Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 183 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 305 reviews
on September 17, 2014
Ok for all those who gave this movie 1 and 2 stars and the play by play rational, you all are out of (if you were ever in) the international horror junkie club. With that said this movie is by far on of the darkest, goriest, twisted, twisted horror gore fests I have see thus far. The French really have that noir touch, wonderfully shot, lighting and mood was dead on. The gory special effects were well done even on the closest shots. the story line and lead up till the close was the icing on this cake. Yes it did have a slow burn feel the first 20 -25 min but was much needed to add background and additional darkness and loathing to the piece. This WILL make you cringe and squirm. Loved it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
I really enjoyed this movie. I love how simple the concept and story-line are. This movie is in french but there's not a whole lot of talking. You can seriously watch this movie on mute and still understand exactly whats going on. Great casting and story telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2015
WOW WHAT A ROLLER COASTER RIDE! This movie started off with a big bang and kept going right until the very end. I will say I had forgotten that this was a foreign film with subtitles, not that it mattered but once the movies starts you forget that too as it movies so smoothly with so much suspense and action and gore. A mother devastated over losing her lover in a terrible auto accident and having to care for his unborn child is having a rough time going at it alone and suffering from depression on Christmas eve of all times and now is about to be challenged by one of the most vile people ever to step onto the screen. A madwoman who for no reason knows all about the mother and will stop at nothing to get her unborn child!

Great visuals, superb editing, the sound production was top notch in this chiller of a movie with so much action and gore you almost find yourself rooting for the villain as much as you do for the young woman because neither will stop at nothing to survive the night. I highly recommend this movie as it is one of the best I have seen in a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
Incredibly gory, the violence is extremely realistic and the experience will stay with you for days to come. I would highly recommend this to any horror fan, I have described this to my friends as "The very definition of what horror is." There are images so disturbing, so violent and scary, it will haunt you for days. I read online that there isn't any still photos on the internet of the last 15 minutes of the film, its easy to understand why after seeing it. This film starts horrorific, and stays horror throughout. It may only be 80 minutes, but that's because there's no long, drug out scenes that eat away the runtime. This is horror at its most horrific, a must see for genre fans.

They are supposedly remaking this and Martyrs for an American audience that will feature "less violence, a glimmer of light through it, and a happy ending." Screw that! See these pieces of HORROR ART, (which I do believe is a very real thing) before American filmmakers ruin them! If you're a fan of the genre, you owe it to yourself. If you aren't a horror fan, I'm pretty sure Amazon sells copies of Bambi...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2015
One of the best movies I've ever seen. 3 years in film classes I have seen a few too many French films. This one kills them all, and rips the fetus right out of the stomach. Not a second of this movie is boring from the opening scene. This movie has a artistic sophistication that is rarely paralleled in other French horror specifically. All though it's an artistic film with class, it is also a splatter film. Shocking, classy, beautiful, and gory.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2016
Inside was exactly what it was trying to be, an intense, bloody, trapped-in-a-house-with-a-psycho movie. Thoroughly unpleasant and brutal. I suppose in a good way. After watching 4 or 5 of these types of movies lately (High Tension and Martyrs being the high points), I'm really starting to question the sustainability of the genre. How long can this gruesome, woman-covered-in-blood thing take itself seriously? I keep waiting for some irony to start creeping into the French horror I've been watching but the people making this stuff seem dead set on an overbearing seriousness that is natural when watching a movie about brutality but seems stretched a little thin when characters can give themselves tracheotomies with (was that a big hair pin or something?), wrap themselves with some duct tape, and do a few more rounds of battle. Not a bad movie to watch, and I don't see any reason not to check it out if this is what you're into, but don't expect it t be breaking any new ground concept-wise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
The French OWN the horror genre! Great movie!! Can't wait to watch Livid, which is the follow up to Inside. If you're a weirdo like I am and you love blood and gore, this movie is for you!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
More bloody fun than an at-home scissors Cesarean, this film will fill your screen with brutal gore like a sprinkler system in Hell, and the gore is matched by the claustrophobic sense of desperation. This film is a real winner for lovers of extreme violence.

Shortly after the death of her husband, Sarah wishes to spend the holidays alone away from her family while awaiting the birth of her first child. But when a strange visitor arrives at her home, alone is the last thing Sarah wishes she was.

This film begins at a somewhat slow but interesting pace. But once the gore comes into play the effects team, sound editors and actors have their work cut out for them as things turn into a messy shockfest full of impalements accompanied by the most visceral of sounds. Béatrice Dalle does a fantastic job as the gap-toothed nameless menace who obsessively wants Sarah's child for her own while Alysson Paradis (as Sarah) is convincingly tortured and terrified. They each bring their own brand of desperation and, when they clash, you may want to turn away.

Directed by at-the-time newcomers Alexandre Bustillo and Julien Maury (Livid, Among the Living, The ABCs of Death 2), Inside brings all manner of shocking imagery from car crash victims to nightmare birth sequences. The brutality knows no end as blood spews from stabs to the throat, face, hand, knee and even crotch. At one point someone's face is blown off in about as fantastic a manner as I've seen. But the hits just keep on coming and the shocks continue as kitchen appliance assaults, make-shift flamethrowers, an improvised domestic bayonet and some alternative uses for scissors all contribute to the most blood-splattered movie sets I've seen in ages.

This film may have started out slow, but with each palpable laceration our pregnant heroine becomes ever more speckled and smeared red with the heightening mania. Moving to the finale, we shift from gory and shocking to absolute bonkers neo-natal insanity complete with an at-home Cesarean birthing scene with blood cascading down the stairs.

This is an absolute win for lovers of extreme violence and intense gore. So put on your favorite gore bib and dig in!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2017
A crap movie honestly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
Well we all love Beatrice Dalle, right? We all love tons of gore, yeah? Well roll the two up and you have Inside! The most interesting part of the film is the attitude of the expectant mother, I won't spoil anything, Dalle is your basic monster-y killer, there are a couple of shocks and a ton of gore. And Beatrice Dalle! Though they put her in a bad wig. It's a fun film and anyone into the horror genre will have a grand time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse