Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Intercultural Communication: A Reader
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 23, 2006
I have taught with several of the major readers on the market: Samovar and Porter's, Nakayama and Martin, and others. This text has the most well written readings and contains articles on many seminal issues, context (Hall), time (Hall), etc. This text has the LEAST blatantly fluff filled articles intended only to titillate and pander to students. Additionally, if you review some of the other texts, you will see that they often have poorly referenced articles and the work is less than scholarly. It is possible to write a chapter for a reader such as this and support your content with support and references. The articles here are interesting, well written, well referenced, and more-grounded in theory and research than a lot of the competition. I recommend it highly. MLK
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2009
I teach cultural classes and found this edition really helpful for my students. It's very practical and easy to read for undergrads. The book helps them to understand the abstract cultural concepts. This book goes well along with "Understanding the global cultures" by Gannon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2011
I really needed this book for my communications class but it was super expensive at the student store at my school. So I found it here. Although it was used it was in great condition and so much cheaper than than anywhere else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2009
I think that Larry Samovar is one fo the greatest writers of communication studies. Anyone who has ever expereinced problems communcating with different individuals should check this book out.It is really great.Also by Nikayama any additions are wonderfull books. It helped me alot. I had problem talking in front of other students,couldn`t make eye contact,now i can do it.Great books
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Received this book fairly quickly, reasonable price, some highlighter marks but very okay with that considering the reasonable price. Great Buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Great book and a great delivery, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
The picture of the book clearly indicates that it is the 12th edition. I received the 10th edition and the seller will not take it back even though I wrote to her as soon as I got it. I have to buy a new book that is the correct edition and I have lost the money I paid for this one unless I get a refund from Amazon. I would not buy from this seller again. A couple of other people complained about the same issue with this seller.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
Text book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
liked
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2003
I was lucky enough to take a class from Professor Samovar. This was a great book and a good introduction to intercultural communication.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here