Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 118 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 154 reviews
on January 22, 2017
Holy Cow, Very enlightening! Even if you are neutral about politics, this is an excellent political book written with a little bit humor that will really get you thinking! Very entertaining and could not get enough. I hope Ilana is not right....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
This book has been out for a while but Ilana's predictions for SA are becoming true. In three to five years unless a miracle occurs there exists the possibility of a bloodbath in that country beyond the unending crimes perpetrated upon the minority population.

The book gives a rare glimpse at the brutal background history that is the modern South Africa.

Well researched and footnoted, it combines her own inside knowledge of the events not reported by the idiot media.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
For anyone wanting to understand the truth behind the spin surrounding the New South Africa, this is the book for you. More importantly it highlights the implications of what the truth means to America and the rest of the Western world. We are constantly allowing guilt to overshadow prudent decisions and in the process we are weakening the structures which allowed us to flourish. There are certainly parallels between this political correctness and the fall of the Roman Empire.

What is important to note is that this book has not been written by a white supremacist. Quite the contrary, the author is from a family deeply involved in the "struggle" to overturn the apartheid system, so it is not based on racism but on the reality that most people are too afraid to discuss. I think she had a lot of guts to write this book but it is a book that had to be written. Another book on the subject, worth reading is "The People's War" by Anthea Jeffery.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2015
Of great value to an ex South African that emigrated some 30 years ago and still visit every 2 years. I mourn every time I visit South Africa and I find it hard to forgive my new country for the foolhardy way they forced the events in SA and now refuse to face or even acknowledge the carnage.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2015
Recommended reading for anyone concerned about the racial troubles we are facing. I think it's an accurate and un-politicized portrayal of what is really happening there, and an indictment of mainstream media who ignore it completely. Much trouble coming our way.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2013
This book ain't gonna make Oprah's Book-of-the-Month Club, but that
fact only reinforces its importance as a serious critique of the new
South Africa. I can't remember being so depressed while reading
a book. And outraged. My heart sinks for those left to live under
the destructive forces now shaping South Africa, and Ilana Mercer
has done a good deed by telling us this necessary tale.

As necessary as this story might be, I'm not hopeful. My pessimism is
not only reserved for South Africa, but for the West in general.
I simply do not think the political calculus is present to actualize
the change that is necessary to save either Ilana's former homeland
or important segments of Western Civilization. I hope I'm wrong.

Ilana continues to do her part in fighting for a better future.
If you're interested in the current, and not so current, history
of the southern most African nation, and how it is being destroyed
bit-by-bit, and what this means for the West, then this book is
for you. Ilana's writing style can be a bit maddening at times,
but that's part of her charm. She's here to make us think, folks.
And she does just that. I just hope the world listens.....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
Excellent book overall (and I rarely give 5 stars to books).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2015
Awesome book! The future is very close to our doorstep.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
What an insightful analysis on post-apartheid South Africa. Stripped of the modern affliction of political correctness and populistic sentiment, this book provides an honest and brave review of what has happened in South Africa since 1994. For anyone brave an intelligent enough to dare consider an interpretation of facts differing from that fed to us via the mass media and politicians, this book will be like a boost of fresh air, assisting the thinking reader to continue to resist conformitave and dumbed-down thinking so prevelant in our mass-media and politician dominated societies. This is not just a must-read for anyone interested in South Africa but also for those living in the US, brave and inquisitive enough to think about what is happening in their own society and where they are heading. Don't read this if you don't like to think for yourself or are not brave enough to resist group-think and conformative thought.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
Ilana exposes the dark, self-enriching nature of what is happening in South Africa without pulling punches.
Her knowledge base is extremely wide, and factual evidence well-presented.
The bearing of historic events (in SA as well as internationally) on the future of the West in general, and the USA in particular, is articulated in a manner that makes it hard to argue differently.
This book presents prime information in an elegant but hard-hitting form.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse