Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



Behind the armored suits and superb special effects, Iron Man 2 is a tough story of a fall from grace and redemption. Director Jon Favreau and Robert Downey Jr. (reprising Tony Stark/Iron Man) dare to give the man behind the iron mask a mission besides saving the world: saving himself, with a little help from unexpected friends.

As the story begins, Tony Stark faces the consequences of revealing his Iron Man identity. The government and a rival arms inventor (an over-the-top Sam Rockwell) want the suit; a revenge-seeking Russian physicist (a perfectly cast Mickey Rourke) is after Tony; and Tony himself is being poisoned by the miniature nuclear reactor that keeps him alive. Tony slowly self-destructs, wrecking his business, his relationships with long-suffering personal assistant Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow) and Air Force buddy Rhodey (Don Cheadle), and finally his status as Iron Man.

At rock bottom, Tony gets a hand up from Colonel Nick Fury of SHIELD (a nicely restrained Samuel L. Jackson). Fury provides Tony with a means, and a motivation, to work out his own salvation. En route to a smashing finale, Tony gets a key assist from Fury's undercover contact inside Stark Industries. As enigmatic SHIELD agent Black Widow, Scarlett Johansson is "all that" in a form-fitting unitard; her thrilling hallway fight sequence might have been the centerpiece of a movie with less visual firepower.

"Iron Man 2" is very highly recommended to fans of the franchise as an excellent sequel. There are hints the next sequel may be an "Avengers" movie.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
This one was a pretty decent sequel to the first Iron Man, but not as good.
It has a decent plot and continuation of the series, and serves the purpose of providing more information about Howard Stark (for the rest of the Marvel movies) and paving the way for The Avengers.
It's worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2017
If you like the superheroes you can't go wrong with this one. It's well done and we saw it at least a few times before. My brother in law had never seen it so we got it Still excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2015
Very nice movie.

Just wanted to say if you buy this, the digital copy is not Ultraviolet. But the way to get it on your devices that have Vudu or Amazon Video, redeem the DigitalCopy through iTunes after linking your Disney Anywhere account to iTunes, Amazon, and Vudu. iTunes unlocks the Disney Anywhere version of this movie and when linked to Amazon and Vudu, then your devices will those can watch as well. I even unlinked my iTunes afterwards and the movie was still available on my Amazon and Vudu devices.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2010
don't be tricked by the bad reviews of this movie, it is on the par with the incredible hulk which was action packed and had a good plot. Better than the first (not saying i didn't like it) more action. Mickey Rourke(Whiplash) was a great villan like abomination, doc ock(Spider man 2)and joker (Dark knight DC comics) Jeff Bridges was also good.Don Cheadle(War machine) did a great job(better than Terrence Howard) also a better actor and Scarlet Johansson who works with Nick Fury was also great. Nick Fury(Samuel L. Jackson) also has more screen time. Loads of action and a good story. Also check out the end of the credits surprise ending.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
Don't usually go in for super hero themes, but friends were watching and I joined and I was surprised. Very entertaining, and Iron Man has a great sense of humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2017
Too much computer generated, cartoonish, trash. But there is a fair amount of decent acting. Paltrow is facially about a 6 and has no talent, really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
Very good movie - CGI was exceptational!. Plot was way above average, especially for the genre - comic book story.

I think it's very hard to do a good super hero story as the basic story is so well known. I would think you would want to add a twist to make it different from the comics but still be true to the well-known storyline.

The first Iron Man was great - didn't care too much for the last 3 minutes but otherwise almost a perfect 10. This one was a definite step-down but when you're stepping down from near perfection you're still very, very good.

They have taken, to me, a minor-major hero and made him a top-notch hero along with Spiderman! To do this take a deft hand.

Picture was superb on my 46 inch LCD. Sound was great! Plot was good - not as good as the 1st but still pretty good. It was nice to see the characters develop over time. Action scenes were way above average (unlike Man of Steel which did the same thing over and over and ....).

DVD arrived quickly in perfect shape at a super price.

I recommend this - 8.5 to 9.0 out of 10. I would give this 4.5 stars out of 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
I don't think there will ever be a better Iron Man/Tony Stark than Robert Downey Jr.! While I was not a fan of the Whiplash story arc in this movie, I really think it is still a good movie because of the relationship between Pepper Potts and Tony. Their back and forth is so funny and cute and comes across as natural and unrehearsed. Plus, who doesn't love Happy played by Jon Favreau! The addition of Black Widow and a more integral SHIELD really started to stitch together the franchise and expand the marvel universe. What I loved most about this movie was Tony coming to grips with mortality. I liked seeing him pensive and genuinely thoughtful for a moment which is almost a complete reversal compared to his usual over-the-top personality. The wit, the action, and the character development make this movie really good! And who doesn't love Tony Stark mouthing off the congressional hearing or whatever?! Overall, a good evolution from the first one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
Everyone has said Iron Man was a great superhero movie, and I'm wholeheartedly in their camp. That said, don't let that keep you from watching Iron Man 2. It's a good movie in its own right. In Iron Man 2, the world knows that Tony Stark is Iron Man, yet it isn't satisfied. The U.S. Government wants Stark to give them the technology to the Iron Man suit. S.H.I.E.L.D. is keeping a close eye on Stark, and Stark Industries is facing new problems brought on by Tony's irresponsibility, culminating with a late-night party while wearing the Iron Man suit. Stark is slowly being poisoned by the very arc reactor that is also keeping him alive. How Stark deals with it is what makes this movie so interesting.

Robert Downey Jr. suits his role perfectly. His Tony Stark is egotistical and narcissistic, but still has a playful sense of humor and a powerful desire to do good in the world. These qualities don't often go together, but Downey brings them all to Stark in a believable way. I'd pay to watch an entire movie of him sitting by himself--he's that good.

Gwyneth Paltrow reprises her role of Pepper Potts, who's a dedicated, hard-working woman trying to manage both Tony and his company, but slowly being driven mad by the stress of it.

Don Cheadle steps into the role of Lt. Col. Rhodes, and it isn't one of Cheadle's best. Terrence Howard played a perfect Rhodes in the first movie--dedicated to the military, but also to his friend Tony, forever putting up with his shenanigans--even standing at attention for three hours on Tony's aircraft. In this movie, Cheadle just doesn't seem believable as a military man. In the Congressional hearing, both the Senators and Stark just overpower him verbally, and there just isn't the same level of playful banter between Downey and Cheadle as there was between Downey and Howard. (No "Spring Break 1987" jokes here.)

Overall, Iron Man 2 is very much worth watching. It's just not as good as the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse