Kindle Price: $12.99

Save $14.00 (52%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy by [Lyle, H.B.]
Kindle App Ad

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$12.99

Length: 301 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Nominated for the 2018 Best First Novel, Barry Award

"With so many books set in the wide world of Sherlock Holmes, it is difficult to come up with a new story that is both original and compelling, but H.B. Lyle has managed it beautifully with The Irregular."Otto Penzler, ed., The Big Book of Sherlock Holmes Stories

"An inventive espionage thriller set before World War I . . . A twist-filled adventure that proves far from elementary."
Tom Nolan, The Wall Street Journal


"Just when it seems that Sherlock Holmes-inspired books are old hat, along comes this thrill ride of espionage, conspiracy, murder, and yes, even romance, set in 1909 London. Both fans of Sherlock Holmes and spy novels will enjoy this debut by a former screenwriter peppered with historical figures like Winston Churchill, especially when the ending hints of more adventures for the first British double-0 agent ever."
Barbara Clark-Greene, Library Journal


"Lyle offers a skillful blend of fact and fiction, from Holmes and Watson to Churchill and the real-life leaders of the agencies that became MI5 and MI6. A compelling series debut and a natural read-alike for Robert Goddard's Max Maxted series and David Downing's Jack McColl series."
Booklist

"Handsomely crafted . . . The villains here are world class, with German munitions giants, Russian anarchists, and a couple of rather unexpected conspirators as well. Lyle achieves a nice blend of history and mystery, with cameo appearances by such fictional and real-life luminaries as Holmes and Winston Churchill."
Bookpage WhoDunit Column


Fans of Arthur Conan Doyle's stories will remember young Wiggins as the leader of the Baker Street Irregulars . . . Though Lyle's debut novel is certainly an homage, it's not a flat-footed imitation but a crisp, stylish spinoff."
Kirkus Reviews


"An entertaining blend of history and fiction . . . Lyle's descriptions of 1909 London are vivid. One can almost smell the coal smoke and the raw sewage. The Irregular is a compelling book, one to add to one's reading list."
New York Journal of Books


"I think H.B. Lyle is probably our most talented historical mystery writer today. An author who writes like a veteran but instead brings a fresh new perspective."―Andrew Gulli, Strand Magazine

"H.B. Lyle has found the golden thread between Holmes and Bond in a thriller that engages on every page."
Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland

"A thrilling story of espionage, murder, and the creation of the Secret Service."―Charles Cumming, author of A Divided Spy

About the Author

H.B. Lyle lives in South London with his partner and their twin daughters. After a career in feature film development, he took an MA in creative writing--and then a PhD--at the University of East Anglia, an experience which led to the creation of The Irregular, his first novel. He also writes screenplays and teaches undergraduates.

Product details

  • File Size: 1295 KB
  • Print Length: 301 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 168144027X
  • Publisher: Quercus (November 7, 2017)
  • Publication Date: November 7, 2017
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B073TVWSYN
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #276,567 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 17 customer reviews
Rated by customers interested in
Spy Optic
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Biographies
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

November 7, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
November 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
February 23, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
January 10, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
February 7, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
February 23, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
January 19, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
April 3, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Irregular: A Different Class of Spy