professional debunkers, who encounter what seems to be the real thing at last. Those who have read and enjoyed Sparks's bestseller need to pick up this one for an alternate view.

Connie Willis has penned a spoof of mountebanks in her own style, a funny, endearing take on the men and women who pretend to reach out to the "other side," whose shams and talk show promotions and "reality TV segments" adorn our culture yet today. Her protagonist debunks fake after fake, but is taken aback but a psychic who actually seems to be channeling the legendary debunker H. L. Mencken himself, against her will.

This book is short, a special edition of her novella, but those who value Willis and those who value Mencken will all want to own it, and I predict that it will be one of the more highly sought after collectors items. FIRST EDITIONS MAGAZINE recently did a story on the values of Connie Willis's backlist, and if you have not yet seen it, you're missing something.

The dustjacket on INSIDE JOB is dropdead gorgeous. A splendid job all the way around, outside and inside.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2015
I've loved every book of Connie Willis I've read. Her style of writing is witty and informative. I especially love her time travel books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
Never quite resolves the "twist"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2005
I've read all of CW's published work so far and while this is not as involved as longer works she has previously done, it is nonetheless an entertaining and fun book and not a waste of time. I really liked the characters and the conundrum the author creates in the plot. You'll also learn an historic thing or two, as the writer glories in detailed insights related to her characters and setting. Lovers of long books that keep them absorbed for weeks may be wanting more, but like wine, each bottle is different and while this is not a powerhouse (for which I subtracted one star) it can still be enjoyable. I passed this on to a friend who really likes this author's work and she thought it was fun too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2013
Willis has a way with characterization that is just incredible. And to add in the humor, the surprise, the attitude of Mencken.... Simply wonderful. Just buy it and enjoy. NO preconceptions, no demands, just bring your brain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.44
$10.77
$7.73

Need customer service? Click here