BCA Month Salon Beauty Ali: A Life Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by st vincent PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14
It's a Shame About Ray Collector's Edition
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$22.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 14, 2012
I have not heard the original vinyl of this great album but this reissue is excellent, easily besting the CD version which is a relatively dull affair. Like a lot of new vinyl, it's not exactly beautiful to look at but none of the strange imperfections are audible and the sound is quite good, considering the material and that it was undoubtedly sourced from a digital master.

A picture sleeve is included containing a somewhat unflattering image of the band smoking/drinking which I don't remember from the CD.

I wasn't expecting a whole lot from this vinyl but was pleasantly surprised.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2017
Vinyl— very clean, very little surface noise.
Album— a classic of concise bittersweet power pop songwriting with a dash of punk abandon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
Just perfect! The set comes with the album plus stuff recorded even on a 4 track (demos),,how cool is that!? If you really like the album and you appreciate music, then this edition is totally great,,,but if not, I suggest you just go for the 1 CD regular copy. Although the CD 2 comes with videos you might wanna see.

Shipping and packaging were OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
No issues
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
Great stuff... arrived way ahead of schedule.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2012
This brings back so many good memories. I was so happy to find this album here and to be able to upload it right to my phone was even better.. thank you so much....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2016
Evan Dando was in the MC5 with Mark Arm for like two seconds, this was better than that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2008
I was extremely excited when I read that one of my favorite albums was to be re-released with some bonus tracks, and better yet, a bonus DVD of the classic Lemonheads' 'Two Weeks In Australia' video. The DVD looks and sounds amazing, and there should be NO disappointment there - it alone is enough of a reason to buy this package. The CD, however, is *mildly* disappointing. Of course the main album tracks sound as good as ever. Even listening to this today, it sounds as fresh as it did when I first heard it 16 years ago (good God, has it been that long!?). Every song is a gem, and this is folk indie pop at its best. The bonus tracks, however, are nothing to write home about. 'Shaky Ground' was previously released as a b-side. It's a decent song and a nice inclusion, but it's certainly nothing that stands up against the tracks found on the album. The acoustic demo tracks, however, are not that fun of a listen. I always enjoyed getting my hands on Lemonheads' singles that had acoustic versions of Evan's songs, but these don't live up to what has been released as b-sides in the past. Every demo has an annoying 'flange' effect on the voice, and the quality is not very good. Unfortunately, for me, these are unlikely to get repeated listens. The packaging is fairly nice, and it contains a booklet with a couple of pictures and some liner notes, but again, nothing *too* exciting.

Nothing can take away from what a master piece 'It's a Shame About Ray' is. You can always find original copies on Ebay for much cheaper than this pressing, but again, I feel the expanded version is worth it just for the DVD. I feel the bonus tracks could have been better, but oh well. A nice collection all the same.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2008
I suppose it could have been easy to forget about the Lemonheads. They were a great band but they seemed to have burned out to quickly to make a significant mark. Evan Dando was either too reckless or too restless to let the band gather enough steam to garner mass appeal, and I for one tossed the Lemonheads into the pile of bands that almost reached their potential. That was a mistake, for two reasons. First of all, the Lemonheads are still with us, having reformed in 2005. Second, they actually did reach their potential, on "It's a Shame about Ray."
Released in 1992, "Ray" stood out like a glittering prize among the grunge and gangster rap that dominated the market. For its time, it was almost too pleasant, with more melodic hooks and intriguing lyrics than a boatload of contemporary disks. "Confetti" had a lyrical hook that was impossible to shake ("He kinda shoulda sorta would've loved her if he could've..."), while the title song sported a melody so timeless that it seems to have always been there. Lead singer and principal songwriter Evan Dando had the `wistful and cute' thing down pat, and women seemed almost magnetically attracted to him. With so much going right, this band had everything it needed to become gigantic, but coulda shoulda woulda....
The thing is, while the band faded to grey, the songs remained, and hearing them again is a revelation of sorts. In retrospect, "It's a Shame about Ray" has everything an album needs to be considered classic. It plays like a greatest hits record, with virtually every song making an impact. "Alison's Starting to Happen," "(I Just Want a) Bit Part (in Your Life)" and "My Drug Buddy" are impossible to forget, so how did I? Add in their rocking interpretation of Paul Simon's "Mrs. Robinson," and you have a virtually perfect pop album, so why didn't the world acknowledge this in 1992? Why wasn't the album on every critic's `best of' list for that year? It didn't receive the recognition it deserved back then, but we now have a chance to reassess the situation. The Collector's Edition not only contains the original album in full, but adds a slew of bonus material too, including a DVD disk that provides an intriguing visual insight to Evan Dando's world in 1992. If the Lemonheads never recorded anything else, "It's a Shame about Ray" should assure their status as one of the best bands of the nineties, even if I almost forgot about them.
A Tom Ryan
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse