Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on September 6, 2012
This is a very interesting book with quick hits on various key days in the Kennedy Administration. The photos look good on the Kindle, but none of the video content will play on my Kindle with ads, so I cannot recommend this book. When a video clip comes up on a page you just see a warning that the video content cannot be played on your version and that the following commentary is about the video which you could not see.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 20, 2016
This is an excellent book if you want to know about President Kennedy's time in office. It reviews EACH and EVERY day that President Kennedy was in office--where he went, and what he did that day. An excellent review of a beloved president that was gone from us too soon + in the blink of an eye.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2016
Very nice book Lots of big photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2010
Not just another picture book honoring JFK, but an interesting chronicle of his presidency along with information about events and people surrounding him. Great gift, interesting read, wonderful pictures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2015
Incredible detail of the facts!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 29, 2011
Having read the major works are JFK [Schlesinger, Arthur, Jr. "A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House" (2002)[1965], Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award winner; Reeves, Richard. "President Kennedy: Profile of Power" (1993) and Dallek, Robert. "An Unfinished Life: John F. Kennedy, 1917-1963" (2003)], I looked forward to a book that promised new detailed "particulars of JFK's presidency".

The book has a nice coffee table size presentation. Further, it has some new black & white and color photos I have not seen before. However, given the fact the photos are from the "White House Collection" of the JFK Library, I was disappointed at the level of common photos used. Given there must be thousands to choose from at the presidential library I would have thought many more rarely seen photos would have been inserted.

I did learn some new information, generally: things that had to do with proposed bills, bills that passed and signed into law, etc. For example, JFK's proposal of 4 Billion (over 10 years) for outdoor recreation in February, 1963; JFK's memo to the heads of all federal agencies warning against age discrimination hiring in March, 1963; Kennedy's plans for 1964 and his "War on Poverty", which in many books is attributed more to Johnson's administration. For the general reader, there are plenty of examples of what the JFK administration goals were and what they were able to achieve; while sprinkled in between are sections (paragraphs) of relevant news. The main paragraph entries of the book do not cover every day of Kennedy's 1000 days in office. However, there are blurbs on the right hand side of each page that make up a small "timeline" of events for each day of each month. I thought the authors were redundant at times as to information, events and people noted (as if they were concerned about not filling up each page with enough text). For example, page 10 gives an overview that talks about the election, margin of victory, the inherited plan of "The Bay of Pigs" invasion and the first summit with Soviet leader, Khruschev (the authors also throw in some subjective personal opinions as to these events which was not necessary). However, all these subjects are later covered in detail in day/event paragraphs of the book. Therefore, the book could have been edited better. Further, in listing events of Vietnam, I was surprised the authors left out the fact that Kennedy had signed National Security Action Memorandum (NSAM) 263 (of the National Security Council), dated October 11, 1963. It ordered the withdrawal of 1,000 military personnel from South Vietnam by the end of 1963.

In the end, the authors present an overview of JFK's presidency for the general reader. If a reader wants greater detail as to events, I would recommend the books I list in the first paragraph, above.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 4, 2011
This is an excellent source for students & people interested in JFK's Presidency. The "Day by Day" concept allows the reader to research important news events over JFK's 1039 days in office easily. The book has some very nice photographs to go along with commentary. I was pleased to find this book on Amazon at a great price with minimal shipping charges.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2015
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2013
This was a gift for my niece on Christmas. She loved it, and it only took her a week to read the whole book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2010
Entertaining just to see all the pictures of those days that were exciting for the U.S.A. and Europe. Excellent work.A.T.Kiln
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here