Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: It's Not What You Sell, It's What You Stand For: Why Every Extraordinary Business Is Driven by Purpose
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Chris Staples Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Kiss Rocks Vegas Back to School

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 16, 2009
This is clearly a critical addition to the bookshelf of anyone who wants to start their own business and also feel they are doing something worthwhile with their lives, in addition to earning a living. The entire concept of knowing your purpose can make the difference between success and failure and is the core element of all 318 pages. In addition to knowing your purpose (which, in essence, is your position in the marketplace), a critical question asked by the authors is would your customers miss you if your company (or your product) ceased to exist? For all the good intentions you may have, someone out there has to be interested in what you are selling - whether it's a product, a service or even a political concept.

PR professionals, especially, should read this book. If the idea behind the product you are selling - or the ideals, beliefs or positions of the person you represent - is not in tune with your own purpose (even your soul), think hard about finding a different client. Being true to yourself, "what you stand for," is step one in truly making a difference in our very complex society. (Reviewed by the author of: Personal Publicity Planner: A Guide to Marketing YOU and Top Cops: Profiles of Women in Command)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2010
This book is way better than I expected. I didn't even know you could write a 300 page book about purpose. I really bought it because Amazon had it at Bargain Price. Mr. Spence spends the book highlighting a few companies: Wal-Mart, Southwest Airlines, Red Cross, AARP, Charles Schwab, John Deere, Whole Foods and others. Yet he clearly shows the correlation between their success and their ultimate purpose. There are many companies that don't have purpose yet they make money and are extremely successful. However, those companies aren't the ones we root for. Those companies are successful at the expense of its stakeholders. The top three things I've learned are:

- Employees need purpose. Many people wake up not knowing why they get up to go to work every morning. If you share your purpose with employees you will become more than just a paycheck to them.

- Defend employees over your customers when necessary. A customer can be replaced but a chastized employee can be a cancer to your organization and make even more customers upset.

- Stick to your purpose and strategy even if competitors are doing something that seems more successful. This is not stubborness, but awareness of the fact that you can't be all things to everyone.

We look at many companies, but I don't think we recognize a purpose in each. He could have added Apple, whose main purpose in recent years has been a kind of anti-Microsoft movement. This purpose moves both employees and customers.

Great Read!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2009
If you're a shareholder value evangelist who wants public companies to maximize their financial strength, read this book. If you believe that great companies exist to make a difference for their employees, customers, shareholders and communities, read this book. If you love brands that matter and leaders who inspire; if you believe that businesses can change the world; and if you know in your heart that the future can be better than we can even imagine right now, read this book. Read this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
Excellent. I found the meat of the book in Parts One & Two. The book provides a great opportunity to learn priceless business lessons first-hand from a world-class PR guy. Bravo.

Bill Wiersma, Author--The Power of Professionalism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
Very true in todays world, where we are pulled in many directions. It helps younger people understand more about what to do to get ahead and stay true to what they set out to achieve in life. You have a short time to achieve something this will help you find it.
I enjoyed it and took something from it. I used this as the basis for a speech and it did the trick nicely. I also heard a big Australian Business entrapreneur recommend this book at a business luncheon i attended as inspirational reading material.

Mitch
Brisbane
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2012
This is an inspiring book! Even though it is written from a business perspective (as in the fact that businesses that operate with purpose are more successful than the average--and I loved reading the true stories!), it is easily adapted to personal purpose. All businesses have people! If the individual members have purpose and their purpose supports the business purpose, you have a WIN/WIN situation! I enjoyed the book!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2011
Really liked the fact that this book was written by someone who clearly had intimate knowledge of how these organizations work. The examples were really on point and I feel like I got a lot of excellent ideas. Overall, I felt the book was a really good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2011
If you've been feeling like your work life might be lacking a higher calling or purpose - something beyond simply making money, then reading this book will help you begin to articulate a process for determining and defining that "purpose". Overall the book is excellent, although some of the case study type examples might be hard to relate to, most probably will resonate. We've made this a must read for all the staff at our company and have been using it as the reference material for engaging the staff within the company to seek out and articulate our company's purpose. We now feel like articulating a simple, elegant and inspiring "purpose" is essential to give our staff cohesion, direction and inspiration and prevent us from devolving into a band of individuals - "just doing their job" each day. (We're not done yet - this is a really, really hard process.....but it is inspiring to have Roy Spence's decades of experience as a guiding light!) Plus - this is simply one book among a whole collection of books that are must reads at our company - that have been helping provide us all with a common language and inspiration for continuing to grow the business and keeping it fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
Every company should have Roy's principles as a part of their reason for existence. It is refreshing to hear from an advertising guy who has dedicated his efforts and encouraging his clients to doing the right thing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
This book clears the "fog of business" tips by instead focusing on why you do business in the first place. I gave it as a gift to aspiring entrepreneurs to save them years of learning the hard way what business is not about. Read this book BEFORE you start a company to save yourself a lot of mistakes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse