Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 40 reviews
on July 20, 2017
Everything you need to know about the integration of Christianity and Psychology, whether you agree with it or not, is modeled here. Entwistle skillfully penned definitions and examples of the different approaches and kept bias to a minimum (because nothing can ever truly and completely be rid of personal bias).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
Required by my graduate program in professional counseling, this textbook is an excellent resource as well as a wealth of information pertaining to the integration of psychology and theology. I found it easy to read and loved the footnotes that helped explain the meaning behind some of the citations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
There were only two things that I found unsettling or insufficiently addressed in the textbook. The first was a rather vague definition of “Christian” and “Christianity”. Entwistle simply refers to it as a “commitment to follow God with heart and soul and mind, that lays claim on all of life.” While I commend Entwistle’s openness to reaching out to the various denominations within Christianity, the simple fact is that there are many who call themselves Christians yet would not meet the Biblical criteria for being a child of God.

Second, Entwistle never satisfactorily gives an example of how to integrate an apparent contradiction between science and orthodox Christianity. While he discusses the issues of the Biblical standard regarding sexual sin, and homosexuality in particular, he does not address how to identify the underlying conflicting worldviews, the research questions that could be asked, and the practical implications of the gap between the research and the biblical perspective.

On the other hand, the Entwistle writes with clarity, concisely and yet with excellent examples at the beginning of each chapter. Something that I did find of particular benefit, and that I believe offset my second concern quite nicely, was Appendix I. This appendix contains eight stories of individuals who successfully integrated the practice of psychology with Christianity.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
If you've ever wondered about integrating your faith with your practice of psychology, this is the book you'll want to read. It's engaging and thought provoking. Even if integration isn't new to you, you'll still profit from this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2014
This book was very detailed in discussion of the topic. There were also many references for further investigation of the topic. It has a strong emphasis on philosophical thought. The text was very clear in expression and easy to understand. The text also has an emphasis on the Biblical Worldview.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
Interesting but challenging. Definitely biased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
A great tool for any counselor to use while trying to integrate the spiritual side of a client with the theories they believe work the best for their clients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
Informative, Insightful and perspective worth incorporating into a.counseling setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
A+: Fast delivery, book just as described! I would order from them again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2013
Packed full of good information, but a little much to digest and recall in detail in the three weeks allotted to it for my course.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse