Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 61 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 62 reviews
on January 1, 2015
The price was right so this book is a good value. The author explains traditional Old Testament criticism. The old testament stories are an amalgamation of multiple textual traditions that originated during different time periods and were carefully edited and consolidated (with much thought) at a later date well after Israel had been firmly established.

This book is quite informative for a layman like me who in the past read Richard Friedman's "Who wrote the Bible" but have since forgotten most of it. This book may contain more information but is somewhat drier than Friedman's. However, as I mentioned before -- the price is right and thus, this book is an excellent value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Although it is free, this book is not be worth your time to download and read it -- especially if you are interested in reading authors who take a conservative view of the Scriptures.

In this book, John Edgar McFadyen subscribes to the JEPD Theory, and is quite comfortable explaining away the traditional authorship of most Old Testament books. He wrote from a perspective that was limited to the lens of "modern science" at that time (early 1900's). I feel this book has historic value -- to show what people were thinking a hundred years ago about the Bible. But this book has no particular value today for people who want to understand the message of the Old Testament.

This is not the place for me to argue for a conservative approach to the Old Testament, but it is just a word for those who are not familiar with the author of this (Free!) book. Personally, I won't keep it in my Kindle library.
33 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
I like reading these types of books, not because I believe in religion, but because they show religion, religious doctrine, and books of religion for what they are - fiction, poor writing, and a conglomeration of various different texts.

This one delves into the specifics of, and shows all of the research that has been performed on, each of the old testament books detailing things such as: which sections had to be written by different authors, which sections had to have been edited in many years latter then when the specific book in discussion was written, the various dates each section of each book might have originally derived from, and the major and minor conflicts within the text.

The information learned from this book gives great insight when going back and reading the actual text making it a lot easier to understand why the bible is such a poorly written piece of literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2017
as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
This is almost a Cliff Notes for the Old Testament. It's basically a chapter by verse summary review of every book in the OT, with a bit of historical/literary editorial sprinkled in. It helps to have a little familiarity with biblical history terminology before had as well. But if you're looking for a little perspective on the OT you can't go wrong for the price of free.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
MacFayden demonstrates a high level of scholarship and is thus worth reading, but his conclusions are based on outdated historical and archaeological data and are heavily influenced by the documentary hypothesis which has been well refuted. However, the greatest disappointment is that the book lacks life. MacFayden is a historian. He has some appreciation for literature. But he has no understanding of the deeper things of the spirit that are so integral to understanding the Bible.

Consequently, MacFayden holds the Bible at arms length. It is an object to be analyzed and discussed. But it is no more than history and literature. Okay. Read it if you have to. But don't expect much.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I recently had the good fortune of reading part of bible. Please accept our thanks and congratulations. It is refreshing to have a positive, upbeat on the good things. Thanks again for such uplifting book. It was well-written. I look forward to reading your next informative work. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
Very easy way to understand difficult meaning behind King James version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
The person who wrote this, has a definite slant on things and a lot of assumptions that I don't agree with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
AS A STUDENT OF BOB JONES UNIVERSITY, I HAVE READ A NUMBER OF OLD TESTAMENT HISTORY BOOKS.
I FOUND JOHN EDGAR MC FADYEN'S BOOK CLEAR AND CONCISE AND GIVE IT FOUR STARS.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse