Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating FFII_gno

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,202 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,939 reviews
on July 16, 2008
I was really excited at the prospect of an Iron Man movie, but worried it'd be overloaded with SFX or that the character wouldn't work. I raised an eyebrow when I heard Robert Downey was playing Tony Stark, but decided to give him the benefit of the doubt. Last time I did that, it was when Michael Keaton was cast in the first Batman movie.

In both cases, my doubts were groundless. This movie is, in a word, superb. Usually I won't say that, especially about a modern SF film. This time, they got it absolutely right. The pacing is perfect, the characters are actually developed well, the story is well adapted to the 40+ year Iron Man mythos, and the SFX are used to support the story. Usually it's the other way around, with the effects totally overwhelming the rest of the film in order to please fanboy types and kids who just want eye candy.

While the film is generally very serious, there are nice touches of both humor and romance. The supporting characters and actors -- and I mean ALL of them -- are excellent. Downey's characterization of Stark, and the gravitas he brings to the character once he realizes what his company has been doing with its weapons, is absolutely spot on. Jeff Bridges is perfect as Obadiah -- as callous a villain as ever walked the earth.

Many film companies still seem to think all you need in any science fiction film are blinking lights, big explosions, and female characters in tight spandex. That's what Gene Roddenberry ran into when he tried to make the original Star Trek; the producers literally told him to stick in some blinking lights and start filming. Way too many SF films and TV series have fallen into that same trap.

If this movie doesn't get film industry executives to re-think that position, they shouldn't be making movies. Then again, Peter Jackson's LoTR films have already proved SF films can be Oscar material.

We need more movies like this. I can't wait for the 2nd installment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2017
great movie good effects and perfect for teen and even younger I highly recommend it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 22, 2011
Iron Man has a lot of talent behind it and can be very entertaining. Jon Favreau directs with a verve that doesn't forget people as he keeps the super hero format intact. Robert Downey plays Iron Man with a great sense of humor and as Tony Stark the weapons magnate who is his alter ego. The movie begins in Afghanistan and Tony Stark is held hostage and escapes by making a protective suit to ward off deadly weapons. He perfects this suit into the Iron Man we know and love in the movie. Pepper Pots is a great servant and a very pretty woman whom he ignores as often as he can. Terrence Howard gets to play the sidekick in a fun way. Jeff Bridges finally gets a bad guy role. What fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
Awesome movie! The best of the MCU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
Action packed, yet funny too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2008
Iron Man is one of the more successful Marvel adaptations and Robert Downey Jr captures the carefree Tony Stark very well.
When he realizes that his company is supplying terrorists after his capture and the selfless help of his fellow prisoner who allows him to escape at the cost of his own life, Stark is a changed man.
His literal heart has some problems, which reflects the virtual heart that he develops during the course of the movie.
He is affected deeply and begins trying to use his vast fortune to try to alter the direction of his company.
However, Jeff Bridges' character is totally vested in the system and sets out to prevent a change in the power structure and eventually transforms from being mentor to foe. He fully inhabits this character and those familiar with his work will find him at first nearly unrecognizable, yet his acting talent is displayed to excellent effect.
He makes a surprisingly good villain, supplying the "badness" all heroes need as a foil to their "goodness."
The ending news conference is somewhat surprising, but on reflection, totally in character for the reckless Iron Man.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2009
I'm a wasn't much of a fan of the comics,but this attempt at bringing it to life was fantastic,Robert Downey jr did a great job capturing the feel of tony stark,as always they could of done so much more with it but this is merely a origins first attempt and a great one at that due to staying true to the characters and staying true to what made the comics so popular,if your a fan of Marvel its a must own,if your not I would still highly recommend it for its highly entertaining.and as I'm so getting used to on Blu-ray the sound and visuals are fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
I enjoy watching this movie and I've seen it atleast half a dozen times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2017
It's the start of the Avenger movies nothing like watching it again always a good go to movie on a rainy day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2017
I loved this film, from beginning to end, it's very well done and the Marvel Comics connection is fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse