Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

An Introduction to Ethel Waters: Her Best Recordings 1921-1940 Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, October 25, 1994

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. There'll Be Some Changes Made
  2. Ethel Sings 'Em
  3. Sweet Georgia Brown
  4. Dinah
  5. Shake That Thing
  6. I'm Coming Virginia
  7. My Handy Man
  8. West End Blues
  9. Am I Blue?
  10. Memories Of You
  11. You Can't Stop Me From Loving You
  12. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  13. Porgy
  14. Srormy Weather (Keeps Rainin' All The Time)
  15. Don't Blame Me
  16. Heat Wave
  17. Harlem On My Mind
  18. Come Up And See Me Sometime
  19. Miss Otis Regrets (She's Unable To Lunch Today)
  20. Y' Had It Comin' To You
  21. Bread And Gravy
  22. Cabin In The Sky

Product Details

  • Audio CD (October 25, 1994)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Best of Jazz
  • ASIN: B00007GX24
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #553,408 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Ethel Waters Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Sasha VINE VOICE on December 3, 1999
Format: Audio CD
After reading excellent book "Jazz singers" by Will Friewald,I decide to check this long-forgotten singer out.What a discovery!She is very interesting being totaly out of blues idiom (as a difference of Bessie Smith or Ma Rainey and innumerable other blues singers of her time) and it was perhaps her "white" sound that made her so appealing and later succesful in theatre & film as well.Although personaly I love coarse and rough blues singers, Ethel Waters had such a high-quality songs that I can easy forgive her for not being "authentic" (well, she was authentic vaudeville/cabaret!).Songs she had a honour to made legendary were: "Stormy Weather", "Am I"Blue?", "There'll Be some Ccchanges Made" and beautiful "Dinah", all of them first-class hits of 20-ies and 30-ies.I wouldn't considere her really jazz singer, since her style is very close to cabaret, she had good taste in choosing jazz musicians for her background and the songs were excellent.From the first song in 1921. where she was young playfull and flirtatious to the last one in 1940. where she sounds very beautiful, mature singer in full powere of her art, Ethel Waters was really interesting and this CD made me think that perhaps I used to live earlier in 20-ies, since i enjoy this music so much!This is also much better introduction to her work than somewhat scary French Classics editions in several volumes, which is not for everyone's pockets and its maybe to overwhelming.Highly recomended!
Comment 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse