Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 124 reviews
on December 3, 2015
This is a controversial view into the IRAQ WAR.

IRAQ for SALE: The War Profiteers is a 2006 documentary film made by Robert Greenwald. Produced while the Iraq War was in full swing, the film deals with the alleged war profiteering and negligence of private contractors and consultants who went to Iraq as part of the US war effort.

Specifically, the film claims four major contractors - Blackwater, K.B.R.-Halliburton, CACI and Titan - were over-billing the U.S. government and doing substandard work while endangering the lives of American soldiers, Iraqi civilians, and their own employees. These corporations were tasked with “virtually everything except the actual killing,”including food, laundry, housing, security, intelligence gathering and interrogation.

I really enjoyed the film from a both a patriotic and political standpoint. Check it out...it's worth 90 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
America must reality that EVEN WAR is part of the FREE MARKET ECONOMY. Kellog, Brand & Root (KBR), based in HOUSTON TX grossed about $39.5 billion dollars on a sole source, sole supplier contract, from the Pentagon. The Bush-Cheney duo of Texas traitors turns war into a profit. The Pentagon paid AFGHAN TRIBES to hunt down bin laden in the TORA BORA caves and they led bin laden slip away into Pakistan. The way to keep the 'Forever War' going and KEEP the war profits rolling into Texas is to allow the Terrorists to Get Away! Darling Bush was reading Bible quotes sent with the Daily war reports and simultaneously funneling BILLIONS into Texas. $100 charged for a bag of laundry washed in filthy water. Eric Prince, the Catholic Contractor make BILLIONS in no bid, sole source contracts. Walking in the footsteps of Texas gods can make a person healthy, wealthy and fat. Good Flick. No wonder the Pentagon wants to get Greenwald.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 20, 2007
Clear, convincing and supported by evidence, "Iraq For Sale" is well organized and well presented.

I think most Americans have already heard a lot of the information presented and have accepted the national news reports as true. This film exposes the enormity of the profiteering and outright fraud associated with the military/industrial complex. Of course this is not new. The same was done during the Viet Nam war. Where there is war there is profiteering for the few and calamity for the many.

I hope something can be done to stop this evil process. I have heard that other countries, such as China and Russia, are upgrading their forces to protect themselves from expected United States aggression. Much of the world thinks America is planning to rule over the whole earth using the same excuse as did the ancient Roman Empire (PAX ROMANA or Roman Peace). This means peace by destroying all opposition.

What a waste of human resources - even if another world war does not follow as a result.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2007
I watched this movie to pursue a line of personal 'interest' on the depth of corruption and hypocrisy of Governments, having spent many years investigating similar topics on many governments around the globe - not just the US.

This video was pretty slick and well presented, and was slightly different to the 'Loose Change' and 'Terrorstorm' style of presentation of these conspiracy-revealing DVD offerings. In fact it offered a closer, more personal view of the victims (and their families) of the big Mega-Corps like Halliburton and Kellogg, Brown and Root, speaking to many of the civilians who were caught up in the carnage of Iraq working on the big, juicy contracts of these mega-Corps, and investigating the horror they went through.

Whilst I'm pretty sure I wouldn't sign a contract to go to war-torn Iraq and not expect to find death, destruction and carnage all around me, it's pretty impressive to see just how both innocent civilians and the government alike are lied to in order to do two things - i) get the job done, and ii) earn a stack of greenbacks in the process for the big boys.

The depth of corruption and 'couldn't care less' attitude of the faceless office execs who draw human lives into the risky theater of war, offering them lies about their safety, never ceases to amaze me. The whole blurring of the line between civilians and the military in these combat-hot regions was pretty eye-opening I must admit, but most astonishing is the fact that EVERY American taxpayer is also being heavily ripped-off by the invisible CEOs who deny all accountability or even knowledge of what is going on. It actually makes me wonder just why it is allowed to carry on unabated, until I remember that people with this level of absolute power are corrupted absolutely... The age-old adage wins out again.

Still, I must admit that by the end of the DVD, I had a slightly different, more informed view of what is going on between the big Corps and the US government. The extra footage of various (Democratic...obviously) congressmen trying to expose the greed of these corporations to the American public - and being defeated every time by a Republican majority, makes an absolute mockery of the whole American system of freedom, justice and honesty. If I lived in America, I'd surely want to know just how my dollars were being swindled by the big boys with the big connections, but to be honest I think the rabbit hole runs so deep that most people just turn that other cheek as long as they have their dinner on the table and gas for their car. And that's sad.

The DVD was very enlightening in a 'new' way, and once more hammers a nail into the coffin that bears the reviled name of "Bush's America" upon it around the rest of the world. I only offered it 4 stars however, as I felt that there was certainly a some room for more detailed evidence, supporting facts and related stories. There was considerable time spent on emotional depth to each story, and although loss of life is undoubtably not a trivial matter, I feel that the message of the producers would have been stronger and clearer by offering more evidence and variation - of which I know there exists a veritable mountain.

Watch this if you want to see that extra objective and yet emotional dimension, and hear the facts and evidence straight from the horse's mouth...and then make your own decision.

This DVD will leave you feeling lied to. If it doesn't, then you must be driving today to your plush office at Halliburton, KBR, any of the other mega Corps covered in this great offering - or maybe Washington DC...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
I could watch this doc over and over. factual and heartbreaking but must watch and share. The Military Industrial Complex of greed, needless war and profits. Endangering human life and putting people in harms way while they, the upper TPTB The Powers That Be get fat off the ignorance and naiveness of those Americans who search to serve their great country only to realize, they're all being used and abused horribly, based on lies and total deception.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2007
The video presents the privatization of support in Iraq in a very disturbing light. If accurate, it raises the question "Why isn't our House/Senate doing MORE about it?" "Why isn't the cry across the land to strip Halliburton and others mentioned of all contracts due to dishonesty?"

The general silence level relative to this film disturbs me most. They present a compelling arguement against Halliburton Corp. et. al., supposedly gave the subjects of the film 31 opportunities to comment and refute it, they didn't respond and then NOTHING ELSE HAPPENED.

Why then, haven't the Democrats grabbed hold and used this against the Republicans, and the Bush administration? ARE THEY ALL GETTING BENEFITS FROM HALLIBURTON'S GREED, or IS THIS JUST A MYTH that plays well on the screen? I still don't know...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2016
great movie it based in real story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I received the DVD on time and it was delivered in excellent condition.

It should be up to me whether or not I want to make a comment. Stars should normally be sufficient and when I give it the highest rating additional comments would be a waste of time as it was in this case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2015
This was a great video. I rented it from Amazon because the quality available on YouTube was not very good. Turns out, neither was the quality of the video from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2016
Hope the folks in the military watch this. Very disturbing to see how they are treated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here