Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Iowa
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Shop Now

  • Iowa
  • Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 15, 2007
The 20th Century was, not so long ago, the most violent in human history.

Man it doesn't take much to get upstaged.

The 21st Century is like some great blood-soaked gut-spattered gory canvas of Satan, and a real work of art it is: Genocide in all its viscera-spattered glory stomping red-toothed & hungry across the Sudan & despoiling Rwanda; the annihilation by 747 of two of America's most iconic skyscrapers; constant headhacking, decapitation, & the development of Suicide Bombing as one Religion's single contribution to culture; riots, looting, burning, raping, maiming to say nothing of the lesser Lights of Violence like typhoons, twisters, earthquakes, and even a hurricane that devoured a major American city while everybody just watched.

Man it's been a doozy, hasn't it? Who needs monsters when we have Mankind?

In this world full of idiots, I'm grateful that I have a band like Slipknot. I'm glad I can spin a brutal little brass-knuckles headcrusher of a CD like Iowa, which is great music to listen to when you want to crush people and break things. When you're tired of idiots on the highway driving in the passing lane at 45 mph, creating a rolling roadblock---the same idiots who scream down leafy & narrow suburban streets at 90 mph or tailgating you within inches of your back bumper when you have nowhere to go.

You with me?

It's great music to just let rampage through your ears, your guts, your windows, when you're sick of the vomit our so-called "Leaders" spew, vomit that passes as wisdom, vomit that assures us we should fret & worry about what terrorist savages think about us, that we should be ready at every instant to bow & scrape & apologize.

It's for those moments when some hideous mainstream sub-normal twists up his face and says "why do you have to be so weird?". It's for everybody who ever said "you're never gonna make it", for every chick who ever shot you down because she was gunning for the QB, who now sells used cars and comes home to the little hovel they call a home, gunning his grungy little Geo through the stoplights.

It's for those days that are Red in Tooth & Claw, when the Rage just spills over and you need something to serve as a soundtrack for fury.

That's "Iowa".

JSG
55 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2001
Slipknot's second major label debut is one of the most anticipated modern & extreme metal releases of the year & an important step foward for the band who exploded onto the heavy music scene in 1999, following their rare & independant mate, feed, kill, repeat album, with the brutal, complex & aggressive assault of their self titled LP. Iowa treads similar ground to the debut, though it is undoubtably heavier, faster & thrashier then the first album, while losing the minimal hip-hop influence present on the debut, & still incorporating a strong sense of melody. the guitaring is an improvement from the debut & the brilliant double bass onslaught & blast beats from drummer Joey Jordison once again has helped established him as one of the world's best drumming talents. Corey's vocals are again a standout with the diversity & aggression of his vocals shining through & dripping with conviction, that some anti-slipknot fans have claimed he doesn't possess. Corey is also assisted with some impressive backing vocals from the two percussionists. Scratches & samples add an eerie & subtle atmosphere to the music though they are not incorporated on this album as much as they were on the debut. The production is again first class from Ross Robinson, with the help of the slipknot crew. In my opinion the best tracks are People=S**t, Disasterpiece, New Abortion, Heretic Anthem, I am Hated & The shape. Left Behind displays good use of melody while the remakes of Gently & the 15 minute long atmospheric album closer Iowa are also impressive. The only song that hasn't as yet grabbed my attention is Everything Ends. Overall an awesome follow-up to the debut LP, with slipknot's death metal influences more prominant then ever without allowing the band to be classed as purely Death metal. Check out lamb of God, Soilent Green, Acid Bath & Australian metal bands Alchemist, Damaged & Blood Duster.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2011
First of all I have to state that this review is for the Tenth Anniversary Edition of Iowa, not the standard edition. I have no idea why Amazon believes that the Tenth Anniversary Edition of Slipknot's self-titled LP deserves its own review page and Iowa doesn't, but until/if it gets one my review will remain here.

The first disk is just Iowa with the New Abuse Mix of My Plague that was on the Resident Evil soundtrack, which is basically a clean (and cleaned up) radio friendly version of My Plague.

Disk two is the audio from the live performance on the Slipknot - Disasterpieces. Personally this is something I've wanted for years... but I'm not stupid. If I wanted it bad enough I could have just ripped the audio from the DVD. It's nice to have and I'm glad to have it, but I have a feeling that most people who wanted it have the audio already.

The third disk (DVD) is called "Goat" and is a documentary of sorts about the tour in support of Iowa with commentary from some of the band about the making of Iowa along with all of the videos made for the album.

-For those familiar with Clown's previous Slipknot docs you'll know what I'm talking about when I say that it's less a documentary on the tour than it is just random, non cohesive video snippets from live shows, video shoots and backstage thrown together. It fails to inform, but for someone like me who is/was a huge fan of the band at this time it does entertain.

-Some of the interviews are more informative than others. Sid, Jim, and Mick share a little info about pressures the band faced at the time, their input as well as the influence Paul Gray had on the album while the band's hype machines Corey and Joey talk Iowa up as being the heaviest and darkest album of all time.

-During the interviews the band appear obscured by shadows, which to me is tribute to a time when the band said that they would never "pull a Kiss" and appear or perform without their masks... at that time (prior to appearing unmasked in various side projects) if they were filmed unmasked their faces were either blurred out completely or obscured in some way. Of course to most people doing this is probably laughable now, considering they have since performed/been in videos, etc. unmasked, but take it how you will.

-The saddest thing to me is that Paul Gray passed away months before the interviews were filmed. Iowa was Paul and Joey's baby, and the majority of the songs on the album (not including songs like Iowa which already existed in another form) were written by them before any of the other members even stepped foot into the studio. It would've been nice to hear his take on the album considering the massive effort he put into Iowa, and the fact that he was much more grounded and less inclined to hype things up than the other members.

If you have Iowa and Disasterpieces you'll find little new here, and if you're on a budget you might be better off passing on this.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2002
Iowa is an album that was recorded by masterminds! The music is much heavier, faster, melodic, and better than their self titled debut which is still very good and is selling! Iowa shows a different side of the band with the vocals on songs like Gently, Iowa, and New Abortion. In those songs Slipknot have brought a new element with them! Corey8Taylor sings more but, has also brought a kind of sadness to the lyrics. This band is a heavy hitter that just will not stop! They are not for the weak so all you preps stay away from this nine man freak show which consist of Sid0Wilson, Joey1Jordison, Paul2Gray, Chris3Fehn, James4Root, Craig5Jones, Shawn6Crahan, Mick7Thompson, and Corey8Tatlor. If you are new to Slipknot then you are probably thinking "Who needs nine people to run a band?" Well this is the think so many people put this band down because, they can't stand them or they think that they have no talent at all. Well if you saw them on stage then you would know how much talent this band has! Sid0Wilson is the D.J. and he does a hell of a job at it on the song Spit It Out on their self titled debut! When he doesn't play a part in a song he will crowd surf all the time jumping from anywhere! He even jumped off of a twenty foot balcony once trying to crowd surf but, he missed the crowd and landed on a guard rail breaking two of his ribs. Joey1Jordison is one of the best new drummers that you will ever see! He invents stuff that you haven't even heard before that works out great with the guitars! Paul2Gray is one of the members of the band that doesn't look like he is much of a talker but, he will quickly reinvent himself with his killer distorted bass riffs! Chris3Fehn is probably one of the coolest guys in the band because, just watching him move around is a thrill! He is funny lookin with that mask but, he will bang his head and that nose will flop! He is a percussionist so he gives a heavy beat to the songs. James4Root on guitar is pretty cool! He looks like Leather Face from The Texas Chainsaw Massacre! Craig5Jones is on sampler! He is one of the biggest members of the band because, he invents some stuff that you have never I mean even once in your life heard before! He does some scary stuff. Shawn6Crahan is crazy! He is a percussionist just like Chris but, he Bangs his head on everything! Mick7Thompson I think is one the best new guitar players on the metal scene right now! His work in the songs Gently, Iowa, and Everything Ends I couldn't believe it! I had no idea that he could do something that great! Corey8Taylor is a different kind of vocalist! Using all kinds of tones he does some things that no other new bands have done. If you really want to get into Slipknot then I think that you should get their debut first because, in this album they do alot of different things. If you are a fan of Slipknot then you are another maggot. I hope Slipknot are still going to be around for a couple of years so we can see if they have more to contribute to rock! Don't forget their reign of terror has just begun!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2001
Way back in the Eighties, there were several metal albums so astounding they remain personal favourites to this day: Metallica's Master Of Puppets, Iron Maiden's Live After Death, Slayer's Reign In Blood, and Queensryche's Operation: Mindcrime, to name a few. Heavy music has changed so much these days that singing merely about Samuel Taylor Coleridge, H.P. Lovecraft, Reaganomics, and old reliable Satan himself sounds sorely out of date. What's left to sing about is nothing but a load of whiny introspective tripe, but with their phenomenal debut, and their new album Iowa, Slipknot prove they are the true masters of
cashing in on their own misery.
Slipknot have this teen angst thing nailed down...as Bart Simpson once said, it's like shooting fish in a barrel. They're not idiots. Today's Gen-Y Global Teens have pop lolitas and boy groups for the kids, cheeky 'punk' bands for future frat boys, boring trance music for the ravers, sophomoric rap for the suburbanite gangstas, and yes, doom rock for the bottom-of-the-barrel misfits, all carefully marketed and packaged. What sets Slipknot above boring white-boy metal rappers and cartoony acts like Mudvayne and Gwar is their absolute, undeniable conviction and tight metal musicianship.
Iowa would be half the album it is if it were not for the efforts of Ross Robinson and Andy Wallace (Wallace mixed Slayer's classic Reign In Blood). The duo are able to combine powerful vocals, two guitars, an extraordinary drummer, a bassist, two percussionists, and two samplers, creating such a monolithic sonic wall of hell, making it, bar none, the greatest-sounding metal album I have ever heard, and I've heard a lot of them.
Although the use of the ubiquitous eff-werd is repeated ad infinitum, vocalist Corey Taylor shows some creative growth on Iowa. 'My Plague', 'Heretic Anthem', 'Metabolic', and the searing 'I Am Hated' show that he's capable of more than nonsensical bellyaching. Slipknot's incredible musical chops are evident on songs like the frantic 'People=S**t' and 'Disasterpiece'. The album's epic title track is a bit of a departure, and is equally thrilling and disturbing, a kind of nu-metal blues jam that lasts a good fifteen minutes.
Like their debut cd, Slipknot are again guilty of not knowing when to quit. Iowa is ten or fifteen minutes too long; 'Left Behind', while possessing amazing production, is an obvious single stuck in to get some radio airplay and sell more units, and 'Skin Ticket' says nothing that Nine Inch Nails' The Downward Spiral didn't say seven years ago. Something with such extreme content should be shortened... that's what makes something like the 28-minute Reign In Blood so memorable.
Though not as explosive as the previous album, Iowa is a terrific piece of work. I'm simply amazed at the intensity. However, I'm worried that some poor, misguided kid somewhere will misinterpret the lyrics and take out his or her frustrations the wrong way. I've always been against musical censorship, but any parent out there who hears this music coming from their kid's bedroom should make sure the kid has his or her head screwed on straight. For every ten kids who dig this album for its visceral power, there will always be one who'll take it all a bit too seriously. The other day I put on Iron Maiden's The Number Of The Beast, and found myself longing for the days when metal bands sang about the old Prisoner tv show, Native Americans, and the Book of Revelations. It all seems so harmless now.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2016
Iowa is without a doubt my favorite Slipknot album of all time. It's heavy, it's aggressive, and it doesn't pull any punches whether the subject is violence or misanthropy. I guess it shouldn't come as a surprise that this album was nominated for many awards, including "best album of the 2000's". My favorite song on the album would have to be...actually, I can't say the title due to Amazon reviews having to adhere to a PG rating, but you know which one I'm talking about. It's the only song on the album that has an equal sign. Thank you, Slipknot, for being a healthy channel for my anger!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2007
This was the first Slipknot album I have purchased and I'm proud of it. I was wondering how I would like it considering I never really paid attention to them before and listened to bands like Metallica and System of a Down alot but nothing as heavy as this album. I decided to pick it up after an ex-girlfriend of mine showed me The Heretic Anthem.

Although not for the squeemish (as most extreme metal albums are) I say this is a must own for fans of heavy and extreme metal. It didnt sound anything like nu-metal to me.

Some may think the excessive amount of lyrics about breakups and love are not the best option for any band to choose but I dont mind.

I don't want to bombard you with cliche's but let me just put it this way: the way Corey sings/screams alongside Mick's guitar may actually be a very well epic sound.

Check out the track clip previews, especially track 6, the Heretic Anthem. Some of the previews dont catch the best parts of the songs but I'd highly recommend this album to any heavy/extreme metal fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2001
Straight from Des Moines, Iowa, the next big thing in metal is angry young Midwesterners Slipnot. Their stage show may not be anything new--Gwar was decked out in superior versions of their Halloween costumes as far back as the late 80s. . .and Gwar, at least, had a sense of humor about there stage show--but their sound is truly an original.
Slipknot's sound, though not for the faint of heart or weak of stomach, is rather eclectic for a metal act: a profanity-laced and often maddening hodge podge of vintage Black Sabbath and AC/DC, thrash, death metal, doom metal, goth, industrial, progressive rock, rap, and hip hop. In it's own (dark, angry, loud, obscene) way, Slipknot blends together a wide variety of musical styles into an ambitious, if somewhat jarring, cacaphony. Nearly every track is on IOWA is memorable and worth a listen, even the ones that aren't totally successful, like the 15 minutes plus of the title track.
Nowhere will you find samples better used on a metal album than on IOWA. Metal guru producer Ross Robinson, who co-produced the album with the 9-man band, has a knack for blending incredibly dense, drum-based live instrumentation-- screaming and growling, power chords, slashing lead guitar,heart attack bass, huge-sounding drums and percussion--with the electronic squeals, scratches, and beats. "Left Behind" is the most radio-friendly track on the album. Other highlights include "Disasterpiece," "The Heretic Anthem," and "The Shape."
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2001
I really found nothing wrong with Slipknot's self-titled album. I mean I do agree that these guys don't have alot of talent in some areas, but the energy that they bring to the table is just incredible. So I was skeptical about their new album entitled IOWA. Well everybody that says that these guys have sold out and that they suck, can stick it up their ... Slipknot have gone death metal. Pure brutality. As simple as that. I read in one review of this album that Slipknot have stuck a blood covered knife down the throats of their listeners and they are going to make you like it. I could not agree more. A perfect way to sum up Iowa. Corey Taylor(8), continues to be one of the most talented singers in metal. With his full on assault of ferocious screams and beautiful melodies, Taylor will continue to lead the attack that is Slipknot.Of course Joey Jordison(1), continues to be one of the best drummers out there, as he continues his fast pounding and full on assault.
Slipknot have definitly scored a perfect 5 with me on Iowa. Its's time for people to stop disliking these guys due to the masks and jumpsuits, and it is time for people to start looking deep into the realm of savagry that is Slipknot.
Tracks of note: People=..., Disasterpiece, Everything Ends, The Heretic Anthem, Gently, Left Behind, The Shape, New Abortion, and Iowa
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2004
... because I always thought this band was a bunch of clowns with stupid masks that couldn't play an instrument properly and hid their inability behind heavy distortion and stupid rap-metal lyrics. In short I thought they were nu-metal. They may be categorised so but still I was really surprised to discover that Slipknot is by far in a higher level than s**t like Limping Park or Biscuit or whatever and also the most overestimated band of history; Korn as well. First of all Iowa is really heavy, at times you can even think of it as death metal (it's not I know but it gets as heavy at times). The band members are not virtuosos but as a band they have written and played some very good songs. Like many other reviewers here I can't get the point of having 9 members as well. They just sound like a 5-piece band. The drummer is excellent, he could even play for Cradle of Filth or Testament. The vocals are also pretty good to be called "nu".
If you have ignored this band on prejudice like me, don't and listen to Iowa immediately. They are heavy, pissed off, loud and have some sensible lyrics. They should be mentioned together with Hatebreed, Godforbid, Damageplan and bands like that not Linkin limping whatever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse