Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $13.01 (50%)

Prime Day Promo: Prime members get 30% of the purchase price as credit toward their next Kindle eBook. Only valid on the first eligible purchase. A confirmation email will be sent once the credit has been applied. See details

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Intermission by [Friedland, Elyssa]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

The Intermission Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 50 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 368 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.47 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

From the Publisher


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for The Intermission

The Intermission is a thoughtful look at the complexities of marriage, delivering deep truths about how we share a life with another person. It will have you wondering: how well do I really know my spouse?”PopSugar
 
“A multifaceted look at the difficulties and rewards of marriage.”—Kirkus Reviews
  
“Entertaining marriage saga... Friedland insightfully dissects motives, lies, and love in this engrossing deconstruction of a bad marriage.”—Publishers Weekly

"Expertly paced and eerily realistic, this novel will make readers think twice about the line between deception and mystery in any relationship.”—Booklist

“This fast-paced read will have you turning pages all night to see if Cass and Jonathan will be able to save their marriage.”—Salisbury Daily Times
 

“In a time when open relationships and other less traditional dynamics are becoming more common, this is a fun beach read that explores the many ways we can love and be loved.”—Mind Body Green
 
“We all know that relationships aren’t always what they seem on the outside. But The Intermission takes things a step further, going inside of a marriage that’s on the rocks. It’s about Jonathan and Cass, a husband and wife that decide to take a six-month break from their relationship to see if it’s what they really want. As we all know, there are two sides to every story. And through alternating perspectives, The Intermission delivers both.”Hello Giggles

“Through her wonderful writing and pitch-perfect storytelling, Elyssa Friedland examines how far we would or should go to salvage a marriage. This book is smart, tender and thought-provoking. I loved it.”—Allison Winn Scotch, New York Times bestselling author of Between Me and You

"With precision and empathy, Elyssa Friedland offers a fresh take on a timeless question: Just how honest should you really be with your spouse? The Intermission is a smart, moving, and refreshingly candid examination of the way small omissions can lead to enormous rifts in a marriage. I couldn’t put it down.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Woman Last Seen in Her Thirties
 
"Friedland's engaging characters and smart writing style will hook you from the first page. Soulful and bittersweet, The Intermission puts a young couple under a microscope to show how one small crack in a marriage can lead to many crevasses, and how the struggle to put the pieces back together can seem insurmountable."—Julie Lawson Timmer, author of Mrs. Saint and the Defectives

"The Intermission deftly pulls apart the puzzle of one couple's marriage and lays the pieces bare, posing the question: would you walk away from your marriage in order to save it? A provocative, insightful look at the intricacies of marriage, the role of fate, and the unpredictable nature of love."—Jamie Brenner, bestselling author of The Husband Hour

“Smart, captivating, and expertly crafted, The Intermission takes a fresh spin on how one couple hits the pause button to reboot their marriage. I cheered and I cringed through their rises and falls as they dealt with the obstacles in their marriage to rediscover themselves and their relationship. A delightful read that sucked me in. Perfect for book clubs and summer reading. I highly recommend.” — Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal bestselling author

“With all the drama and intensity of live theater, Elyssa Friedland puts a seemingly solid marriage on display — and through the toughest of tests — revealing quirky flaws, unraveling dark secrets, and sparking emotions from tenderness to fury. Fans of Sarah Dunn and Taylor Jenkins Reid will relish the raw honesty and high-stakes tension as the pasts of Cass and Jonathan come roaring into the present.”—Amy Poeppel, author of Limelight
 
"A pitch-perfect beach read that pulls back the curtain on what really happens after we say I do."—Jo Piazza, bestselling author of Charlotte Walsh Likes to Win

The Intermission digs into the bedrock of the Coyne's marriage, exposing the strengths and vulnerabilities of its roots. Friedland builds characters who are both selfless and selfish at different times, resulting in a relatable and compelling read. Book clubs will have much to dissect.”—Abby Fabiaschi, author of I Liked My Life
 
"Taking a pause to dissect what makes a marriage tick is terrifying, enlightening, and, in the case of Cass Coyne, even hilarious....With observations both acute and quirky, Elyssa Friedland points out the flaws and perfections that make marriage work, the secrets they contain, and how a desire for total honesty can bring both pain and freedom."—Maureen Sherry, author of Opening Belle

"A courageous and clever look at the frustrations and disappointments even the best marriages face. Elyssa Friedland pulls no punches with this provocative story that challenges our expectations about commitment and love."—Lynda Cohen Loigman, author of The Two-Family House

“I absolutely loved The Intermission, a smart, thoughtful exploration of the nature of marriage and relationships."—Brenda Janowitz, author of The Dinner Party

Praise for Love and Miss Communication

 
"Witty and hilarious...a love story for the 21st century."—Emily Giffin, New York Times bestselling author
 
"Funny, fast-paced, charming."—Jennifer Belle, bestselling author of High Maintenance and The Seven Year Bitch
 
"A witty, wonderful, and thoroughly modern love story. Friedland's writing is sharp and funny, tender and true. I couldn't put it down."—Cristina Alger, author of The Darlings
 
"A delicious and timely novel. Friedland takes a look at how our addiction to social media brings us together while keeping us apart."—Molly Jong-Fast, author of The Social Climber's Handbook
 
"A witty, modern love story not to be missed."—The Gazette (Iowa)

About the Author

Elyssa Friedland is a graduate of Yale University and Columbia Law School and lives with her husband and three children in New York City. The Intermission is her second novel.

Product details

  • File Size: 1449 KB
  • Print Length: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (July 3, 2018)
  • Publication Date: July 3, 2018
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B07693CSKG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #14,004 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 50 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

July 6, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 3, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 3, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 3, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 3, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 3, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition
7 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 3, 2018
Format: Hardcover
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Intermission
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Intermission