Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Ultimate Hits by Garth Brooks GNO for iPhone 8 $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
P Is for Pilgrim: A Thanksgiving Alphabet (Sleeping Bear Alphabets)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on January 12, 2008
This is a great book for your little ones. Covers things in a general way with each letter and then in a column on each page is more detail. So, its a great book for multiple ages. This series is probably one you should consider having in your school - I purchase the books associated with my kids family history and then we can read and talk about the state/subject while adding a few family history lessons into the mix. Illustrations are great and the kids really enjoy them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 23, 2010
I got this for my grandchildren. They have several of these books, themed on a holiday or place. They go through the alphabet with words and stories for that particular place or holiday. This one is the alphabet all about Thanksgiving. Each of these books are written and illustrated by different people, so they don't all have the same look, but all of them, this one included, are very nicely done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
I bought a sticker curriculum to go along with this book. I found the book much better all on it's own! My daughter is in 1st grade, and LOVED going through this book together. We will read is again, this time, next year!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
Ideal as a read aloud for 2nd or 3rd graders. A good filler book to read a page here or there as time allows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
the illustrations are beautiful. There are interesting historical tidbits throughout the books.
But this is not best the book for reading straight through for a younger child as the pages do not go in the order of the story. The subjects associated with the letters jump all place, all around the Pilgrim story, from 1620 to jamestown to modern times and back again. It starts out with A=Atlantic Ocean and features the map of the Mayflower journey. After that it completely jumps: B=Bill of Rights...? 1620/Pilgrims was 150+ yrs before the Bill of Rights. For young children, this is a confusing association. C=Corn and back to the the pilgrims. There is a strong emphasis on the local Native Americans who are part of the Thanksgiving story but not the featured players. Native Americans had been here for many years and not had a day of Thanksgiving to praise God for their harvest. They are also not the reason for our successful, modern nation. G="a Great Creator gives the gift of all things. Gardens of nature, our gratitude sings" Ok, that sounds appropriate for a holiday dedicated to thanking God for our needs being met and for freedom to worship him. However, H=Harvest time, helping hands, and hope, food to share and store. Praising the land and gathering crops, as one forevermore" sort of ruins the allusion to the Christian holiday that Thanksgiving specifically is. there is a strong, overt theme of diversity throughout the book.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 16, 2005
I love this alphabet series and since it rarely is found in paperbook form, I was lucky to purchase it post-holiday. The text is very engaging and the the facts are great for older students.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2007
This book had so many interesting facts about Thanksgiving and the illustrations are great. The adults and children in my family loved this book and because of the rhyming portion even very young children will love this book and get something out of it. There are alphabet books for almost any subject and for every state in the US and I have never been disappointed with any of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
A wonderful addition from this alphabet series to my children's' book collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse