Lyft Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on June 25, 2015
Mark Allan Powell has produced an excellent book which anyone can understand and enjoy. He starts the book with a marvellous Preface in which he speaks to the reader directly - it is as though he is having a conversation with you. He uses simple language to get his message across which provides the book with much clarity.The maps, historical photographs and examples from the history of Christian art as well as the companion website which offers additional material for study, greatly enhances this book.

As a historian and a student of Theology, another important feature of this book is the author's ability to use simple language to explain the dynamic world of the New Testament which is critical to understanding the context in which the New Testament was written. Introduction to the New Testament is truly a beautifully written book and I recommend it to anyone who is interested in understanding the New Testament.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2017
This is a great book to take you on a journey through the NT. I was impressed with the readability of this very informative work, and especially with the way that the author brought the gospels to light and to life. From lay person to clergy, this is a book worth reading and studying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2013
I have looked at a number of New Testament books. But this one by Powell is comprehensive and full of important information.The chapters are informative and the colour sections with extra information explained that is in the main body of the text is helpful. There are also the maps which help you understand the geographical aspects of the chapter.
I can only suggest to anyone beginning a reading of the New Testament that they look at this book. The language is easily understoon and he sets out the chapters with sub-headings so you can find specific information on any aspect of a chapter.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 22, 2015
This book was very helpful in my required classes, as I began learning more and more I remember my pastor even began asking "you seem to know a lot" hahaha. Great book for those who are majoring in anything relevant to ministry, taking a required course or even just to learn more about books in the bible. I strongly recommend it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2014
Scholarly and also very readable. I'm only into the first few chapters but have already gained new insights and understanding. The author is not dogmatic in his approach. Extensive bibliography and supporting materials, including scripture. Web links for deeper delving into some topics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2014
The book is an excellent analysis of the New Testament with information about historical background, themes, literary devices and scholarly interpretations. The author does not push his own opinions. Rather, he presents the opinions of various scholars, letting the reader make his or her own opinions. There is also an online connection with further information, questions and quizzes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2015
Most excellent book. Dr. Powell does a great job of pulling back the curtain on the the Gospels and all the New Testament. Now that the class is over I look forward to reading the book for fun now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 29, 2014
One of the most important aspects of thispublication is the numerous hyperlinks and study tools that accompany this text. It is thorough and yet easy to understand. Most significantly written for the layman, it is easy to read and with many illustratiuons. The knowledgebase is expansive and I would highly recommend this text for NT Survey.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2016
Mark Allan Powell writes in a congenial, conversational tone, but hits all the important stuff. I have used this book in several settings, and haven't had a student yet who doesn't love it. I strongly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2018
Easy read. Author had student in mind when writing it. Love the use of so many pictures and art items.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse